Brockton, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Super Summer Kale Salad

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
For the folks who find traditional kale bitter, try using lacinato kale (also known as Tuscan kale). It is much better suited to be eaten raw and stands up well to dressing. I was able to find it at Whole Foods Market. If it still isn't palatable for you, baby spinach and arugula mixed would make a wonderful substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BstnBny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I have been making this dish for over 5 years exactly as stated. Oh, I've been tempted to add more sausage but haven't. I usually try these recipes as stated the first time, unless prior reviews indicate some changes would be beneficial, i.e.: way too much butter or way too much cream, etc. This is one of those I won't be tinkering with. On occasion I have forgotten to add the vodka and didn't really notice a difference. This dish is like American Chop Suey on steroids. Oh, and it's easy! Thank you Star Pooley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS33W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatloaf Cordon Bleu

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe last fall, and it was really good. My wife is the "fussy eater" in our house and she told me "THIS is a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Whitford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, New York, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoky Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is an excellent rub for thick cut porkchops on the grill. Just remember to keep your fingers wet, and the rub spreads evenly. The flavor is a nice blend of smokey/spicy, not overpowering of either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Whitford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, New York, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinah's Baked Scallops

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is excellent! We dip the scallop in the sauce mix and then in the cracker mix. We only coat the top surface (just as pictured). The remaining sauce is drizzled around the scallops as to not disturb the topping. You will need a bigger dish to allow for this. We broil at the end if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS33W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
The BEST EVER!! My kids love it and now it's the only meatloaf I will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah
Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lascassas, Tennessee, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This will be my go to recipe for making pancakes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I've never made rice pudding before, and for some reason I got a craving for it today so I made it on a whim. I just fiished and OMG YUM. Thank you so much for this recipe. it came out better than I'd hoped for my 1st attempt. I dont like raisins, so I followed another users example and omitted them, adding cinnamon and nutmeg. Delish. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Feels like play dough, which is great, so easy to work with and delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup)

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I loved this recipe. I added cumin and coriander and substituted srirachi sauce for the cayenne, peanut oil for the vegetable oil and chicken stock for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Glaze

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made some cranberry walnut cookies that turned out to be not sweet enough, so I used this recipe to glaze them. All I had was vanilla almond milk on hand so I used that in place of regular milk and I used 2 tbsp of it and followed the rest of the recipe. It was the PERFECT touch to complete my cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayah
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
My first All Recipes rating. Best pancakes I ever tasted and now the only recipe I use for standard pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayah
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Best Brownies

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
There is nothing special about these brownies. They're okay, but not the best I've had or made. I would have liked to rate it a 2.5... They are very easy to make and will satisfy young kids to a point...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjfolger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot German Potato Salad III

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very good receipe that I've used over and over. Easy to make and delicous to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyc08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Grilled Tri Tip

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was great! We didn't slice prior to cooking because we had just one big steak that we were splitting. The marinade had a good flavor which enhances the meat and was even good as a leftover steak sandwich for Monday's lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyc08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I remember this from my childhood and searched Allrecipes for it...this is by far the best! I made this last weekend for 4th of July (and added fresh blueberries to the ffresh strawberries and jello mixture to make red, white and blue) now I am making 2 for another cookout today. Everyone toldme there just was not enough to go around last time! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Trifle

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great foundation recipe. Beautiful layering. I used pound cake instead of angel food. I used cheesecake pudding and folded in whipped cream for more of a mousse layer. Used fresh strawberries. Even used made a puree with some of the strawberries to soak the cake. I left out the bananas..........because I don't like bananas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cincinnati Chili I

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Excellent. I added a little salt, pepper, and sugar to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Cakes II

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is a great recipe. The crackers added a crispy factor that you can't get from bread crumbs. Simple and delicous, which makes the crab stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent, got so many raves. Will make again and again. Thank you for the sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States