Manchester, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pistachio Cake III

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
The pistachio cake recipies I have seen here seem to all mention one problem colapsing.I have found a very simple way to make this cake is to use one box of instant cake mix, one package of pistachio pudding(instant) one small container of sour cream and two eggs. Make sure you grease and flour the bundt pan. I also usualy bake at 300. For frosting use another package of the pistachio pudding and a pint of heavy wipping cream, whip this into a frosting and you are good to go. You can change up and add other ingredients as you wish such as chocolate chips and cherries. Ive also changed the cake and puddng mixes to make other flavors. I also reccomend making double the frosting because it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I had a Mardi Gras party this past weekend & everyone LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyceRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham Bone Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this soup not really expecting much. Boy were we pleasantly surprised. I added 3 bay leaves, more potatoes, 2 celery ribs and a can of rotel tomatoes. I also put in two extra cups of water accidentally along with left over mashed potatoes and tomato soup. It was unbelieveably good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creme Brulee French Toast

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I like the idea of prepping the night before. Everyone enjoyed the dish prepare to the recipe even picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I loved this! I had a serious craving for this childhood favorite and was quite pleased. I did have to change it according to what i had on hand. In place of the cond. soup I used Dry Onion Soup mix with 1 cup of water. And since I did't have the cond. soup I couldn't make the sauce. I ended up using a packet of brown gravy mix(prepared as directed om the mix)It was SO good and I KNOW I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Pumpkin Muffins with Orange Drizzle

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I really enjoyed these. I added approx. 1/8 tsp of all spice to the flour mixture to give it a little more spice. I have a convection oven so I had to bake them at 400 F. I made 2 different glazes: one with confectioners sugar and grand marnier and one with confectioners sugar and orange juice. I preferred the orange juice glaze- the one with grand marnier was a little too strong for the pumpkin flavor. Just a tip: Always sift the confectioners sugar before making a glaze- it will always come out smooth. But if there's lumps in the sifter afterwards, don't force them to go through, just throw them out. It can give you specks through out the glaze. I still feel like the batter could use a few more spices, so next time I will add some pupkin pie spice to the mixture. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Swirl Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was a great bread to make when you're craving something with cinnamon and sugar but don't feel like running out to the store! It was really good and I will definately make it again, but I think I will have to tinker with it a bit to get exactly what I'm looking for. A great midday snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was really yummy! Who doesn't love a warm apple crisp with vanilla ice cream? I doubled the crumble mixture, but didn't quite use all of it, but it was still worth it! The only change I will make is to use less sugar next time because it was a little too sweet than I would normally like it, but still a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Anniversary Chicken I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Great Chicken recipe-Although I was quite skeptical about putting terryaki sauce and ranch dressing together, I tried it anyways! My boyfreind is the pickiest person on the planet, so I refused to tell him what was in it until he finished his meal(apporx. 3 min later!) He loved it & now requests it all the time. We always serve it with garlic mashed potatoes and a veggie- a great meal for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I absolutely cannot get enough of this soup! I've been making it for about 2 years now and it is just awesome! I always end up using less milk than it calls for becuase I'm afraid it will get too liquidy and I like it to be a little thicker than regular soup. I always serve topped with shredded Cheddar, sourcream, fresh chives, and crispy bacon...mmm mmmm! I can't wait to make it again! Definately worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Loved it- a truly warm and filling soup when you don't feel well and need a little tlc! I have made this countless times now and have never had a bad batch. I season the chicken very lightly with seasoning salt, black pepper, garlic powder, and Adobo seasoning before frying a pan with 1 TBS of Olive oil until no longer pink. I don't think I have ever actually measured the veggies, I just add them until I think it will be enough! *I use the garlic and herb Chicken broth and you just cannot go wrong!! I have also used the veggie chicken broth and it came out great as well. However if you use these, DO NOT add salt! Definitely a recipe I will contine to use forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Amazing! This is so ceramy and delicious! As did other reveiwers, I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the crust to give it more flavor. Instead of placing the pan directly in a water bath, I placed a pan of water on the shelf below the cheesecake in the oven and it worked out perfectly, as suggested. I served mine with an apple pie filling spooned on, then drizzled with melted caramel- It was sooo yummy! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nacho Cheese Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I followed all directions as stated and it just wasn't exactly waht I was looking for. I even tried adding some different cheeses and salt and hot sauce and who knows what else by the end! But I'd have to say I'll keep searching for a different one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
It wasn't as good as I had hoped, because it sounded delicious! It was a too dry for my and my boyfriend's taste, but my friend enjoyed it(Or so he said!) I'll try a different recipe before I revisit this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
So Good! I used a large block of mozzerella and cut into 1/4" slices, then cut them in half to make triangles. I followed the rest of the directions and they were delicious with jarred marinara simmered with fresh basil and sprinkled with parmasean cheese. Tasted better than most restuarants fried mozzerella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Beef Stew

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is a keeper! I wasn't a huge fan of beef stew UNITL I tried this recipe. I add a pkt of Lipton's dry onion soup, more of the vegetables and 3 - 14oz cans of beef broth instead of 2cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
These were everything I thought they would be after all the great reviews! I made the recipe as stated, split the batter and made 1/2 the batch w/ mini chocolate chips and 1/2 with Peanut butter chips(Honestly the Choc. Chips ones disappeared WAY faster than the PB ones!) If you have kids or you love s'mores, try adding in cut up mini marshmallows, chocolate chips and small pieces of graham crackers- YUMMY! Don't forget to not play with the dough too much!...had to come back to add this in: I made some last night with a mix of frozen berries, and made a glaze with confectioners sugar and Cruzan mango rum- SO GOOD! I also made a paste with cinnamon, sugar and melted butter, pressed the dough out thin and ten spread the paste over the dough. I then folded the edges in to form it into the circle to cut the slices. I made a glaze for those w/ milk and conf. sugar. They were perfect! a great replacement for cinnamon rolls :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Cheesecakes I

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
These were so easy to make and SO delicious! After htey were prepared, I used a canned apple pie filling(I chopped the apples up into smaller pieces)and spooned some on top. I then melted some caramel and drizzled it on top. They were unbelievable! On the other half of the batch I put strawberry preserves. The caramel apple ones were the best by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Steak Rub

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This steak was SO much better than I had imagined! The great reviews forced me into it LOL. I didn't really measure any thing- I just drizzled the syrup, rubbed it on both sides, then followed by sprinkling the seasoned salt, pepper and crushed garlicand rubbed that in on both sides. Someone suggested that you should not use pancake syrup, but that's what I used and it still came out great(although next time I will try to get the real thing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pignoli Cookies I

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
the is the very very best pignoli cookies I have every made. Very,very,very easy. Very,very,very best ever.DONOT use egg whites from a box.This last time that's what I used. What a disaster!!!!They spread out so large(3") and did not cook.Stuck to pan. Had to soak pans and cookies in hot water and soap.W#ent back too real eggs and guess what????Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States