Milford, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Just tried this recipe and I looove it! I was looking for a good chocolate chip cake for my daughter's birthday and liked the ingredients I saw. I used yellow cake mix & mini chips. I made cupcakes with it and they're so dense and moist! I omitted the sugar, used 1/2 cp oil and low fat sour cream. I tossed the mini choc chips in some of the dry cake mix to prevent them from falling to the bottom of the cupcakes. It worked great! I got 24 cupcakes & 1 mini loaf out of the recipe. I'll definitely be using this again! It will make great mni loaves to give as gifts! Can't wait to hear what my friends and family think of them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was awesome! My husband made some cole slaw to go with. The two together were perfect. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Mellie

Caprese on a Stick

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These were delicious and so easy. I only used 1/2 the amount of olive oil but drizzled some balsamic vinaigrette on them..... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Fantastic!! In my repertoire of healthy breakfast meals. Thank you!!. Has anyone tried making this the night before? When one of us is on a business trip and need to rush out extra early it would be nice to gulp down a glass. I'll try it a few times and report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbequed Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
UPDATE!! September 5, 2010 - I made these again this weekend. I usually don't make the same food so close together. But this was a special request from my husband who usually just eats what is put before him and I didn't think even knew what he was eating! Again, thanks for this one. July 27, 2010 WOW!! These were the best ribs I ever ever made. Thank you for making me look so good to my family and guests. I "owe" you one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Five Minute Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I replaced half the cream with unsweetened greek yogurt. I also cut the sugar in half. This was a great recipe that has me thinking of freezing a different fruit every night this week!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Danish Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this today along with my own Peach Cheese Cake. Your recipe inspired me to add nuts to my crust. Thanks for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brunch Strata

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Awesome!!! Perfect wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Thank you Judy for a great recipe. This is in my list of standards! I made this tonight. I had boneless, skinless chicken breasts and thighs. I saute'd 2 cloves of garlic with a skinned and seeded jalapeno pepper in some butter for just a few seconds to flavor the butter. I also added some sweet paprika to the bread crumb mix. 40 minutes in a 375 degree oven worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Pretty good I added a handful of chopped green bell pepper and it added great flavor. I increased the temperature to 375 and reduced the cooking time to about 20 minuits a side, then drained the liquid, and coated the pork chops in the marinade and broiled a couple minutes on each side to prevent the sauce from "sliding off" like many others commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These were great. I had a little bit of a flair up...the resulting char was deeeelish!! :) I did only blanche them for 2 minutes first. I also cooked them on a grill pan I have. Skewering them is a great way to get kids to try them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mellie

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Yummy! Made this with leftover Easter ham. I took some advise from previous reviews. Soaked beans over night and the next day drained, added fresh water and cooked about 2 hours before adding anything. I then added ham, carrots, celery, onion, garlic, dried mustard and bay leaves. I also took about a cup of beans and pureed them to make the sauce a bit thicker. It ws very good! I know because my husband said twice... "this is REALLY good"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

Pico De Gallo

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is a perfect starter for Pico. I add some balsamic vinegar, white vinegar and cucumbers (seeded). I also use half a bunch of cilantro. I use a red onion instead of white for the sharper taste. I make a large batch of this and add it to my families eggs in the morning, sandwiches for lunch and tonight I have some fresh shrimp and will add this to the shrimp with some steamed rice. Using this in place of canned (high salt) sandwich spreads saves money and is a healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Wow! My roast was only 3.75lbs. I only kept it in the oven at 500 for 9 minutes. Having a gas stove that is at least 12 years old I took the advise of a few other posters I turned the oven down to 175 (the lowest it would go) for another hour and a half. It came out perfect. Oh and if you don't have a clean oven...500 degrees will set off the smoke detector. Ugh. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Scallops Wrapped in Bacon

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Cabbage and Apples

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Wow. First I actually followed the recipe fully. I'm glad I did. This was great. Unfortunately...or fortunately I just found out after 8 years of marriage that my husband doesn't like cabbage!!! He ate the helping I gave him and said it was good. I'll absolutely make this again...but just for myself and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Krystal's Perfect Marinade for BBQ or Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Awesome marinade. I didn't have the sesame oil on hand and replaced it with red wine vinegar and it came out perfect. I made chicken and pineapple kabobs and used the marinade as a baste while grilling. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil and Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This soup was flavorful. I cooked in the slow cooker and it took forever for the lentils to get soft. It was ok the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Popper Spread

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I thought this was great, though I did slightly alter the recipe. I halved the recipe (just 2 of us, and this was still MORE than enough) and instead of using 1/2 cup of mayo, I used a tablespoon of light mayo and a tablespoon of light sour cream. My cream cheese wasn't softened, so I stuck it in the microwave for 45 seconds- everything mixed together smoothly. I also added a bit of shredded cheddar cheese to the top. We served it with tortilla chips and I had to take the dish away, for fear that my husband would eat almost an entire package of cream cheese in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Meatballs You'll Ever Have

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These came out fantastic! I just prepared these for tomorrow's dinner, but had to make a small one to taste. I was a little apprehensive about the yellow mustard, but it really complimented the flavors quite well. I cooked the meatballs in a cast iron skillet and will drop them in the sauce tomorrow, but really- these don't even need a sauce. Great addition to my recipe box! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States