Manchester, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Ever Spinach Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I made this for a get together last week and it was very good! But I was hoping it would taste as good as the kinds I have had in resturants, but it seemed to be lacking in something. can't put my finger on it, but it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gilbert-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pro Ganache

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I was asked to make a 6" Hostess cupcake replica and I used this as the frosting and I got so many compliments and everyone just loved it! I let the mixture cool just enough so it would cover smoothly but not drip too much. for the spare cupcakes I had, I dipped the tops in the ganache. The cake and cupcakes really did look professional and they were really shiny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gilbert-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Caramel

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This caramel was PERFECT for making filled chocolates! I only used approx. 2/3 cup of corn syrup(All I had left!) and let it get to about 250 degrees. I let it set overnight and made the chocolates the next day. So delicious! I will DEFINATELY be making this again! One suggestion though- butter only the sides of the pan and place parchment paper on the bottom- You won't have a problem with it sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gilbert-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
LOVED IT! I took some of the advice from other reviewers and waited to add the peanuts at 250 deg.(Not one scortched peanut!), cooked it to 305 deg. and added 1 tsp vanilla. It was so easy! I also couldn't wait to try it so I popped it in the frezzer for about 20 min. until it cooled off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gilbert-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puff Pastry Roll

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This dish is simple to make and very delicious. If you have leftovers they're even great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Glazed Ribs

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I have never had good success cooking ribs, that is until now. My family ate this up quick. The only change I made was using fresh squeezed orange juice in place of concentrate. I put in one extra tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Corn Bread You'll Ever Eat

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Just tried this recipe and I have to say my friend and I didn't really care for it. It left an odd flavor in my mouth. After I tried it I went back to make sure all of my ingredients were fresh and to make sure I hadn't ommited anything. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gilbert-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I LOVED This soup! It was better than I had expected and so so easy! I'm actually heating it up in the crock pot now for a friend that's coming over- I'm sure she'll love it too! Make this soup! Does anyone have the taco seaoning recipe that Patti suggested to use? I can't find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gilbert-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I made the cookies as written except used only 2 cups flour. The cookies were quite cakey and after the first batch, I flattened them with my fingers. They were a bit better, if not better looking. Nothing is better than a good cookie with a glass of cold milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
My family raved at how good these were. I have been trying to get "the" cinnamon roll recipe, and this is it. I did add 1/2 cup more flour than in recipe though, probably from humidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I made no changes other than doubling sauce. I took a poll of the family and 5 out of 6 want it again, and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Very, very good!! I used half fresh blackberries and half frozen blueberries. I also used butter. Unbelieveable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cobb Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I am giving this recipe 5 stars because my husband absolutely loved it as is. I also didn't have to put everything in it that the kids didn't like. It is very versatile and tasty. I used buffalo chicken tenders for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Zucchini Cake I

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This is a very moist cake!! I love heavier and moist cakes and this fits the bill. The only change I made was adding 1/2 cup chocolate chips to the batter and sprinkling with 1/2 cup chips on top along with 1/2 cup pecans. My boys really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Style Chicken Pizza

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I thought this was quite good except it has too much dressing on for my taste. I think that a little more than half would be better. Only one of my four children liked it, but my husband and I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I cooked meat with half an onion and added a bit of worcestershire sauce and a variety of spices. My children do not like green beans so I added corn and half a tomato, chopped. I only used 1 can of soup and topped the mashed potatoes with cheese, then cooked covered. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Urban Legend Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I have made these many times in the past, each time very delicious! I had lost my copy and was happy to find it on this website. I took another person's suggestion and did't grate the candy bar, but smashed it with a mallet. Much quicker and less mess this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Chicken III

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Very versatile recipe in that you can use whatever spices you like. Very tasty, but 45 minutes is definitely not enough time. I cooked our drumsticks for 1 hour and still was undercooked. I will try again and add another 15 minutes or take other people's advice and cook at a higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Most of my family did not care for this too much. I enjoyed it, but it was a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I had started to combine ingredients for this cake and realized that I only had 1/2 cup sour cream. So I decided to make up the difference with 2 flavored yogurts since that was all that I had. It turned out very good without tasting fruity at all. Very moist and not at all wet like other reviewers have described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States