Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Deb C

Cheese Tortellini Soup and Sausage

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My husband gave this a rating of five stars, which he rarely does, which is really saying something. He thought it was very good. I cut the sausage first before cooking just to speed up the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Plum Blueberry Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes)

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C

Simple Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This is a wonderful breakfast drink to start your day. I didn't have flax seed so I substituted wheat germ which worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Tracy Ann

Cuban Midnight Sandwich

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I grilled the bread first, then added the meats, swiss cheese and toppings (Italian-mayo on one side and mustard on the other. After putting the sandwich together, I put it in the microwave on high for 30-20 seconds. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This was a great split pea soup. Like a few other reviewers, I left out the orzo, and added a couple of diced potatoes, because we are big potato fans at our house. Otherwise, I made the recipe almost exactly as written (on the stovetop, though). I didn't have the chipotle chili powder on hand, so I subbed 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika for the smokiness, and 1 teaspoon of sriracha hot sauce for the heat (any hot sauce would have worked, I think). I think this gave a pretty good approximation of the chipotle chili peppers, which only added to what I thought was a perfect balance of peas, liquid, and vegetables that was indicated by the recipe writer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I thought this was a really good dish. However, I added a couple of flavors that perked it up a bit. In addition to the recipe I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of low salt Soy sauce, 2 thinly sliced scallions, 3 cloves of garlic and a dash of red pepper flakes. I cooked the Quinoa in chicken broth and cut down on the oil. I found it to be great warm or cold. I'm sure there is a lot you can do to this recipe to change it up with many different flavors. Next time I'll try some Greek flavors with Feta, Mint and Oregano. Thank you for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Bader

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheeseburger Soup I

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
It was delicious and pretty easy - I would add more hamburger next time (maybe a pound?) and it needed salt for sure. Otherwise, loved it!! Thanks for a great recipe to eat after shoveling tons and tons of snow! Edited to add: I've made this two times since the first time. I used beef broth instead of chicken and about 2X the cheese and it's amazing. Really great recipe that my kids love - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

Cinnamon Coconut Loaf

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I like it but I don't love it.....I do love the coconut combined with the cinnamon but the topping definitely does not work well on the top and is actually somewhat dry - maybe a few pats of butter mixed into the other ingredients might work better for a topping and the swirling effect just doesn't work with this....I may try to double it....only use cinnamon, coconut mixture in the middle - and see what happens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliedont

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

Basic Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Tastes pretty good. I also added some evoo. But it was diffucult to make it thin with a roller
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by bruins_fan24

Healthier Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
made this on Sunday February 1st, superbowl Sunday. me and my friend made them for pur superbowl party and they came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Logan Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I regret not having followed the other reviewers who added vanilla or peanut butter to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Holy woooow these are sugary. The nutmeg in the muffin is a nice touch, but I could barely taste it over the cinnamon/sugar coating, even when I had brushed about half of it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Soup Gratinee

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Very nice recipe...thank you. I finally got around to making it yesterday and we liked it a lot. We have a "usual" recipe which takes much less time but this one has a whole different flavor. I'm going to have to make our usual next week just to see which we prefer. Nice presentation on this one for company, glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Apricot Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I loved this. I cut the recipe in half, because my family is small; my wife is vegan and my kids don't eat a lot. However, we loved it. Served the chicken with rice, and the extra sauce was delicious over the rice. Not a bad idea, as some have suggested, to brown the chicken first, or turn it over midway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandman5756

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Fantastic flavors! Really easy to make and is just delicious. I usually double the recipe and share it with family or we bring some to work (it's even better the next day!). Thank you for sharing your recipe Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunstable, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
made it and it tasted delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Great cookies !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~Marianne~

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Wow! I WAY over did it and still came out great! Ok here's what I did, and bear with me, my man is a produce buyer at an organic co-op, so all ingredients were as such: 6-7 red peppers roasted over the stove and peeled 3 cloves garlic 2 cans garbanzo beans 3-4mire lemons 2-4 limes mixed variety Olive oil 2/3 c tahini ( misread the recipe!!) Salt Pepper Bunch of fresh French parsley Organic hot ghost/Thai powder (friend made) ***results *** a bit thin(due to so many peppers) but great flavor and versatile! Like granola, it's a recipe to use as is, or as a guide! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Marianne~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA

Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Super easy and loads of great flavor. Followed recipe as written, but would marinate longer next time for deeper balsamic flavor. Served with roasted cauliflower and scalloped potatoes. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States