Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is excellent! Just as good, maybe better, than my favorites at the famous pancake parlor in Sugar Hill, New Hampshire. I cut the recipe in half, as I only needed 2 servings, which was more than adequate. Half the recipe makes 6-8 four inch pancakes (I used 1/3 cup measure for each). I also mixed the cornmeal in with the oats and buttermilk to soften for 5 minutes. Delicious whole grain flavor yet still light with a pleasing texture. Cooked up beautifully with nice golden color. A mainstay for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaskedMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

Mango Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Good salad but not as tasty as I thought it would be...maybe needed more mango. I think it needed a lot more dressing; I would double dressing for next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buenos Aires, Ciudad Autónoma De Buenos Aires, Argentina
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C

Quick and Easy Pierogies

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was a tasty and satisfying side dish. I found a great quality brand of frozen pierogies and followed the recipe exactly. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Blake's Best Steak

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was mentioned on the Buzz by Godzilla that it was a hit so I thought I’d give it a whirl. It was a hit in our house too. I used my cast iron skillet instead of the grill with fabulous results. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Guacamole

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Healthy and fresh tasting, this can’t be beat for a wonderful afternoon snack. I used less salt than required and substituted green onions because I wanted to use them up but I’m sure it would be just good with regular onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Peach Brulee

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is a nice, little dessert that is so easy and tasty. This is a good use of ripe or overripe peaches. I didn’t use canned peaches because I don’t care for them. The next time I will broil it for 2 minutes, add the chopped pecans, and continue broiling for about another two minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
We have a winner! I had never cooked bok choy before but had to deal with the two heads that came in my friend's share of a CSA while she was on vacation. We loved it! I used slightly less ginger and added shitake mushrooms. I will definitely make this quick veggie dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Cathy Chace

Elbows Mac and Cheese with Tuscan Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Great easy to make recipe. Would be okay to substitute other cheeses if you do not have fontina on hand. Was awesome to heat up after too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Jennifer Power

Turkey Tenderloins

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This was very tasty. We grilled the tenderloins instead of using the broiler. They were moist and flavorful and it could easily pass for pork tenderloin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Power

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C

Brown Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I thought these were delightful little treasures. Even my husband who always wants chocolate cookies thought they were excellent. If you are looking for a pretty cookie for a cookie swap, you may want to consider this one; and these would be a wonderful addition on any cookie platters. For now, I’ll just enjoy them with my cup of coffee. I’ll be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Three Cheese Tortellini with Traditional Sauce and Parmigiano Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This was good, nothing earth shattering, but a very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Crazy Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
It must be called crazy bread but it’s crazy easy to make. I only made ¼ of the recipe, so I dissolved the yeast in all the water along with all the sugar the recipe required. Also, I didn’t bother to preheat the oven until after the bread was shaped to give them a little time to rise. I brushed with the garlic butter and topped with freshly grated parmesan just before putting it in the oven. They came out perfect. This is one of the easiest bread recipes to try, so if you are intimated using yeast, give this a whirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Herb Biscuit Loaf

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is my go-to bread accompaniment to pasta dishes. They are a nice change to garlic bread, etc., especially when I am serving guests. They always get rave reviews and they are so easy to make. I just made them again last night, serving 14 people, so I bought two big cans of jumbo biscuits. I doubled the butter/herb ingredients and increased the size of the pan. I baked as directed, but the biscuits in the middle were a little doughy and the most popular of the pan! Next time, I'm going to underbake them just a little -- heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seared Rabbit with Rosemary Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
tasty! I too used bottled spices, came out really nice. I added a dash of lemon which did add a nice tang at the end. Highly recommend this dish if you want something that's not rabbit stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C

Cherry Cheesecake Frozen Yogurt

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I prefer ice cream over frozen yogurt but the market had some beautiful cherries and I like Greek yogurt so I thought I’d give it a try. This was yummy. I have a smaller ice cream maker so I adjusted the serving size to 8 which fit perfectly in my ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Nice, quick, easy, and tasty recipe! This only gets about 2 servings though, so be prepared to double (or triple) if necessary. You also have to really watch them closely while their cooking as they could over brown quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Hannah Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zeezeebaker

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this cobbler yesterday. It was my first cobbler, and I am pleased with how it came out. I added about 1/2 a cup more blueberries than called for because I wanted to use them all. I also added a few dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg to the berry mixture as other reviewers suggested. The cobbler was delicious, and my family went back for seconds (and thirds!). I baked the cobbler for 40 minutes, but when we ate it the middle of the crust seemed a little underdone, so I will cook it for 42 minutes or so next time I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was our first veggie burger, and probably our last. I guess we're beef people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Deliciously Sweet Salad with Maple, Nuts, Seeds, Blueberries, and Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
We enjoyed this very much. The only change I made was to omit the cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
We thought this was very good. The only change I’d make is to marinade it overnight for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States