Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Sunday Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is very similar to the sauce my mother taught me to make, only I don't use all that meat. I brown spare ribs in the sauce pan I'm going to use. I put the meatballs on an oven pan that has a portable top with holes in it so the grease drips down in to the pan. I agree with the other reviewers who prefer using their hands to crush the tomatoes as it does give the sauce a nicer texture instead of the puree texture. When the meatballs are browned, I remove them from the oven and put them in the sauce that has started to simmer along the spare ribs with all the spices I like. After the spare ribs are thoroughly cooked, I take them out and remove the meat from the bones and put the meat back into the simmering sauce. Two rules I follow...1) add fresh basil to the sauce and 2) use a very sparing amount of fresh oregano or dried if you don't have the fresh. My mother always warned me tha too much oregano would make it taste like kerosene smells and she was right. In response to the reader who asked why people put sugar in their sauce...I only put about a quarter of a tsp. of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. It doesn't make the sauce sweet. I'm just curious. Is Chef John a paid member of the All Recipes site or is he just a man who loves to cook and sends in all of his recipes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Sr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
We just got back to our northern home town from a visit to Grandma in coastal Virginia. My daughter had she crab soup every time we went out, so we searched the internet for recipes when we got home so that we could occasionally have this at home. This was the version we chose to try first, and we were very glad we did, because it will be our "go-to" for the future. The resulting soup was comparable to the best of the restaurant versions in both favor and consistency, and we did not really change much at all. I added a half a cup of water with a fish bouillon cube dissolved in it just to give the flour mixture a bit of seafood flavor and used two tablespoons of Old Bay in stead of three. We all liked it that way, but would have liked it the original way as well. The Hollandaise Mix is the stroke of genius that separates this recipe from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandman5756

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sandy's Simple Spring Lettuce Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
tasty and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Merlino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Pasta Pomodoro

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Delicious-Let the sauce simmer for 2 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Merlino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Waffles II

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is the best waffle recipe I've come across. I've made it a number of times and my family loves it. I've found that I need to increase the milk to 2 or 2-1/2 cups to get the batter to a pourable consistency, and I add a tsp or so of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Spanish Potato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I think this would be great with roasted red peppers rather than the raw, but love this recipe in general. Thanks, lutzflcat, I'll try this soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Ana Vitoria

Codfish with Cream

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This is totally authentic and delicious!!! Thanks Rita for posting it! Getting back to my portuguese roots has been a delicious journey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana Vitoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Very good soup. Just remember that for some people cloves are highly allergenic.I have to omit this when my daughter is over.Great way to use garden tomatoes. Soup and Sauces help the bounty last all year!!! Enjoy!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

Spanish Seafood Paella

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This is a nice scaled down version. There is no green pepper in the sofrito to start with and this is key.I think it needs more tomato and garlic.I use Spanish Bomba Rice and lobster stock as well as white wine.I also use scallops and lobster. I garnish with flat leaf parsley and piquillo peppers. Using a Paella Pan really does make a difference. It's hard to scale down Paella. When you make it it usually serves a crowd. I also sneak in a little finely minced celery. What can I say, I'm american. Thanks for Paella for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

Authentic Paella

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is a nice scaled down version. There is no green pepper in the sofrito to start with and this is key.I think it needs more tomato and garlic.I use Spanish Bomba Rice and lobster stock as well as white wine.I also use scallops and lobster. I garnish with flat leaf parsley and piquillo peppers. Using a Paella Pan really does make a difference. It's hard to scale down Paella. When you make it it usually serves a crowd. I also sneak in a little finely minced celery. What can I say, I'm american. Thanks for Paella for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

Steff's Shepherd Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
We enjoyed this meal, thank you for the recipe. I made it as listed except I didn't have any onion so I substituted a package of Lipton Onion Soup mix instead, just mixed it in while cooking the meat mixture. I added about a half cup of milk to the meat mixture too as it seemed too thick, this extra moisture made the finished product nice too. We especially liked the layer of cheese underneath the potato. I added a half of a brick of cream cheese to the mashed potatoes while preparing them for extra delicious flavor too, and a sprinkle of garlic powder. I spread the homemade mashed potatoes on top and then tufted them with a fork to get a nice appealing look on top as it baked, I broiled it for 2 minutes to brown the potato tufts topping and it looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Maple Icing

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
What a wonderful frosting with a lovely creamy texture. I wanted more maple flavor so I used only 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract and upped the maple extract to one full teaspoon. I also used only 3 1/2 cups of confectioner's sugar to achieve the perfect consistency (for me). This was wonderful spread on my golden maple-walnut sheet cake. I sprinkled some chopped toasted walnuts on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Gigi Hunermund

Honey Baked Chicken II

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I made some changes: Boneless skinless chicken thighs (5 large)instead of cut up chicken 2 tbl olive oil instead of butter 1/3 cup dijon mustard 1/2 cup honey 1/2 cup chicken broth 2 tsp mild yellow curry 1 tsp garam masala 2 large garlic cloves 4 med yukon gold potatoes skin on 1/2 small bag of baby carrots I layered the chicken on top of the potatoes and carrots, poured sauce on top and baked for what seemed like forever. It took almost two hours to cook the potatoes the way I like. Next time I think I will get those small yukon gold potatoes that you microwave in the bag. I will also blanch the thighs first. Then I will add everything to a pan and bake. That should help to get dinner on table quicker. I liked the suggestion to stick under the broiler for a few min at the end to get really nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Hunermund

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mattapan, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Absolutely the best brownies on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I love this classic! Especially appreciated the tip on adjusting the vollume of pasta to customize the creaminess of the sauce!! I've been trying to get a creamier texture for years and I have been going about it all wrong! Thanks John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I found this recipe after I realized my poor grill was broken. I'd bought a rack and needed to cook it. I definitely wasn't disappointed, hubby was licking his fingers. I used a BBQ rib instead of salt and pepper, otherwise I made the recipe exact. I might try a little dash of liquid smoke since I did miss the smokiness, but still best crock pot rib recipe I've found .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gigi Hunermund

Black Beans and Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I seasoned the pork chops with smoked paprika, black pepper and garlic salt. The smoked paprika added a wonderful smokiness that complimented the black beans very well. At the 15 min mark, I added a small handful of finely shredded cheddar cheese and covered the pan for the last 5 min or so. I served it over parboiled rice with a side of pickled jalapenos. Next time I will make sure I have a ripe avocado to eat along side this dish. The cool creaminess of avocado would have gone perfectly. My daughter asked for sour cream, another good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Hunermund

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mattapan, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snowy Pudding

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
A classic old fashioned recipe, best contrasted with an old fashioned egg custard sauce over the top. Just like grandma used to make.Comfort food dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I make this recipe frequently. It's so easy to put together and gets better the longer it marinates. I use a little less sugar and fresh dill when I have it. Our whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennlovesdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boursin®-Style Cheese Spread

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
What is "Chervil" never heard of it? This sounds wonderful and easy. I love Boursin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Lobster Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States