Norwalk, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Uncle Wynn's Bread Machine Rye

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great recipe although I'm looking for some feedback on what setting I should have used for baking it in the machine. What's the "normal" setting on the machine...white? I used the French Bread setting but I was at a loss for what size loaf it should be - 1.0, 1.5 or 2.0? Also what crust to use - tried medium. Any advice out there? Tastes great but it came out looking a little scary but that could be I didn't have the correct settings and I am going to try less of the vital wheat gluten as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Yummy! Its like a chicken club salad with avocado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Avocado

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
So easy and so full of flavor. I liked a lot of the suggestions and look forward to making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer Cheese Fondue

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Easy, delicious cheese fondue recipe. The only thing I changed was adding more of the hot sauce to it. Loved the taste and texture. Highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mary's Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Wow! This is almost exactly how I make my meatloaf. I have never tried the brown sugar mixture on top, but I think I will next time I make meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made this tonight and I should have doubled the recipe for one pound of pasta. My turned out dry. I cooked the shrimp shells for a little broth and used the broth to stretch the sauce. I also cooked the shrimp with the butter and garlic and then removed them when they were cooked to add them back when the sauce was thicker. It was ok and I think I will try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
These are really good and always get compliments. But I doubled the recipe today and only got 58 cookies total. If I'd made them any smaller, there wouldn't have been enough cookie to balance the PB cup. I can't imagine trying to get 80 cookies out of a double recipe--they'd be tiny. Perhaps because they were bigger than the OP's, I baked mine for about 10 or 10 and a half minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I was going to a party and I decided to make this recipe. I tripled the recipe and made it the night before. It was such a hit at the party and everyone wanted the recipe. I made it tonight for my husband and his friend and they haven't stopped raving about it. I recommend it 100%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Flavor is good, creamy and delicious when I made it as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidzmom42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

Fried Broccoli

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
It's very delicious and easy to make. I added some parmesan to it and extra garlic. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was delicious and so easy! I took the advice of one reviewer and added the crushed red pepper and it really made the recipe pop. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Asparagus with Parmesan

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Delicious. I didn't change anything and it came out so tasty. Simple and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Cajun Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was so quick and easy and tasted amazing! Highly recommend this one. The combo of sweet and spicy was well balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fiesta Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a super easy meal to make and it was delicious. I added green chili to it as well as hot instead of medium salsa. I would serve it again and add jalapenos. I served it with a dollop of light sour cream and some shredded Mexican blend cheese. I recommend it for a night when you don't want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen but want a filling and flavorful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fast and Easy Spinach with Shallots

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Great recipe and so simple. Very tasty and a great side dish. Just served it with grilled salmon. Hubby said he would have it again soon :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This marinade was delicious. Definitely on the list for future grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Just made this in the crock pot today - delicious! A tad more liquid than I typically like but I'd just drain off a little of the diced tomato liquid. I might ramp up the Canjun and Cayenne a bit more - dish had heat but could use more. Easy prep so I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Deelicious! Even with Splenda replacing the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

Hummus Pizza

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This pizza was absolutely delicious! I made it with extra garlic and loaded on the veggies. I also used whole wheat pizza dough (from Trader Joe's). Excellent change from the usual pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was delicious and so easy! You can add so much to it and make it even better but it's just a great meal for the family. I used other reviewers suggestions and did the taco seasoning and added green chilis and wow, it just made it have so much more zing to it. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States