Manchester, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Bar Fondue

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Unbelieveably good!! I did not add the water or coffee. Other than that, prepared as written. Served with strawberries, bananas, marshmallows, pound cake, and pretzels. It does make a lot. We had 11 people and still have quite a bit left over. What a shame to have yummy leftovers for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oranged Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This was the best tasting homemade Cranberry Sause I've ever tasted and it was a hit! at our last Thanksgiving. I will definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
The recipe really says it all! I did use the 2 sticks of butter & doubled both the baking soda and vanilla as suggested by others. They were great right out of the oven w/ the extra butter, but the next day the butter flavor seemed a little too much for me, so next time I'll use 1 & 3/4 STICKS of butter(14 Tablespoons). By far the BEST chocolate chip cookie I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Spinach Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I made this for a get together last week and it was very good! But I was hoping it would taste as good as the kinds I have had in resturants, but it seemed to be lacking in something. can't put my finger on it, but it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pro Ganache

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I was asked to make a 6" Hostess cupcake replica and I used this as the frosting and I got so many compliments and everyone just loved it! I let the mixture cool just enough so it would cover smoothly but not drip too much. for the spare cupcakes I had, I dipped the tops in the ganache. The cake and cupcakes really did look professional and they were really shiny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Caramel

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This caramel was PERFECT for making filled chocolates! I only used approx. 2/3 cup of corn syrup(All I had left!) and let it get to about 250 degrees. I let it set overnight and made the chocolates the next day. So delicious! I will DEFINATELY be making this again! One suggestion though- butter only the sides of the pan and place parchment paper on the bottom- You won't have a problem with it sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
LOVED IT! I took some of the advice from other reviewers and waited to add the peanuts at 250 deg.(Not one scortched peanut!), cooked it to 305 deg. and added 1 tsp vanilla. It was so easy! I also couldn't wait to try it so I popped it in the frezzer for about 20 min. until it cooled off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puff Pastry Roll

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This dish is simple to make and very delicious. If you have leftovers they're even great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Glazed Ribs

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I have never had good success cooking ribs, that is until now. My family ate this up quick. The only change I made was using fresh squeezed orange juice in place of concentrate. I put in one extra tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Corn Bread You'll Ever Eat

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Just tried this recipe and I have to say my friend and I didn't really care for it. It left an odd flavor in my mouth. After I tried it I went back to make sure all of my ingredients were fresh and to make sure I hadn't ommited anything. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I LOVED This soup! It was better than I had expected and so so easy! I'm actually heating it up in the crock pot now for a friend that's coming over- I'm sure she'll love it too! Make this soup! Does anyone have the taco seaoning recipe that Patti suggested to use? I can't find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I made the cookies as written except used only 2 cups flour. The cookies were quite cakey and after the first batch, I flattened them with my fingers. They were a bit better, if not better looking. Nothing is better than a good cookie with a glass of cold milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
My family raved at how good these were. I have been trying to get "the" cinnamon roll recipe, and this is it. I did add 1/2 cup more flour than in recipe though, probably from humidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I made no changes other than doubling sauce. I took a poll of the family and 5 out of 6 want it again, and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Very, very good!! I used half fresh blackberries and half frozen blueberries. I also used butter. Unbelieveable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cobb Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I am giving this recipe 5 stars because my husband absolutely loved it as is. I also didn't have to put everything in it that the kids didn't like. It is very versatile and tasty. I used buffalo chicken tenders for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Zucchini Cake I

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This is a very moist cake!! I love heavier and moist cakes and this fits the bill. The only change I made was adding 1/2 cup chocolate chips to the batter and sprinkling with 1/2 cup chips on top along with 1/2 cup pecans. My boys really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Style Chicken Pizza

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I thought this was quite good except it has too much dressing on for my taste. I think that a little more than half would be better. Only one of my four children liked it, but my husband and I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I cooked meat with half an onion and added a bit of worcestershire sauce and a variety of spices. My children do not like green beans so I added corn and half a tomato, chopped. I only used 1 can of soup and topped the mashed potatoes with cheese, then cooked covered. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Urban Legend Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I have made these many times in the past, each time very delicious! I had lost my copy and was happy to find it on this website. I took another person's suggestion and did't grate the candy bar, but smashed it with a mallet. Much quicker and less mess this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States