Bangor, Maine - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Honey-Dijon Chicken With A Kick

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Really good and very simple! The sauce definitely gets watered down but is still excellent....used far less red pepper flakes but that was just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very tasty. I just used 3/4 of a cup of marsala wine, I didn't have any cooking sherry, and it was just the cheap stuff from the grocery store since I don't drink wine. I used about 2 pounds of chicken, which was 3 very large breasts and I cut them in half and pounded them down to get 6 good sized pieces. I'm not sure if the original recipe was for about a pound of chicken but I thought it didn't make very much sauce. I added 1/2 a large onion, and sauteed the onion and mushrooms for a bit in the butter and I used garlic flavored olive oil. Then added the chicken back in and poured the wine on top. I think I could have easily doubled the sauce recipe, so if you are looking for a lot of sauce, I recommend doing that. Thickening it with cornstarch or adding a little cream might have been good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Trout Fillets

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This was really good...will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ornament Dough

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I added 1 Tablespoon of oil and kneaded them really well before rolling them out. I rolled them to about 1/4 inch and they cooked great in 30 minutes! They didn't puff up and hardened up nicely! I sprayed them with a clear coat before painting then painted them and applied another clear coat and they are beautiful! The kids had tons of fun making these! I also made large thick (Over an inch) hearts with their hand-prints and the year on them for a keepsake (not an ornament) and baked them at 250 degrees for 2 hours and they were perfect as well... Definitely keeping this easy recipe around for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
OMG This is the BEST Peanut Butter Cookie Recipe I have EVER made! I followed the recipe EXACTLY only reducing the cook time to 11 minutes and they were PERFECT! Thank you so much, I'm mixing up another batch right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I followed the advice of others and substituted 3/4Cup of brown sugar for the white sugar and didn't have any issue with the the texture of the cookies being like cardboard but I also don't pack my flour, I make sure it's nice and fluffy when measured off, and level it with a knife. I make nice thick 1/4 inch cookies so they're softer. I cut 3 of them real thin and they were crunchy and hard, so definitely make sure you roll them out to a decent thickness... I definitely agree with other reviewers that they weren't necessarily "spicy" like the title says. I will make these again and try doubling the spices like another reviewer suggested. After making them again I will modify my review. Definitely like this recipe and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Soft Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Followed the advice of other reviewers and used 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of granulated sugar and 1 cup of confectioners sugar. These cookies were not very "sweet" like sugar cookies I've made in the past and probably will not be using this recipe again next year...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and had to add 2 extra Tablespoons of milk for it to be a frosting consistency. The end product hardened up nice to be able to stack the cookies. Before we frosted the cookies I almost threw it away because we didn't like the taste, but it tasted pretty good on the cookies when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Quick Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was wonderful....definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Carcass Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I always make recipes EXACTLY before rating them, but in this case I didn't have the carcus just the Turkey meat. So the only difference that I made is that I used half water and half chicken stock and added my cut up turkey and followed the rest of the recipe to a T and it was amazing! The family RAVED about it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was wonderful! I used a chicken sausage and it was flavored with basil and Asiago cheese. Delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Really good but did not use bacon fat! Cooked bacon and drained off as much far as I could. Did not use heavy cream but used 1/2 and 1/2. Otherwise this recipe would have been very unhealthy. Other than that, it was awesome and we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cowboy Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Another fast and easy recipe with all ingredients on hand....will make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet-n-Sour Kielbasa

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Wonderfully fast and easy...had all ingredients on hand and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cola Pot Roast II

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This recipe is DELICIOUS! I cooked it as is but added sliced mushrooms and served it with baked potatoes and my whole family was more than impressed! Definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Hawaiian Bread II

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I made this recipe this morning, followed the directions exactly, The only change I made was to add 1 Tbsp of sugar to the yeast and added 1 tsp of salt. It turned out amazing, The only extra flour I added was to the bread board when I turned it out after the first rise, I only added enough to allow me to pick it up and put it into the bread pans, It made two wonderful light fluffy loaves, They rose high and are beautiful and taste fantastic!! I think if I were going to make rolls I would have to add more flour to shape them but it is a batter bread so the batter is sticky but it is suppose to be. YUM! will absolutely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Homemade Four Cheese Ravioli

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was a great recipe! The dough was amazing and I followed the recipe exactly as written but added spinach to the cheese filling! I sautéed up some mushrooms, onions, peppers and Italian chicken sausage to serve with it and my whole family raved over it! Definitely a new favorite in my house, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

White Chocolate Pound Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
My family absolutely loved this cake! I added an extra 1/2 cup of sour cream because I saw a few reviews saying that it was dry but this cake was far from dry! We also added strawberries and it almost tasted like strawberry shortcake. It was to die for and we will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! I used some regular cayenne pepper as I didn't have the Asian heat. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These were so wonderful....the only extra thing I added was chopped water chestnuts...and we also had spring roll plum sauce as an extra choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States