Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Deb C

Sugar Snap Pea and Berry Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Seasonal berries combined with sugar snap peas from the garden - how can you go wrong? I also added toasted walnuts, and tossed in the sugar snap peas raw. This made a delightful summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Watermelon Soda

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
A great use of fresh watermelon, making a light and not overly sweet refreshing drink, perfect on a hot summer’s day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Tetya

Peach Kuchen

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
It was great! Simple and tasty :)but the key here is the fresh peaches. I used very ripe peaches and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Ranch, Bacon, and Parmesan Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So good. The only thing I did different was I omitted the celery. Even my husband enjoyed it and he doesn't like Ranch dressing. I think next time I will add a little more bacon and maybe some grape tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Sandwich

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
The next time my brother tells me vegetarian sandwiches are never filling enough, I am making him one of these! It was really good. I did not use the oil or vinegar. I used a spinach and artichoke hummus instead of the cream cheese. Everything else was as the recipe stated. It was a very satisfying sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieVulcan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Stuffed Shells

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is a favorite during our summer vacations. Feeds 5 big boys; nothing left! Started baking at 350, but upped the temp to 375 to move it along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Linguine with Clam Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Very tasty. We really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandad's Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I just made these pancakes and the thing I loved the most about this recipe is how fluffy the pancakes turn out. I cut the sugar back a little but the pancakes were still a bit too sweet for my taste. I added some cinnamon which added some nice flavor and aroma. I was eager to try out some new Maple Syrup I just got, but these pancakes do not need any added sweetener! I want to try this again with less than an 1/8 of a cup of sugar, the cinnamon, and maybe try almond milk. All in all, a very quick, go to, fluffy pancake recipe. You probably have all the contents in your kitchen. Alter sweetness to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieVulcan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Margarita Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Made this for a summer party; cake is moist, nice uniform & dense crumb, and tasty with the lime flavor; overall a fabulous easy recipe. The glaze is lovely too, BUT it overpowers the lovely flavor of the cake itself. I also added a full TBSP of tequilla which may have a bit to do with the overpowering nature of the glaze! LoL... I would highly recommend this recipe, but would switch out the glaze for a much lighter version (no cream cheese, just a simple light glaze, or even just a light dusting of plain old powdered sugar!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Knots

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These are AMAZING!! I halved the recipe and used rapid rise yeast like another reviewer said. I also put the covered bowl on a heating pad to rise so I only had to wait about 45 min instead of an hour. After putting the knots on my baking sheet, I put them back on the heating pad to rise again. I brushed them with butter when they were done. Wow!! They are so good! My husband saw them and said "Please tell me you didn't make these for someone else!" Nope, all for the two of us! :) We both had 4 each straight out of the oven! Good thing I halved the recipe because they are super addicting. Just enough sweetness to remind me of the rolls that Chick-Fil-A uses in their minis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbrown7k
Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA

Fabulous Zucchini Grinders

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Absolutely Fabulous! Next time I am going to be aware of the issue with the cheese sticking to the tinfoil. Other than that, a delicious, easy and cheap recipe. The marinara sauce was very good. I made a six inch sandwich for my best friend and one for myself on my first run through. She absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieVulcan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Peppers My Way

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! This is the perfect, basic, vegetarian stuffed pepper recipe. Alterations and options are endless. As is the recipe is amazing. I love that it is easily altered. Because of this recipe I make stuffed peppers at least twice a month (now I wrap them in tin foil and put them on the grill because it's warmer out). I love green peppers, but the red and orange are more nutritious so I like to switch up what color peppers I am using. Sometimes I grab one of each color. The filling is easily to switch up. You can add spinach, corn, black beans, really whatever you have on hand. Also, I love the name! It makes me think of Frank Sinatra :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieVulcan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
SUPERB! I USED A CORNSTARCH SLURRY TO THICKEN JUICES. A KEEPER! THIS IS A GREAT COMPANY DISH TO SERVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
MY FAVORITE SOUP. I SERVED IT TO MY BOOK CLUB AND THEY ALL WANTED THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Quiche

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I USED IMITATION CRAB-BOOK CLUB FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate, Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
These cookies are perfect! Plump, soft and chewy; I am delighted that they kept their shape and look as good as they taste. I followed the recipe exactly. I had a bag of white chocolate M&Ms that I tossed in with the white chocolate chips, just because we love our candy! This is my go-to cookie from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Onion Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I don't eat cucumbers but I made this for my family. They liked it and it was certainly easy to put together. Great way to use up cucumbers from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Salmon

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I LOVE this easy recipe. It is my go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marion, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I just bought a Black and Decker bread machine, (first one ever) online at Walmart for approx 11.00. i was just looking to see how much they were and then this one was so cheap, I figured it was a typo and they would catch it when i paid for it; but no i received it for that price and this was the first recipe i tried. The first round did not go so well since I missed a vital ingredient due to my printer not printing one main ingredient and i did not catch it! the 1 1/2 cups of buttermilk! don't know why or how the printer missed this but when I checked the recipe to see if I missed something (liquid, since it was not getting doughy in the machine) the recipe showed online with the buttermilk but not my print out. so I dumped the whole thing and tried again(don't want to do that too often $$). The second time was the charm! What an awesome loaf of bread! it is perfect! I love it! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by driv5581

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brimfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
You may be thrown off by this recipe's simplicity, but I assure you it's as good or better than any I've tried. Due to being out of regular milk, I used Meyenberg's Goat Milk (powdered) and it was AMAZING!! Much creamier and a richer flavor than cow's milk and as I understand easier for some to digest. Also, I rinse the rice 3-4 times with water and prepared in the usual manner as white boiled rice then proceed to step 2. I think you will love the GOAT MILK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Roxbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States