Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Classic Caramel Corn

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Excellent Carmel corn! Use a throw away foil tin roasting pan for easy turning! I doubled the sauce and made big batches in the pans for better coating! I give this away at Christmas as part of our homemade gift basket and everyone loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These are perfection! Dough is super easy to work with, cookies come out perfectly shaped and excellent flavor and texture. They store very well, too. Used a really good vanilla extract and I'm loving the vanilla flavor in these! Great recipe to make with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Chocolate Peanut Butter Blossom Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Well, the flavor of these was unbelievably good! Dough looked like chocolate dough, but with good peanut butter flavor. But we had issues with the cookies falling apart after placing the chocolate kisses on them, and I mean crumbling to bits. I did notice that even though you could press the dough together, it was still a bit crumbly. I will try these again, but will maybe chill the dough before making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Sweet-n-Sour Kielbasa

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I used fresh chopped onions in this recipe. I wanted it to be a comfort food sandwich. It reminds me of a bologna dish my mom made when I was growing up. I love Kielbasa because it is so versatile., and this recipe allows for creativity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Tetya

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I made little wreths for Christmas. I used pastry bag instead of cookie press. The dough was too thick, it was difficult to get it out. So I added few spoons of sour cream to thin it. It worked better. So I think, I would add less flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Blueberry Strata

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Any time I can get my husband to rant about a meal, I'm thrilled. He LOVED this and has asked for repeat performances. There was blueberry sauce left ... He put it on all kinds of stuff. Definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greens with Cannellini Beans and Pancetta

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I Liked this Recipe. I used 2 slices applewood smoked bacon as I had no pancetta. I cooked the onion and later the greens in the bacon drippings with just a touch of olive oil. I used Northern White beans as tha is what I had on hand. I drizzled two tablespoons of cider vinegar on top of the finished product which gave it a little more flavor. It was a very nice recipe and was hearty and homey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very good recipe. I used Baby Rays BBQ sauce, made loaded scalloped potatoes and buttered corn. My boyfriend loved it. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele McCormick

Three Cheese Tortellini with Traditional Sauce and Parmigiano Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
My picky daughter likes this which was great because she hates all things pasta. I thought it was pretty good but prefer homemade tortellini. My son loved it and my husband was neutral. It was soooo easy to throw together. I will definitely make it again! The only change I made was to add ground beef to the sauce because I don't like marinara without meat. I thought the Barilla sauce was a little sweeter than I usually make but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Cathy Chace

Dog Treats I

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I really enjoyed making these. They were moderately easy and didn't make a huge mess. I substituted chicken stock because some of my dogs are allergic to beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Delightfully refreshing! Couldn't be easier to make. I made only a half recipe in an 8 x 8 pan. I won't make that mistake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This recipes is way too salty for my taste. I even tried low sodium soy sauce to decrease the amount of sodium, but that didn't help at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Rekha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Grandma's Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
very easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Photo by Deb C

Dinah's Baked Scallops

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Easy and the results were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Cranberry Nut Bread I

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
At first I didn't think I liked this bread because I found it not sweet enough and sort of crumbly. My husband also commented about how it was on the tart side however neither one of us could stay away from it. I believe this bread was three quarters gone within the first half hour it came out of the oven. Even though it was not what I expected it to be it was quite addicting. I must make this bread again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Hot & Sour Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
If you like it spicy this is the soup for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Millville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Beef with Snow Peas

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
The picture shows different vegetables than what was in the recipe. I like the pictured version better. A little more attractive and crispy. The basic recipe is good.I added a dash of gravy master browning sauce to bring out the flavors. It is good with broccoli too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Chace

Chocolate Pretzel Treats

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Quick and easy to make. They also look super festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

Take-Out Fake-Out Pollo Con Crema

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Delicious! I did make a few minor substitutions. Instead of heavy cream I used cream cheese - 87 pounds of it seemed heavy enough. I didn't have bell peppers on hand so I rang a bell - hopefully blue is a good enough substitute for red. I don't live in California (Anaheim or otherwise) so I left out the optional chilies. And finally, my name is not Frank but I am red hot enough that I left that out as well. Overall I thought it was a pretty good home version of pollo con crema.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Tarte a L'oignon (French Onion Pie)

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
First of all, let me say that this onion pie is absolutely delicious. I made modifications because, after reading all the reviews and scrutinizing the recipe myself, I didn't think all of the filling would fit into one regular 9" pie crust. I used only 6 slices of bacon, 4 medium-size Vidalia onions, 3/4 cup of half and half and 3 jumbo eggs. Upon the suggestion of "reciprocipe," I added lt. brown sugar and balsamic vinegar to the filling. I also decided to place a lattice crust on top to use up some dough scraps I had. I egg washed the strips and sprinkled them with a little coarse salt. The pie baked for a full 35 minutes before it was set and browned to my liking. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States