Portland, Maine - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by StephL

Breakfast Banana Green Smoothie

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
First attempt at a green smoothie & it turned out great. Made yet as is. Even my picky hubby liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Popcorn

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
It was easy to make, and great to eat! I used a cookie sheet to spread and coat the popcorn with the chocolate mixture, but i did not bake and it was awesome@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Wow! An amazing switch-up on chocolate cake. My family, especially grandchildren, devoured the cake over a few days. I used extra dark powdered cocoa and added an additional 1/3 cup and baked cake in a bundt pan adding an additional 25 minutes to total baking time. The cake was very moist and melted in your mouth. I served unfrosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sicilian Meat Roll

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
An excellent reprieve from boring meatloaf - very moist and delicious - was so popular there were no leftovers. Served with whipped potatoes (with sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese), garden salad, and stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jill's Herb Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Absolutely delicious - i prepared two roasters, stuffed with sliced oranges and apples. A great way to roast chicken - makes great tasting gravy - served with mashed potato, harvard beets, candied carrots, and bread stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Parmesan-Crusted Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I tried this recipe, prepared as directed and basted breaded chicken with leftover butter and sprinkled with additional breadcrumb mixture and added additional grated parmesan cheese to the top of chicken. The chicken was very crisp on outside, moist on inside, and absolutely delicious. The only change i would make when preparing the next time would be to add a rack to the baking pan as the bottoms of the chicken pieces were a bit soggy. I served with garlic/green beans, stuffing (instead of potato), and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Wrapped in Crisp Prosciutto

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Excellent side dish for any meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Brunch or Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made this casserole for christmas breakfast and it was a huge hit. I did make some changes and additions; see my version in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter-Banana Blammo! Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
The recipe was confusing at first, but when i finally figured it out everthing was good. The brownies were awesomely scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Neapolitan-Style Pizza Dough with Garlic and Italian Seasonings

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was my first attempt at making pizza dough. it was a great recipe and easy to follow, as well as super delicious. Of course like most any recipe on here i like to adapt them for various uses. My grandchildren wanted sloppy-joes, so i made my homemade sloppy-joe recipe and while it was cooking, i prepared the dough. i rolled out the dough to 1/4 inch thickness and used a round 5 inch cereal bowl as a dough cutter. Next, i plopped a gravy ladle full of the mixture on one-half the circle to within a 1/2 inch of edges, I made an egg was using 3 eggs and using a pastry brush to spread around entire circle, I topped the mixture with shredded cheddar cheese and lifted the remaining half of the dough over the mixture, sealing and crimping the edges with a fork. I baked the pies in a pre-heated 425 degree oven for 15 minutes until crust was light brown, and used the remaining egg wash on the top crust and continued to cook for an additional 10 minutes or until the pies were golden brown. From this pie crust recipe I got 18 individual sloppy-joe pies. My family fell in love with this and my grandchildren keep asking me when i am going to make them again! Bonn-appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Chicken Salad III

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
The whole family enjoyed this quite a bit. Made a few minor substitutions- didn't have hoisin like I thought, so used teriyaki sauce. Put in a squirt of lime juice in the dressing. Purposefully used fried chow mein noodles because the husband has had a hankering for them. And cooked the chicken in sesame oil and a little teriyaki in a saute pan. Otherwise everything was the same and quite delicious! We think next time we'd like to add avocado, even though that's more California fusion than Chinese, but we think the creamy fattiness of the avocado would pair nicely with the spicy and bright flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Downeast Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jay's Signature Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
A superb pizza crust! I have not ever made pizza dough before so made the recipe exactly as directed. This recipe was just the one for a beginner like me! My dough rose as described in the recipe - i placed the bowl in front of the oven vent while i was preheating the oven and it doubled in size as described in the recipe I was not making a pizza in the true sense of the word. i divided the dough in half and rolled it out to about 1/4 inch thick, then cut the dough into 5 circles using a plastic cereal bowl. I then topped half of each circle with my homemade sloppy joe mix! You can see the recipe in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Superior Chocolate Lava Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Absolutely fabulous My family loves dessert - especially chocolate cake. I doubled the recipe, used 5 cups of flour, and used hot coffee instead of hot water. I also added 1 tbsp of cinnamon,3/4 cup brown sugar, coffee creamer instead of milk, and added 1/4 cup orange zest. I greased and floured an 11"x17" and baked the cake at 355 degrees for 55 minutes. This is an awesome cake, especially when frosted with peanut butter/chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Absolutely fabulous My family loves dessert - especially chocolate cake. I seriously doubt this 9" cake could serve 24 people! I doubled the recipe and got 28 servings from an 11x17" pan. I used 5 cups of flour, and used hot coffee instead of hot water. I also added 1 tbsp of cinnamon,3/4 cup brown sugar, coffee creamer instead of milk, and added 1/4 cup orange zest. I greased and floured an 11"x17" and baked the cake at 355 degrees for 55 minutes. This is an awesome cake, especially when frosted with peanut butter/chocolate frosting (a family favorite)! For my version of this recipe check my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Delicious- it's a great way to cook tofu to crisp it up a little bit. I used a bottled peanut sauce that was spicier than I expected, so my 4 year old didn't love it, but my husband and I did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
These buns were totally awesome! I made them for a mid-Christmas morning snack and was sweets do not last long in this home I doubled the recipe and got four (4) dozen buns;so, I split the batch in half and made a batch of "OoeyGooey buns" and a batch of regular cinnamon buns with a butter-cream glaze - even four dozen didn't last more than a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this casserole for christmas breakfast and it was a huge hit. I did make some changes and additions; see my version in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppermint Meringue Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Adorable, low calorie for finicky holiday cookie exchangers and tasy! Super easy except the candy cane powder cemented to my nostrils is a bit potent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
They are very good, it's just I prefer a softer cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Peanut Blossoms II

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Love these! Does not make 72 but still I make them every year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States