Manchester, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Vanilla Crepes

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I came onto allrecipes and this was the front page. I immediately had a craving for crepes and decided why not! I followed other's suggestions and sifted the flour and had no issues with lumps, increased the milk to 1 3/4 cups to make the batter thinner, and I used 4 tablespoons of butter and had no issues with them coming out greasy. They came out very tasty, served with butter and powdered sugar, vermont maple syrup, fresh musk melon and baked ham. I was pretty satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohcoconut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Piccata II

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I have been looking to recreate chicken piccata, and under the influence of all the positive ratings i followed suit. I now make it all the time, using this recipe. It's easy and wonderful. In terms of change, mine are minimal- I do as other reviewers have suggested and pound the chicken thin, then coat in egg and flour twice. Very good. I add extra lemon but that's my own personal obsession! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohcoconut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I was told about this recipe from a coworker about two years ago and I absolutely love it. It is wonderful. I first followed the recipe exactly, but I now make it following previous suggestions with just one can of water and one can of the mushroom soup and the dry onion packet, and it is still awesome. I add chopped carrots, potatoes, pearl onions, and chopped celery - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohcoconut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Corned Beef

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was just the best corned beef recipe! I always made mine boiled the traditional way but since last year I have only made it this way!!! AWESOME every time!!! I still boil my veggies with the season package the croned beef came with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Elizabeth Locke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Southwick, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pistachio Cake III

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
The pistachio cake recipies I have seen here seem to all mention one problem colapsing.I have found a very simple way to make this cake is to use one box of instant cake mix, one package of pistachio pudding(instant) one small container of sour cream and two eggs. Make sure you grease and flour the bundt pan. I also usualy bake at 300. For frosting use another package of the pistachio pudding and a pint of heavy wipping cream, whip this into a frosting and you are good to go. You can change up and add other ingredients as you wish such as chocolate chips and cherries. Ive also changed the cake and puddng mixes to make other flavors. I also reccomend making double the frosting because it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I had a Mardi Gras party this past weekend & everyone LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyceRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham Bone Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this soup not really expecting much. Boy were we pleasantly surprised. I added 3 bay leaves, more potatoes, 2 celery ribs and a can of rotel tomatoes. I also put in two extra cups of water accidentally along with left over mashed potatoes and tomato soup. It was unbelieveably good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creme Brulee French Toast

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I like the idea of prepping the night before. Everyone enjoyed the dish prepare to the recipe even picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I loved this! I had a serious craving for this childhood favorite and was quite pleased. I did have to change it according to what i had on hand. In place of the cond. soup I used Dry Onion Soup mix with 1 cup of water. And since I did't have the cond. soup I couldn't make the sauce. I ended up using a packet of brown gravy mix(prepared as directed om the mix)It was SO good and I KNOW I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Very easy, my whole family loved them, I didn't change anything. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Rader
Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Pumpkin Muffins with Orange Drizzle

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I really enjoyed these. I added approx. 1/8 tsp of all spice to the flour mixture to give it a little more spice. I have a convection oven so I had to bake them at 400 F. I made 2 different glazes: one with confectioners sugar and grand marnier and one with confectioners sugar and orange juice. I preferred the orange juice glaze- the one with grand marnier was a little too strong for the pumpkin flavor. Just a tip: Always sift the confectioners sugar before making a glaze- it will always come out smooth. But if there's lumps in the sifter afterwards, don't force them to go through, just throw them out. It can give you specks through out the glaze. I still feel like the batter could use a few more spices, so next time I will add some pupkin pie spice to the mixture. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Swirl Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was a great bread to make when you're craving something with cinnamon and sugar but don't feel like running out to the store! It was really good and I will definately make it again, but I think I will have to tinker with it a bit to get exactly what I'm looking for. A great midday snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was really yummy! Who doesn't love a warm apple crisp with vanilla ice cream? I doubled the crumble mixture, but didn't quite use all of it, but it was still worth it! The only change I will make is to use less sugar next time because it was a little too sweet than I would normally like it, but still a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Anniversary Chicken I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Great Chicken recipe-Although I was quite skeptical about putting terryaki sauce and ranch dressing together, I tried it anyways! My boyfreind is the pickiest person on the planet, so I refused to tell him what was in it until he finished his meal(apporx. 3 min later!) He loved it & now requests it all the time. We always serve it with garlic mashed potatoes and a veggie- a great meal for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I absolutely cannot get enough of this soup! I've been making it for about 2 years now and it is just awesome! I always end up using less milk than it calls for becuase I'm afraid it will get too liquidy and I like it to be a little thicker than regular soup. I always serve topped with shredded Cheddar, sourcream, fresh chives, and crispy bacon...mmm mmmm! I can't wait to make it again! Definately worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Loved it- a truly warm and filling soup when you don't feel well and need a little tlc! I have made this countless times now and have never had a bad batch. I season the chicken very lightly with seasoning salt, black pepper, garlic powder, and Adobo seasoning before frying a pan with 1 TBS of Olive oil until no longer pink. I don't think I have ever actually measured the veggies, I just add them until I think it will be enough! *I use the garlic and herb Chicken broth and you just cannot go wrong!! I have also used the veggie chicken broth and it came out great as well. However if you use these, DO NOT add salt! Definitely a recipe I will contine to use forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Amazing! This is so ceramy and delicious! As did other reveiwers, I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the crust to give it more flavor. Instead of placing the pan directly in a water bath, I placed a pan of water on the shelf below the cheesecake in the oven and it worked out perfectly, as suggested. I served mine with an apple pie filling spooned on, then drizzled with melted caramel- It was sooo yummy! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nacho Cheese Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I followed all directions as stated and it just wasn't exactly waht I was looking for. I even tried adding some different cheeses and salt and hot sauce and who knows what else by the end! But I'd have to say I'll keep searching for a different one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
It wasn't as good as I had hoped, because it sounded delicious! It was a too dry for my and my boyfriend's taste, but my friend enjoyed it(Or so he said!) I'll try a different recipe before I revisit this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
So Good! I used a large block of mozzerella and cut into 1/4" slices, then cut them in half to make triangles. I followed the rest of the directions and they were delicious with jarred marinara simmered with fresh basil and sprinkled with parmasean cheese. Tasted better than most restuarants fried mozzerella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States