Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Nice dish, the kids liked it. Anytime a recipe calls for "canned" chicken, I always use a rotisserie chicken, it just tastes 100 times better. I also only used cream of chicken soup. You also have to season this all. I used salt, pepper and garlic powder. I topped it with crushed up ritz crackers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sangria! Sangria!

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I wish more people had mentioned if they used the optional ingredients. I added the sugar and probably didn't need to. So, because of that, we definitely ended up cutting the sweetness with some seltzer. I'd recommend no sugar and then hopefully you wouldn't need the seltzer. Overall it was good, but people definitely said it was a sweeter kind of Sangria. I used the Roijo that someone recommended. Maybe I'd try a different kind next time. Also, I would cut the rounds in half. The orange rounds were too big for the cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jet62879
Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is a great Carrot cake! Only thing I did different was I made more (1 1/2 times everything) so I could make 3 layers. I used 1/2white sugar 1/2 brown sugar, golden raisins and walnuts. It came out great! I also made this yummy frosting. Not too sweet. I also crush the walnuts for the outside of the cake. It looked very pretty and was very moist. I have made this recipe3 or 4 times now and have't changed much besides the sugar. . Everyone tells me it's the best Carrot cake ever. Keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
These were nice and simple. Next time I would add some red pepper flakes. I just started eating Brussels sprouts and thus is the best yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C

British Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was an excellent use of leftover wheat bread I had made. I estimated the dried fruit I added, just adding a handful of this and that, which was probably a little more than the recipe requested but it worked out great for us. Because I’m not a fan of nutmeg, I only added a slight grating which was fine because of the amount of cinnamon in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Excellent! I threw this together for my son with some tilapia I had n the freezer, when the rest of us were having homemade pizza (he is the only person in the world that I know who doesn't like pizza). It was really good! He ate the entire pan (and he's 8 years old)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kickin' Collard Greens

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
For so many of my cooking years I avoided making collard greens. Don’t get me wrong, with collards it was love at first bite. I just thought that not being a southerner mine would never be as good as those I had while traveling. Made as written, these are as good as any I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This recipe was so healthy and yummy! The only reason I didn't give it five stars was the amount of olive oil. I have a little bit of heartburn after eating it. Next time I would cut the oil in half and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Pork Chops a la Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This is the first meat dish I have ever made - I am a vegetarian but wanted to make something special for my hubby. He gave it five stars (and trust me, he is an honest and tough critic)...I made the following changes: used 1 can chicken broth instead of soup, added pepper to the flour mixture, did not trim the fat from the bone-in pork chops I used, used the dry mustard but also added some regular mustard to the broth, and added chopped carrots and onions the last hour of cooking. Four hours on low and they were perfect (according to my husband and his meat-eating friends).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C

Honey Wheat Bread III

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Simple and easy, this recipe makes a wonderful loaf of wheat bread. I shaped this free-form and it held its shape very well. I recommend being cautious when adding the last of the AP flour, because I didn’t need anywhere near the amount requested in the recipe. Although this was very good, I would have liked it to be just a smidgeon sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Spanish Cod

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
After visiting Spain last fall, and often coming across cod served with tomatoes, I wanted to find a dish that incorporated tomatoes with the fish. This recipe is excellent. I do tweak it a bit, though. I add more Spanish herbs like thyme, basil, tarragon, rosemary. I eliminate the Italian deli veggies and add artichokes, not necessarily marinated. I add enough lemon so that I can taste it in the tomato liquid and that makes for a wonderful broth. And, I use only one type of pepper spice, not two. We usually eat it over either brown or white basmati rice. I have not served it at a group dinner, but only with family. That is my next step! Thank you Lundegaard1 for this wonderful, nutritious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerry L.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Moist turkey. I would have liked it better if it had a bit more flavor. I will try it again as it's so quick to prepare with plenty of leftover meat. I'll try adding different herbs/spices, & maybe some butter next time though to perk it up, for our tastes. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Cassoulet

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Awesome shortcut. Even without draining the tomatoes mine needed more liquid, so I added chicken stock until the mixture was just covered (~1.5 cups). Subbing a leek for the onion felt authentic. Sour cream would be a nice touch, or red pepper flakes if your sausage isn't spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Emergency Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
A big hit with my husband..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Egg-White Crepes

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Quick, easy and healthy. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Pasta e Fagioli ala Weeble

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I loved everything about this recipe: ease of preparation, flavor and heartiness. We thought this was comfort food at its finest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Gerry and Peggy's Muesli

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Excellent basic muesli recipe. I always omit the brown sugar, as the raisins and other fruit make this plenty sweet. For the "naughty bits" I add dried currents, dried cherries, dried figs, dried cranberries -- basically any dried fruit that I have available to add to the taste. I have added chopped pecans to add to the nutty flavor and when I did not have walnuts. My wife and I eat this recipe with chopped seasonal fruit -- a half cup muesli and a half cup fruit. I use rice milk and she uses her own homemade kefir. The wheat germ, oat bran, and wheat bran give the muesli a creamy flavor when you let them sit in the liquid you use when eating them. This has become a staple of our diet, so many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerry L.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Photo by Deb C

Avocado Sauce Eggs Benedict

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is a delicious variation on eggs benedict and healthier too. We loved it but I would recommend a smaller slice of tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

Pull-Apart Easter Blossom Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Firstly, I’d like to apologize to the recipe submitter. I was in a cranky mood making this. “Gradually whisk about 1/3 of the butter-milk mixture into the beaten eggs?” That’s not happening. I poured all liquid ingredients in the bowl and let my Kitchen Aid do its thing. And then after an hour it didn’t rise. Ah geez, I forgot to add the yeast. Back in the bowl and let my Kitchen Aid have at it. So, despite my cantankerousness, this was wonderful. I loved the addition of the lemon zest. I used peach preserves from a local farm which was a perfect compliment to the richness of the dough. This is a beautiful coffee bread that is delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C

British Hot Cross Buns

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made the dough in my usual manner, skipping the letting it rest for ten minutes after mixing. This makes a wonderful bun, but the ground cloves was a little too aggressive for me, so next time I’d cut that by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States