Waterbury, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Maria's Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very fun to make and the kids loved them!!! The mixture is way to much for the size of chicken breasts I had. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
alright biscuits, but you NEED to eat the THAT day or they're very dry the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

Supreme Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very good recipe. Crowd pleaser. I used 7 LARGE russet potatoes and made 2 9x13 pans. One w/ onions one w/o. Never used the butter. Very good and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
My nana makes these cookies every yr (my mom does every so often). The other day I got the recipe and this is the SAME EXACT recipe! OMG THEY'RE SOOOOO GOOOD!!! My kids love them, my husband loves them, and I love them. They're so easy to make. My mom got this recipe from someone who was born in the VERY early 1900s, so this is an old recipe but a GOOD one! Use flour on your hands when rolling the cookies because it is a very sticky dough. And ONLY bake them for 10min, make sure they're still puffy! Also I don't flatten them, they come out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

Chicken Puffs

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
These turned out pretty well. I made a lot of changes. I shredded 2 chicken breasts instead of cubing them and used 8 oz of onion & chive cream cheese. I didn't use any butter, but added a little bit of milk to the cream cheese to make it stirrable. I also added a little bit of garlic powder to the dough for flavor. They needed about 22-24 minutes to brown, and probably could've even stayed in longer. Overall they had an odd taste, but the flavor of the chicken was still noticeable, which is what I had hoped for. Overall, not great, but decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Broccoli Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Delicious! Made just one change - used a cup of shredded cheddar cheese and a little bit of mozzarella as a substitute for the swiss. I just wish I left the broccoli to thaw for a little longer because it didn't turn out very soft. This was my first time making quiche and overall it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I LOVED this macaroni and cheese! Such a nice change from the typical boxed stuff and the three cheeses go together so nicely. I did make some changes - left out the ham, cayenne pepper, and used margarine instead of butter, but it was delicious none the less. The only thing that stinks is the heaviness of this dish. You always want to eat more but it leaves you feeling VERY full very quickly. But it's safe to say I will definitely be making this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nana's Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
It's easy to make and it tastes ssooooo good. We had it with maple walnut ice cream and whip cream YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

All-Day Apple Butter

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I gave this recipe 4 stars just because I didn't follow it to a T. I used 5.5 lbs of apples I picked that day and I knew they were VERY sweet so I only put 2c of sugar and it came out pretty sweet so I recommend to anyone to NOT PUT 4C OF SUGAR INTO THIS RECIPE! It'll come disgustingly sweet. I didn't have grnd cloves so I used 1/8tsp of nutmeg and 1/8tsp of all spice and it come out great. I canned four 8oz jars and had some left over to put in a tupperware container to eat NOW because it's tastey. This is the first time I canned anything or made apple butter and both came out great and it's going to make wonderful gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I didn't have any broccoli so I substituted with green beans, which were great. I wasn't a big fan of the sauce though. I thought the parmesan cheese flavor was too much, even after using only about 1/4 cup instead of 1/2. But I'm not a fan of parmesan to begin with. The meal itself was very easy and quick to prepare but I will definitely tweak the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baking Powder Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
AWESOME! So much better thank Bisquick! I ran out of cream of tartar so I didn't use it but they still turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Almond Wedding Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
WOOOOW! Love this! I just started my home bakery and this cake will remain on the menu forever! lol Loved it and so does all of my customers! Perfect texture and so moist! You can play around with the flavors as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarajeanne86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Floral City, Florida, USA
Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These were easy, fast, and delicious! They make a great birthday present. My father, a self-proclaimed chocoholic, has been eating chocolate cookies for 50 years and he said these were the best chocolate cookies he has ever had. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolito14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fast and Easy Pancakes

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Followed directions exactly with the exception of the type of oil used. I used safflower oil instead of vegetable. Safflower has a higher burning point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I didn't have frozen spinach, but I had canned and it still came out GREAT! My husband said I need to make this once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

Italian Dressing Mix

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is a great base for a marinade! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is so good it should be for dessert! I baked the sweet potatoes instead of boiling them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

Lemon Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
too bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

Cranberry, Glazed Walnut, Orange, Avocado, and Blue Cheese Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is a delicious salad! I have been making a salad similar to this, however, I use feta cheese, fresh apple chunks, and Maple Grove Fat-Free Cranberry Balsamic Salad Dressing because I have been dieting. The madarin oranges really make it better I was wondering if Joy Chou has a recipe for Cranberry Dressing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucysm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Glenville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
OMG!! SO YUMMY! I followed the recipe as is and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States