Milford, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I'm eating this as I type, it is sooooooo delicious! My 17 yr old brother and my husband both described it as delicious. I didn't have root beer so like a previous poster I used regular beer and it turned out awesome. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Pie IV

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My dad used to swipe pineapple from the officers mess on his destroyer. I made this for him for Fathers day. I read the recipe and thought, wow thats a lot of sugar. Cut it back to one cup, nothing to think about. Still plenty sweet. Waiting for it to get cold, now. Good thing I made two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dave
Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this recipe. I did add just a few chopped, slices of jalapeños to the meatloaf since we usually eat spicy food in our home. I cooked the meatloaf for an hour on 350f. It was not fully cooked. I cooked it again for another half an hour and it was fully done. It was a little moist for my taste but overall, it was a good, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Very good and simple! I forgot the sugar because I did the recipe off of the top of my head after I read it. My fault. It was a little salty (because of my error) but so delicious! Next time there will be no forgetting the sugar haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

Hamburger Pie

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I made this recipe tonight. My husband and I prefer spicy food, so I diced eight already sliced jalapeños. I then added instead of JUST green beans, a mixture of frozen peas, carrots and green beans. Also, like other users have suggested, I used mushroom soup instead of tomato. Beautiful. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Just made these for National Pancake Week. Very easy and very good. Fluffy and light. I thought I'd have some leftover for later this week, but my husband and I decided that we should honor this day by finishing the entire batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Masala-Spiced Roast Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Keeping to my New Years resolution to follow a recipe 100% the first time I try it (though there are ways around that rule). I just made the chicken and I'm very impressed. I had to make my own Garam Masala as I didn't have any pre-made. This was a very educational process. Just look at the number of Garam Masala recipes on this site alone. I chose one and loved the results. Those folks that didn't like this recipe should do some research on how to make your own. The variations of ingredients mean that every time you make this recipe it can taste different from the last time you made it. I'm going to use variations on more chicken, shrimp, talapia, etc. I think this recipe is a true winner for how easy it is to make, yet how complex the flavors can be with some effort. Thank you Countess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mellie

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I thought this was awesome!! Very flavorful and moist! I will be making this again! And I am going to make chicken soup with the leftovers. I think with the spices and all it wil be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We served this at Christmas Dinner and it was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Soup Gratinee

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Fantastic! I made this tonight. I was determined to follow the recipe exactly because of the rave reviews and number of saves. Unfortunately I was out of Thyme of all things. I used Tarragon instead..not the best choice but it still came out fantastic. I'll make this again and again. Note: This soup takes 10 minutes to cool enough to be eaten without getting second degree burns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Great recipe Very flavorful and easy. I too cut back on cream cheese to 6 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I tried this recipe and the flavor was awesome. I did not however have the consistency that the recipe said I would to cut up into bars. The apples did not stick to the crust and falling all over and the crust stuck to the pan. Not sure how I failed this. But, I will try again because the ingredients together were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I rated this a 4 because I think mine is better. :) http://allrecipes.com/CustomRecipe/62445685/Pico-De-Gallo-With-Beans-and-Corn/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Free Strawberry Jiffy Jam

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Very good but sweet. Use plain gelatin instead of jello. A little lemon will enhance the strawberry flavor. If the berries aren't that sweet add just 1/8 to 1/4 cup sugar to sweeten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pico De Gallo With Beans and Corn

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is a perfect starter for Pico. I add some balsamic vinegar, white vinegar and cucumbers (seeded). I also use half a bunch of cilantro. I use a red onion instead of white for the sharper taste. I make a large batch of this and add it to my families eggs in the morning, sandwiches for lunch and tonight I have some fresh shrimp and will add this to the shrimp with some steamed rice. Using this in place of canned (high salt) sandwich spreads saves money and is a healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Oven Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Just made this. I didn't have any bread crumbs for the first time in 10 years so I used crushed corn flakes. I also used a whole chicken that I cut up and skinned. I split the browning part up into two batches to not crowd the pan. I used about two tablespoons of olive oil for the first batch....not enough and the pan was not hot enough. Half the batter fell off. I upped the heat and oil for the 2nd batch and it seemed to work much better. The problem was that wherever I tried to touch the chicken the batter fell off. It still came out delicious. I'm going to half to try this a few times to get the batter sticking issue fixed. I may try an egg or two the next time around. I have a question for anyone to answer: Does anyone else freeze the marinade and bread crumb mix for the next batch? I've been doing that for years and haven't had a problem. If I had raw meet in it I put the expiration date the same as I would for whatever meat I marinaded in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mint Cake Squares

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I made these last night. Very simple. Very good. I wanted to follow the recipe very badly...unfortunately I "sampled" the Creme de menthe. It was just strong enough that when I "sampled" the Mint layer I couldn't taste enough mint...so I added more. Tasting the completed effort today without any prior sampling was a surprise of the extra minty flavor. A little too much, but entirely my fault!! Next time I'll try not to cook like Julia Childs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Just tried this recipe and I looove it! I was looking for a good chocolate chip cake for my daughter's birthday and liked the ingredients I saw. I used yellow cake mix & mini chips. I made cupcakes with it and they're so dense and moist! I omitted the sugar, used 1/2 cp oil and low fat sour cream. I tossed the mini choc chips in some of the dry cake mix to prevent them from falling to the bottom of the cupcakes. It worked great! I got 24 cupcakes & 1 mini loaf out of the recipe. I'll definitely be using this again! It will make great mni loaves to give as gifts! Can't wait to hear what my friends and family think of them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was awesome! My husband made some cole slaw to go with. The two together were perfect. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Mellie

Caprese on a Stick

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These were delicious and so easy. I only used 1/2 the amount of olive oil but drizzled some balsamic vinaigrette on them..... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States