Manchester, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hearty Beef Stew

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is a keeper! I wasn't a huge fan of beef stew UNITL I tried this recipe. I add a pkt of Lipton's dry onion soup, more of the vegetables and 3 - 14oz cans of beef broth instead of 2cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
These were everything I thought they would be after all the great reviews! I made the recipe as stated, split the batter and made 1/2 the batch w/ mini chocolate chips and 1/2 with Peanut butter chips(Honestly the Choc. Chips ones disappeared WAY faster than the PB ones!) If you have kids or you love s'mores, try adding in cut up mini marshmallows, chocolate chips and small pieces of graham crackers- YUMMY! Don't forget to not play with the dough too much!...had to come back to add this in: I made some last night with a mix of frozen berries, and made a glaze with confectioners sugar and Cruzan mango rum- SO GOOD! I also made a paste with cinnamon, sugar and melted butter, pressed the dough out thin and ten spread the paste over the dough. I then folded the edges in to form it into the circle to cut the slices. I made a glaze for those w/ milk and conf. sugar. They were perfect! a great replacement for cinnamon rolls :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Frozen Margaritas

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This is a great recipe I didn't change anything they do taste like a restaurant version :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Rader
Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Cheesecakes I

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
These were so easy to make and SO delicious! After htey were prepared, I used a canned apple pie filling(I chopped the apples up into smaller pieces)and spooned some on top. I then melted some caramel and drizzled it on top. They were unbelievable! On the other half of the batch I put strawberry preserves. The caramel apple ones were the best by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Steak Rub

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This steak was SO much better than I had imagined! The great reviews forced me into it LOL. I didn't really measure any thing- I just drizzled the syrup, rubbed it on both sides, then followed by sprinkling the seasoned salt, pepper and crushed garlicand rubbed that in on both sides. Someone suggested that you should not use pancake syrup, but that's what I used and it still came out great(although next time I will try to get the real thing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pignoli Cookies I

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
the is the very very best pignoli cookies I have every made. Very,very,very easy. Very,very,very best ever.DONOT use egg whites from a box.This last time that's what I used. What a disaster!!!!They spread out so large(3") and did not cook.Stuck to pan. Had to soak pans and cookies in hot water and soap.W#ent back too real eggs and guess what????Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I thought this was very good. I did everything as in recipe. Next time, I will put in more parmesan and cut down a little on the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ramen Coleslaw

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I thought this was very good. Even my picky 7 year old who doesn't enjoy salads too much really liked it. That feat alone gives this recipe 5 stars. The only thing I did differently was to use apple cider vinegar in place of the white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheesy Nachos

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
My children loved this! I used a jar of tostitos queso in place of the velveeta. I did not use fresh tomatoes but sprinkled a bit of chopped onion on each. Very simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Dill Carrots

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
A great side dish with no fuss. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Cream Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I used almonds instead of pecans. Outstanding cake, moist and rich. We served leftover glaze warm on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen Elizabeth Locke

White Chocolate Gorp

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was AWESOME! I made this for a Pine Derby Scouting event bake sale that I helped to organise. Real easy so kid friendly!!! Its a keeper!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Elizabeth Locke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Southwick, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Newport Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Excellent!! I used 3 cans of vegetable broth for the clam juice and 4 cans of clams instead of fresh. I also added some celery and instead of butter, I fried up some chopped up bacon to cook the onion and celery in. I used 2 cups cream with one cup milk. Great chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skillet Chops with Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Wonderful recipe, I changed nothing. I served this to a few people who don't care for mushrooms or gravy and they raved about the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Adam's Dirt Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My cookies turned out flatter than a hockey puck! I gave it a 4 star rating though because I had the best time with my 5 yr old son making these.Hummmm wait a minute! Could this be why they tasted a little salty too?LOl Thanks anyhoo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Elizabeth Locke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Southwick, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Oatmeal II

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I had not heard of baked oatmeal before coming across this recipe. I had no idea how it was supposed to turn out, but it was outstanding. What a nice change in eating my daily oatmeal. In fact my husband has already asked for more tomorrow. My daughter even liked it, after she fished out the cranberries. I used half butter/ half applesauce and 3/4 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Unbelievably good!! This got eaten up really quick by my somewhat picky four children. That feat alone gives this recipe 5 stars!! Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy!

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This is the first and last jerkey recipe that I will use! We did make a minor adjustment to the recipe though. Pineapple juice concentrate is 1 of the main ingredients in terriyaki sauce, so we didn't feel like we needed to add the extra juice that it called for. Otherwise we followed the recipe as stated and it came out unbelievable! We were going to follow our dehydrator's insructions and dehydrate for 1-2 days(Ronco 5 tray), but it was done WAY before that, so we will def follow the suggested drying time here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Cheese Quiche

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This was just Fantastic! I made this for the first ever quiche I have made and I must say I made it TWICE in one week!! I only changed one thing and that was the amount of spinach I simply added more approx to 1 c. YUMMO!!ps I used a frozen 9 in deep dish pre fab pie shell . Thank you Judy for this lifelong family quiche recipie that my 9 & 5 yr old sons love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Elizabeth Locke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Southwick, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Big hit with the children and our company!! We ended up dipping french bread and granny smith apples. What a lot of fun. Brought back lots of memories of the 70's when I was a kid and used a fondue pot some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States