Milford, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by msgalfriend

Scones

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are so delicious I can't believe how yummy they are. Instead of 1 cup milk I to used 1/2 cup of 1% low fat milk with 1/2 cup of fat free half n half, and I also added chocolate chips. For the finishing touch before the oven I spread the scones with egg and sprinkled with sugar. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Photo by msgalfriend

Orange-Pecan Pork Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Used apricot marmalade instead and it still came out tasty but I do agree, careful of the cook time cause you can easily dry out the meat. I would suggest to limit the cooking time just a bit. While resting the meat still cooks without being in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Photo by msgalfriend

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Simple to make and very delicious to eat. The only change I made (cause I didn't have salted butter) was I used unsalted butter and from what I can tell, there could be no difference. Oh and one more thing.... NO MORE BOXED PANCAKE MIX!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Photo by msgalfriend

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This cake is to DIE for!!! Its fantastic, moist, delicious, a chocolate lovers dream come true!!! I followed the directions as is and I would so make this over and over thats how awesome this cake was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Photo by msgalfriend

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Perfect!!! With or without mushrooms you can't go wrong. The recipe is perfect to the T!! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

Reindeer Poop

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made this candy for Christmas Eve and it was a big hit with my family. It tastes just like a Mr. Goodbar. It was very easy to prepare as you literally just throw everything into the crock pot and leave it for a couple hours. But be aware that this recipe makes A LOT of candy! I had two heaping plates full to bring with me at Christmas. Luckily everyone wanted to take some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Bowl Chocolate Fudge

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This fudge turned out SO well! It literally took five minutes to make and then you just stick it in the fridge and forget about it for a few hours. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This quiche came out fabulous and was a big hit at Christmas. I skipped the onion and just added a little onion powder in for flavor. I definitely did NOT use a whole package of spinach either - about half the package was more than enough. It turned out great and was even better for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Garlic Knots

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
So easy to make and a wonderful side dish! I threw these together quickly while making food for Christmas Eve and they were ready in no time. The pre-made breadstick dough made my life a thousand times easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I brought these cookies to work with me at Christmas and they were a HUGE hit among my students and the other teachers. I iced them with an almond flavored icing recipe found on this site. They turned out nice and soft and even stayed that way after spending the night in the fridge (had other cookies on the platter that needed to stay cool). I would recommend chilling the dough in the fridge for AT LEAST 2 hours before rolling it out, it was not ready after only an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Potato Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This wasn't too difficult to make, and the cake turned out just as it was supposed to, but I did not enjoy the flavor like I thought I would. Maybe it was the spices used but it did not taste how I expected it to. Like I said, it looked just like the picture and came out to a perfect texture, but it just didn't taste good :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Anisette Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These cookies turned out great for Christmas. It was my first time making them but they were so easy to make and really enjoyable. Next time I think I will ease up on the anise for the icing because it was almost too strong of a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
this icing turned out really nice, and the almond flavor worked really well with sugar cookies. But if you are making a lot of cookies, I would make a LOT more of this icing, as this recipe does not yield a lot of icing. I would say if you want to make icing in different colors, make this amount for EACH color. I made about 4-5 dozen cookies to bring to work with me at Christmas and needed triple the amount of icing that I got from following this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msgalfriend

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
DELICIOUS!!! The more you let it sit after making it the thickness slowly develops into this tasty soup with a hint of "something" that people would never guess its the pumpkin. Also, I didn't use sherry wine but instead I used a 1 tsp of rice vinegar and it came out just fine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These cookies are SO addictive! I've had them before and needed to try making them myself for Thanksgiving. I followed the recipe exactly except I left out the cloves because they were SO expensive at the grocery store. It didn't matter because they turned out incredible. The icing was very strong so I might cut back on the vanilla next time but I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This soda bread turned out wonderful. It was my first time making one. I followed the recipe exactly, but cooked it at 350 for about 50 minutes. It wasn't the sweetest bread and actually tasted more like a biscuit but it was SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was a great soup! Did a very simple version of it - cubed chicken, gnocchi, and some chopped broccoli in chicken broth with some onion salt and pepper. The chicken was a little bland so I will have to season it better next time, but this was a very quick and easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
wow! Perfect recipe. Thanks for the following tips: chilled mixing bowl, room temp cream cheese, and confectioner's sugar. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Pitaniello

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Puffs

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
These turned out pretty well. I made a lot of changes. I shredded 2 chicken breasts instead of cubing them and used 8 oz of onion & chive cream cheese. I didn't use any butter, but added a little bit of milk to the cream cheese to make it stirrable. I also added a little bit of garlic powder to the dough for flavor. They needed about 22-24 minutes to brown, and probably could've even stayed in longer. Overall they had an odd taste, but the flavor of the chicken was still noticeable, which is what I had hoped for. Overall, not great, but decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Broccoli Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Delicious! Made just one change - used a cup of shredded cheddar cheese and a little bit of mozzarella as a substitute for the swiss. I just wish I left the broccoli to thaw for a little longer because it didn't turn out very soft. This was my first time making quiche and overall it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States