Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hot Italian Giardiniera

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I made this for a BBQ we were hosting where we cooked up Italian Sausages. I prepared the recipe according to the directions (minus most of the hot peppers). I didn't want it to be too crunchy. So I cooked the relish in a saute pan for about 5 minutes prior to serving so it would soften just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Easy to make once you get the hang of working with the wraps. They soften up pretty quickly. Also, these don't keep that well (roll wrap gets hard). So either eat them all right away. Or wrap them in the fridge in a damp paper towel and saran wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Esmee Williams

Garlic Aioli

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This recipe was super easy to make and absolutely delicious. I made Chef John's Spicy Tarragon Chicken which I served on soft buns with this garlic aioli sauce. My guests were in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Sweet and Sour Meatballs from Heinz

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I've been making these meatballs for years. I have always used the grape jelly and these meatballs are always a hit when I make them for parties. We also love them for dinner served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Oats

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Ok, we didn't like this at all. Hubby couldn't eat it (he's never had steel cut oats before) he did not care for the gummy texture. I just personally like a more spiced apple taste and I didn't even think of that when making this. This was just very bland and the apple taste was a little weird. I might make this again but I'll add nutmeg or allspice and I'm curious to see if cooking for less then 7 hours will help with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I halved the recipe and used ground beef instead of lamb. I'm sure it's even better with the lamb. My husband, who is a picky eater, really enjoyed this dish. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

American Lasagna

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This is very similar to my go to lasagna recipe. The only thing I do different is add two 8oz cans of tomato sauce. Other than that the recipe is the same. Good stuff. Always get rave reviews when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Recently made this as I had a tonsillectomy and one of my few approved foods was meatloaf, and I was going a little crazy doing nothing but Convalescing. My dad LOVED it--he actually ate most of it--I found it a little too dry and a little painful to swallow, but I'm not sure if that's just because my throat still wasn't fully-healed or because I used very low-fat beef. It was my first time working with raw meat, and I probably could have combined the ingredients in an easier way than a potato-masher, and I didn't have a loaf pan of the right size so I had to use a casserole dish. I also forgot we didn't have any onion, so I went without. Next time, I think I'll double the sauce and try to find a loaf pan to make it a little less lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lobster Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is fantastic!!! I live in New England where the best lobster in the world comes from, so I was thrilled to find this recipe. If you are looking for the real thing, this is it!!! And DON'T FOOL WITH THE DRESSING!!! Its perfect-it doesn't overpower the lobster, which is the star here. And PLEASE don't forget to toast that hot dog bun!! Make this recipe for friends, & they will be impressed (if you can afford the cost. I was lucky-my lobsters were $4.99 a pound!!!!!) Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Auntie Ney's Overnight Oatmeal with fruit

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I added apples and cinnemon/sugar too so it was ready to eat in the morning. Yummy! Almost like pudding! I could see putting it on top of ice cream even!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Eward Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Next time I would make my own Alfredo sauce - recipe on AllRecipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pie Snacking Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Outstanding! So moist and yummy and a snap to through together. I had a craving for cake and made this in no time. I think I would like to experiment with other pie filling flavors next time. Very versatile and easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I used a 5 lbs shoulder cut (aka Boston Butt). Sow cooked for 6 hours, shredded, placed back into slow cooker, added Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ Sauce and cooked on high for 30 mins. Once done, I toasted Kaiser Rolls and served. It got raving reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great - combine other minestrone recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is great, even though i had to substitute the graham cracker crust for gluten free, it is amazing. i missed key lime pie from before i was gluten free, but now i can have it! Thankyou so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgartown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Very good basic pancake recipe. I prefer reducing the salt by half and adding a good teaspoon or so of vanilla for flavor. I've also made these using soured milk (add tsp of vinegar to milk, let sit while you mix other ingredients). After sitting for a few minutes, batter was very thick - not pourable at all - so I dropped by ladlefuls onto the griddle and gently swirled to spread batter. Nice thick pancakes that do well with add-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Magic Marshmallow Puffs

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Excellent, easy way to make sticky buns! I will make these again, adding some chopped, cooked apple and using mini marshmallows instead of the regular ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Greek Penne and Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Very good, but I took everyone's suggestions. I used diced tomatoes, marinated artichoke and most of the marinade, doubled the garlic, used a whole onion (oops), and accidentally added some red pepper when I grabbed the wrong bottle (it was still great) and added cream. The sauce tasted great was a bit thin, probably because I didn't have real cream and used half and half. But it still tasted great so I'm keeping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaime920

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Best pot roast I've ever had. I made no deviations whatsoever. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaime920

Super Simple Biscuits

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I did 2 cups of Bisquick, 1 stick of butter, and 1 cup of sour cream! This was the perfect amount to fill a 12 count muffin pan. UNREAL! These are the best biscuits I've ever had. Won't be looking for another biscuit recipe....this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States