Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Deb C

Stuffed Strawberries

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
So quick and easy and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Veggie Quinoa

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I agree with others- this is a good base recipe but pretty bland- season to taste. I followed the advice of others and marinaded the tofu in a soy/sesame oil/red pepper mixture. I also baked the tofu first to firm it up. Overall a good base and I will be making similar dishes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Knead Beer Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I had my doubts, but it came out of the oven looking exactly like the loaf of bread in the video. What a great recipe. It does take a few hours with the rising and baking, but is very simple and the directions are easy to follow. If you do plan to make it, watch the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
We had this soup with Chef John's Beer Batter Bread. It would be very good as a first course, but is not hearty enough for a meal. It was easy and tasty. Like most of the reviewers, we didn't have nasturtium -- but otherwise I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Grilled Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This was a great change to our normal pork recipes. The Cinnamon really rounded out the flavor. We marinated for about 48 hours then cooked on a rotisserie for about 90 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BikiniRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This gets a five because my husband immediately asked me to make it again ... the next day. I've made it with both a brown rice blend and white rice - both are wonderful. I did use dried herbs as I have recently been away and the friend who was supposed to water my herbs killed them all. I reconstituted them with a little oil and water (1/2 tblsp. of each that is supposed to be 1 tblsp.) and went from there. Almost the whole household dislikes celery (except me!) so I used multi colored sweet peppers (the bagged little ones) instead and they made it colorful and were wonderful in it. The rice/bean/dressing mix is a great starter for an immense number of combinations of veggies, depending upon what is available at the farmers markets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C

Honey Bun Cake I

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This is quick and easy to prepare, and I made it in a bundt pan as other reviewers suggested. It makes a beautiful cake that is wonderfully moist. I would cut back a little on the cinnamon as I found it too aggressive though, but everyone still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Special Rhubarb Cake

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I was looking for something a little different to use my rhubarb from the garden. This was very good, but a little sweeter than I would have liked. Next time I would add more rhubarb to offset the sweetness. The texture was perfect though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Perfect pot pie! Almost identical to the one I've been making for a very long time. Here's a twist on it. Just for a change, I sometimes forget the crust and serve it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folly Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Coffee Cake II

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I made this cake exactly as specified and baked it almost to time indicated. Although it looked beautiful and the cinnamon topping smelled wonderful, the cake was dry and the cream cheese filling just didn't make sense with the flavoring of the cake. The lemon also gave it a little too much tang for my taste. This just didn't work for me and was a big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coffeebar Chai

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I used the spice ratio to add to my weekly oatmeal. I simmered the spices for a minute before adding the oats. Added some coconut to change it up. Will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C

Sauteed Swiss Chard with Parmesan Cheese

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I have a ton of swiss chard in the garden so I’m looking for various ways of making it. This was an excellent variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Pan Fried Swiss Chard

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I have a ton of swiss chard in the garden so I’m looking for various ways of making it. This was very good, but my husband thought I put in too much bacon. Ah well, next time more bacon for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Garlic Cream Sauce over Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
My husband thought this was good but a regular chicken dish and gave it 4 stars. I thought it was delicious and gave it 5 stars. I’m the cook, 5 stars it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Blueberry Lemon Bread

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
The texture was a little off and may have been a little better if the sugar was creamed with softened butter instead of melted, but the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Lemon Rhubarb Bars

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I didn’t want a full 9x13 pan so I halved the recipe. Although I have the green variety of rhubarb, it still made a lovely presentation using my tart pan. As is my norm, I doubled the amount of fruit, therefore I increased the sugar by 50%. It came out great but I may decrease the amount of rhubarb by a smidgeon the next time. I thought this was actually better the next day. It’s a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Avocado Chicken Spread

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I’m always on the lookout for a twist on the typical chicken salad. I’m glad I come across this recipe. It’s easy and delicious, not to mention healthy. I had a very large sweet onion, so I used just enough onion for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Dark Chocolate Brownies with Caramel Filled DelightFulls™

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Very expensive to make because of the two bags of morsels, and the caramel is practically undetectable. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Whipped Banana "Ice Cream"

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
As mom to a toddler, this is practically a perfect recipe! It's one ingredient, and takes just minutes! Whipped it up with the processor attachment for my stick blender. I almost always have bananas in the freezer anyhow because my tot eats just half with her breakfast. She loved having "Banana Swirl" just like on her favorite show, Daniel Tiger's Neighborhood! I love that she gets 'ice cream' with only natural fruit sugars. Win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Chewy Caramel

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I followed the directions to a T. The temperature specified made for too soft of a caramel; they do not hold shape at all. Also, the biggest reason for my rating is that the flavor of the condensed milk stood WAY out and they are wicked sweet. These taste just like brown sugar stirred into sweetened condensed milk. I love caramels and sweets, but this recipe isn't for me, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States