Milford, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Fantastic!! In my repertoire of healthy breakfast meals. Thank you!!. Has anyone tried making this the night before? When one of us is on a business trip and need to rush out extra early it would be nice to gulp down a glass. I'll try it a few times and report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbequed Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
UPDATE!! September 5, 2010 - I made these again this weekend. I usually don't make the same food so close together. But this was a special request from my husband who usually just eats what is put before him and I didn't think even knew what he was eating! Again, thanks for this one. July 27, 2010 WOW!! These were the best ribs I ever ever made. Thank you for making me look so good to my family and guests. I "owe" you one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Five Minute Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I replaced half the cream with unsweetened greek yogurt. I also cut the sugar in half. This was a great recipe that has me thinking of freezing a different fruit every night this week!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Danish Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this today along with my own Peach Cheese Cake. Your recipe inspired me to add nuts to my crust. Thanks for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brunch Strata

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Awesome!!! Perfect wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Thank you Judy for a great recipe. This is in my list of standards! I made this tonight. I had boneless, skinless chicken breasts and thighs. I saute'd 2 cloves of garlic with a skinned and seeded jalapeno pepper in some butter for just a few seconds to flavor the butter. I also added some sweet paprika to the bread crumb mix. 40 minutes in a 375 degree oven worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Pretty good I added a handful of chopped green bell pepper and it added great flavor. I increased the temperature to 375 and reduced the cooking time to about 20 minuits a side, then drained the liquid, and coated the pork chops in the marinade and broiled a couple minutes on each side to prevent the sauce from "sliding off" like many others commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These were great. I had a little bit of a flair up...the resulting char was deeeelish!! :) I did only blanche them for 2 minutes first. I also cooked them on a grill pan I have. Skewering them is a great way to get kids to try them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mellie

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Yummy! Made this with leftover Easter ham. I took some advise from previous reviews. Soaked beans over night and the next day drained, added fresh water and cooked about 2 hours before adding anything. I then added ham, carrots, celery, onion, garlic, dried mustard and bay leaves. I also took about a cup of beans and pureed them to make the sauce a bit thicker. It ws very good! I know because my husband said twice... "this is REALLY good"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

Pico De Gallo

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is a perfect starter for Pico. I add some balsamic vinegar, white vinegar and cucumbers (seeded). I also use half a bunch of cilantro. I use a red onion instead of white for the sharper taste. I make a large batch of this and add it to my families eggs in the morning, sandwiches for lunch and tonight I have some fresh shrimp and will add this to the shrimp with some steamed rice. Using this in place of canned (high salt) sandwich spreads saves money and is a healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Wow! My roast was only 3.75lbs. I only kept it in the oven at 500 for 9 minutes. Having a gas stove that is at least 12 years old I took the advise of a few other posters I turned the oven down to 175 (the lowest it would go) for another hour and a half. It came out perfect. Oh and if you don't have a clean oven...500 degrees will set off the smoke detector. Ugh. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Scallops Wrapped in Bacon

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Cabbage and Apples

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Wow. First I actually followed the recipe fully. I'm glad I did. This was great. Unfortunately...or fortunately I just found out after 8 years of marriage that my husband doesn't like cabbage!!! He ate the helping I gave him and said it was good. I'll absolutely make this again...but just for myself and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Krystal's Perfect Marinade for BBQ or Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Awesome marinade. I didn't have the sesame oil on hand and replaced it with red wine vinegar and it came out perfect. I made chicken and pineapple kabobs and used the marinade as a baste while grilling. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil and Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This soup was flavorful. I cooked in the slow cooker and it took forever for the lentils to get soft. It was ok the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Popper Spread

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I thought this was great, though I did slightly alter the recipe. I halved the recipe (just 2 of us, and this was still MORE than enough) and instead of using 1/2 cup of mayo, I used a tablespoon of light mayo and a tablespoon of light sour cream. My cream cheese wasn't softened, so I stuck it in the microwave for 45 seconds- everything mixed together smoothly. I also added a bit of shredded cheddar cheese to the top. We served it with tortilla chips and I had to take the dish away, for fear that my husband would eat almost an entire package of cream cheese in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Meatballs You'll Ever Have

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These came out fantastic! I just prepared these for tomorrow's dinner, but had to make a small one to taste. I was a little apprehensive about the yellow mustard, but it really complimented the flavors quite well. I cooked the meatballs in a cast iron skillet and will drop them in the sauce tomorrow, but really- these don't even need a sauce. Great addition to my recipe box! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My broth came out more around a 3 star, but I have a feeling that was because I added too much liquid. However, with a bit of bouillon this is definitely 4 star. I think it could be 5 star if left to cook even longer. I used a whole fryer chicken (raw), an onion, 2 carrots (I would omit these next time- the broth came out a bit sweet), 3 celery stalks, 1/2 tspn of basil, a pinch of dried thyme, and salt/pepper. I used about 6 cups of water and 2 cups of store bought chicken broth that I had in the fridge (this brought the liquid line to about 3/4 up the chicken). After 8 hours of cooking though I had to give in and add 1 tspn of bullion (granted, this is not a ton, equivalent of 1 cup of bought broth). I'm not sure if the problem was with the chicken or liquid amounts, but with just that one tspn of bullion the broth is extremely flavorful and rich. We're making chicken and dumplings out of it in about an hour and looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made this as a 'pre-Thanksgiving' meal when I learned our Thanksgiving hosts would not be serving the traditional turkey dinner. I listened to the other reviews and added chicken broth to the roasting pan to ensure that the garlic didn't burn. I served the hens with purple fingerling potatoes, asparagus, and a spinach/bacon salad. The meal was a hit and everyone enjoyed the hens. For purchasing reference- the males each ate a whole hen, and the females ate a 1/2 hen a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These cookies are very tasty, but mine didn't come out like the picture. The jelly bled into the dough and the cookes looked like blood shot eyes. So other than the appearance- and was going to give them as gifts, they had to use for the family- they didn't mind thou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States