Cambridge, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was awesome to make! I used 1/3 cup of cold water to make the glaze because I knew it wouldn't be enough. Opening the oven every 10min to baste the chicken was well worth it at the end. I will be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Seaman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Spicy Green Beans

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Nothing wrong with this recipe. I think I should have put a little more spice, but that's just because I like spice more than sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Seaman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne and Vodka Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Because I live in Brazil, I used "cachaça" and I can tell you that it tastes better than had it have been with vodca. BE AWARE that the alcohol DOES NOT all evaporate during cooking. Also, since "cachaça" is very sweet, be sure to use a extra salty meat to even the dish out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Seaman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dominican Style Oatmeal

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I didn't have nutmeg the first time I made this for breakfast so I used 1/3 a cap of vanilla extract. I drizzle honey over it in the mornings and eating it cold is also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Seaman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My family thought this moist and sweet cornbread was delicious - certainly perfect for the taste of us northerners, but a point of confusion: 375 degrees Fahrenheit is 190 degrees Celsius. 350 is closer to 175 Celsius (it's about 176), so Bethany, what's the oven temp you actually use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This was a delicious and impressive dish to serve. I made my own breadcrumbs since I do not use them often enough to buy a canister, and that added freshness. I found that the recipe made far more sauce and breadcrumb topping than was needed for 4 four ounce fillets so I might reduce the amount next time by one third or one half. Overall, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Panzanella Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Yum! This is a delicious salad! My only mistake was letting it marinate a little too long, and some of the bread lost some of its crunch - keep to the 20 minutes. Great fresh dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Turtles® Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I won Best Cookie with this recipe at a giant cookie swap for charity! It's insanely easy and sooooooo yummy. I actually messed up the directions and forgot to put the pecans in before baking. I ended up pressing them into the melted chocolate at the end. Still turned out great! My only regret is that I didn't make more of them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've made these many times. Sometimes I stick to the recipe and maybe add nuts, berries or chocolate chips, and other times I replace the butter with applesauce and the white flour for wheat flour. Either way I consistently get delicious pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Challah I

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've made this a few times now - it never seems to rise as much as the recipe suggests, but it does tast yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!)

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
It was crumblier than I was hoping, but it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
These were excellent - crunchy and not too sweet! I made them with almond butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puppy Chow

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Wonderful! I made it with almond butter due to a peanut allergy, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica

Upside-Down Coffee Cake

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Turned out beautifully and didn't even make too much of a mess! I wrapped my spring pan in foil and it helped quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I was very surprise by this one .I fellow the recipe just as its written .So I will rate it.as so 4 1/2 Star .texture was very nice ,ginger did a lot for the taste. Sauce was sweet and very tasty .I use lean beef but if you do the sugar and sauce on the bottom I would recommend very lean beef, because you are not able to drain any fat off as the recipe is done .For taste this is a 5 star for me but if you have a savory loving person in your home they may not care for it as much as my family did . Milk and saltine may need to be adjusted to get the right texture but it was very close to perfect .Next time I make this I will put brown sugar and sauce on top, So that I can drain off the fat if it is too much I may even heat some ketchup, Worcestershire sauce and brown sugar in a pan to serve on the side as a sauce to use on the meat loaf. Hope this help and thank for a great and differ meat loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Best brownies ever! Why did it take me so long to find this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Lentil, Kale, and Red Onion Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
My husband loved the flavors. Like another reviewer, the red lentils came out mushy but aside from texture, the taste was still good. I would say the prep time is not 30 min. I had the entire dish done in about 30 min--I almost didn't make the recipe b/c of the approx time so even if you are short on time, you can still make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
It's getting there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Tahini Spread

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Go with Hummus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Surprise Meringues

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This recipe was a bit disappointing. I used less sugar than the recipe called for, and half the amount of chocolate chips, yet my meringues still ended up pretty sweet. The texture was nice and light, full of air in the way meringues should be. I had used another meringue recipe for another batch of meringues, so I guess I had too high of a standard going into this meringue challenge. I don't think I'll use this recipe for a while. It tasted a bit like wet cotton candy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States