Fall River, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made a cranberry apple pie with this crust recipe and got good reviews from my family. One even liked the crust more than the pie filling. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to avoid the additives in store-bought crusts, but it has a bit of shortening in it, so if you're looking to be healthy, I suggest a shortening alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I've been making this one for quite some time, replacing the broccoli with sliced black olives. The amount of broth is just personal taste. I'll try broccoli next time- I'm sure it will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folly Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Perfect on a cold night. I too add celery and carrots, but in addition use canned evaporated milk instead of cream. Same good taste without the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folly Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made the basic recipe and added sour cream to give it a rich creamy sauce. Then I used a culinary broth which includes a nonalcoholic sherry. This gave it a nice flavor. Plus I added mushrooms to the gravy. I was happy with this version of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

Poor Man's Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I love using this recipe. It is so versatile and allows for many interpretations. I am using it again on this really snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

Sweet-n-Sour Kielbasa

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I used fresh chopped onions in this recipe. I wanted it to be a comfort food sandwich. It reminds me of a bologna dish my mom made when I was growing up. I love Kielbasa because it is so versatile., and this recipe allows for creativity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Made this today for dinner it was very tasty but I did modify it a little bit. I used sharp provolone cheese. I also added 1 clove of garlic minced and about a tsp of olive oil to the sauce. I didn't have tarragon so I used ground dried thyme instead. I also put some of the sauce on the inside of the roll up as well as the outside. I used about 6 asparagus spears per chicken breast. This was the first time we tried it and my husband and I really liked it. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACYNDIG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Follow the recipe as written. I write quite a few reviews, and I love reading the reviews of other cooks. Only one time (in years) have I mentioned that I was disappointed to follow another's advice. This will be the second time. Based on one review, I mixed the cinnamon-butter-sugar with my food processor ahead of time. I also added nuts. It sounded like a great, time-saving idea, but I ended up with clumps of a gritty mixture that did not want to smooth out across the dough. I ended up heating it in the microwave and then spreading/patting it on, but next time I'll follow the recipe -- just spread the softened butter over the dough, and THEN sprinkle on the cinnamon and sugar. The second piece of advice I followed that was a huge mistake is to invert the rolls onto a platter after removing them from the oven. Bad idea. Because the rolls do not rise to the same height, I had rolls of various sizes sort of teetering on the plate. (Even a half-inch in height can make a difference if inverted.) I slathered a bit of cream cheese frosting on the inverted rolls and then quickly turned them right side up. They don't look like pretty brown cinnamon rolls if inverted onto a plate. That said, I also added some raisins, and I made extra frosting but really didn't need to. I'll save it for another use. Other than my own poor judgment, this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Photo by Ann Marie

The Best Meatballs

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I enjoy this basic recipe for meatballs because I can be as creative as I like. I use 80/20 beef instead of veal and pork. Of course the fat from the meatballs has to be rendered. These are very juicy and fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Ann Marie

Poor Man's Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I love this recipe for poor man's pie; aka, Shepard's pie. I like to use chives and basil, as well as salt and pepper to taste. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I've used this soup recipe for a couple of years, and we love it. But I do tweak it. I think the key to any top-notch soup is a hearty, homemade chicken broth. I always have some in the freezer, and I have a review for it on this site. I won't make soup without it. I mixed the soup ingredients in my Vita Mix blender even before cooking it. Added basil and crushed red peppers. Careful with the cloves -- I didn't have whole, so used powdered and it doesn't take much to overwhelm the soup. Use a tiny pinch. We add a bit of half and half. Now I use 2 T. of balsamic, as someone else suggested. Good to the last drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Simple BBQ Ribs

