New Haven, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Caprese Salad with Grilled Flank Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This was amazing!!! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This dish was wonderful. Chicken was nice and moist. The honey mustard glaze and all the spices added to the chicken being nice and moist. Little spicy. Has a nice kick at the end. Spices blend nicely. I covered it for the first 30 minutes as it cooked. Then I flipped the chicken coat the chicken and cooked uncovered. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
An essential recipe in my household! It freezes well, so we make a quadruple batch. We throw in maybe 3 or 4 cloves of garlic instead of 1. Sauvignon Blanc is our favorite wine to use - just sweet enough (the wine here is replacing table sugar after all), not woody like chardonnays tend to be, and with a bright crisp citrus-like quality that works really well with the tomatoes. Right now I have a pot on the stove so I can use up a bottle of Chenin Blanc, and that seems to be working well too. This is a much fresher, more acidic taste than you get with prepared tomato sauces on the supermarket shelves, so you really only want to cook it 30 minutes or until the flavors blend. If you want something that tastes more like jarred sauce, I would look for a different recipe that has a 2-3 hour cook time and uses sugar instead of wine... though once you try this recipe, you may never want the other kind again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Gledhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Two Ton Bourbon Pecan Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
A little dry. I didn't pour the extra cup of bourbon over the top of the cake because I thought the flavor would be way too intense. Even just baked in, there was a lot of bourbon flavor. I only baked it for an hour and 10 minutes at the set temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
These cookies are addictive!! They just became my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice III

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was delicious and easy. I omitted the jalapenos so that my toddler would eat it, and it was still great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Seriously amazing. My daughter and I love these and you can't tell there's zucchini in them at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This recipe is tasty as-is, but my husband has a thing about soy sauce. I cut back the soy sauce to just a tablespoon, and I thought it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is just what I was looking for. The only change I made was to sprinkle some balsamic vinegar on top once everything was done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is so delicious. I use cod instead of tilapia because I try to avoid farmed fish. I think this recipe would work with any flaky white fish, though. It's very quick and easy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
So good and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I made these exactly as written. Was amazingly easy! I cut them small because of the sweetness. They were brought to a party and were devoured! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
What a great recipe! Surprisingly not too sweet after chilling. Good as written but also very adaptable to personal changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
What a great recipe! Surprisingly not too sweet after chilling. Good as written but also very adaptable to personal changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
You could skip the bread comes and instead combine 1/4 c. light mayo and 1/8 c. parmesan cheese. Spread evenly over the top side of the chicken breast. Last 3-4 minutes set oven to broil and DELISH. (rating based on recipe as is with no modifications.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todayz_Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta Fazul

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
It's a wonderful working class Italian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Adams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Comforting Carbonara Bubble Up

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've made this many times with red sauce, mini pepperoni,and mozzarella.This sounds different and delicious,and just as easy as the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Adams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I've made this dish many times and it always turns out excellent. The only change I've made is I only add 1 tbsp of sugar and use crushed or puréed tomatoes because I don't like the consistency of the diced variety at all. And I brown the chicken first, take it out of the pan and follow the recipe as is. I let it simmer uncovered and I find that it helps thicken the sauce and keeps it from being runny. You can add snap peas, potatoes and bell peppers, or whatever vegetable you like. This dish tastes better the next day. My ex, who is a very picky eater and loves Indian cuisine, loves this and asks me to make this all the time. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onedizzymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paleo Chorizo Sweet Potato and Kale Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Pretty good! I had to adjust the spices, and will probably leave out the saffron the next time as I feel like it overpowers the rest of the amazing flavors. I also added Sriracha, and used a curry blend instead of turmeric. Shredded carrots work great and add nicely to the consistency. I also left out one of the teaspoons of salt and would probably use low-sodium broth the next time I make this. The spices and lemon juice add a ton of flavor without needing excess salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paleo Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Really good! Different spicing than my usual chili but a nice change! I used a whole green, red, and orange pepper and omitted the chipotle chili and used ground dried chipotle chili powder instead. I also used a pound of chicken sausage to cut down on fat and the flavor was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States