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I like to make country ribs in the crock pot, but as of last night, I have a new go-to recipe, and this is it. I used boneless ribs, which can dry out easily, but these were the best country style ribs I've ever made. I followed the directions, except that I added some ingredients to the parboiling water. I found some wonderful hickory flavored sea salt, and I added 2 tsp. of it to the water. (Next time I'll add 3-4 tsp.) I also added fresh whole carrots, a bunch of celery w/tops, sliced onion, garlic, 2 bay leaves, and freshly ground black pepper to the water. Simmered for an hour or so and then let sit in the pot for 20 minutes (all I had time for). Baked the ribs, as instructed, for an hour. Removed foil last 20 min. to slather on even more Sweet Baby Rays Honey Chipotle. Cooked whole red potatoes in the rib broth as the ribs were baking. Served the carrots as a delicious side dish. Thank you, Lloyd for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Chocolate Chip Orange Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Great way to use up garden zucchini. I measured the 3 cups of "dry" zucchini, meaning I measured it AFTER I drained off all the juice. I used 1 tsp. vanilla, and 1 tsp. of orange extract, since I only had half of a fresh orange (I'm saving the 2 T. of juice for the glaze). I had to improvise and combine lemon and orange zest to total 1 T., but it's so delicious. I love freshly grated nutmeg and used 1 tsp. of it, along with the cinnamon. I never use all the sugar suggested when baking, and this recipe is good with just 1 C. sugar and 1/4 C. Splenda. Plenty sweet. And plenty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

California Smoothie

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low-Carb Mashed Cauliflower

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I've made Mock Mashed Potatoes many times and love it!! Thought I'd try this recipe for a change of pace, because we loved the idea of fresh garlic to spice it up. BEWARE! We ended up tossing the entire thing down the garbage disposal. Two cloves of garlic doesn't seem like much when you're sauteing it, but remember that you're eating it RAW in this recipe, and garlic cloves run the gamut in size. My husband couldn't even eat it, and he'll consume just about anything! My suggestion for this recipe would be to state the EXACT amount of fresh garlic to be added, such as 1/4 tsp. minced. Or even a bit of garlic granules or powder. I left the garlic cloves whole, since I added them to the Vita Mix blender with the other ingredients. As much as we enjoy garlic, I'd omit it next time, or use one very small clove. As a side note, the Vita Mix liquifies the cauliflower too much. I'd use a masher or an immersion blender. A bit of freshly grated Parmesan cheese is an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Absolutely Delicious! But, I recommend that this recipe be very specific about using either unsweetened or sweetened coconut milk. Some reviewers are adamant about one or the other. So, if you question the 3 T. of sugar called for (some say it's too much), it largely depends on the type of coconut milk you use! I used unsweetened milk, and the 3 T. of sugar was perfect. Had I used sweetened coconut milk, I would have definitely decreased the sugar amount. This fact alone could make or break the recipe. Curry powders differ greatly, too, so just experiment! I use Madras Hot Curry Powder and increased the amount to 3 T. Cook Stephanie has great advice to "cook the curry powder in the oil until it's ready - usually about 5 minutes. Then add the onion & spice - cook until the onion is translucent. This will take about 10 minutes, but it makes all the difference in the world. Add more oil as the onion is cooking, if necessary." (I use coconut oil in this dish.) The only other change I made was with the tomatoes -- I used about 24 oz. of canned diced tomatoes (part of a large can), and added no tomato sauce. That way, we had more sauce. It all thickened up nicely after simmering for 60 to 90 minutes, which allowed us time to sip wine and visit. We were supposed to go out to dinner the night after serving this, but we decided to stay home instead, because we had leftover Curried Coconut Chicken in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Dry Rub for Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I had to omit the salt because of dietary restrictions in my household, and I used only 1 tablespoon of black pepper. I like it but my boyfriend found it too peppery. Next time I will cut another 1/2 tablespoon of the black pepper and add another teaspoon of garlic powder. Kept the meat nice and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Halibut Steaks

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is a great dish! Super easy n simple. I make this dish almost weekly, when I first made it halibut wasn't available so I used a cod loin instead and over a dozen times I haven't been disapointed once!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This is amazing. Full of flavor, and oh! So easy. I doubled everything, but when it came to the broth, I measured 2 cans of Campbell's (the ONLY one to use!) chicken broth and the rest water to get the right amount of broth. I also added 1 bouillon cube to the water. Perfect! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folly Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was a great recipe. The only issue I had was that I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour since that's all I had in the house and they were a little thick, but everyone loved them nonetheless. I think they will be even better when I make them again with white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States