Manchester, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Chicken Gyro

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
My family loved it! The only thing I did differently was cooked it I'm a pan in a little bit of canola oil- I never trust myself with the broiler! I'm not sure if I diddid something wrong but my sauce was really thin, I did halve it and even so it made a TON of sauce. I am going to use the left over sauce and chicken to make a Greek salad with feta cheese tomatoes and cucumbers. Love a meal I can turn into 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My family LOVED this- it was super easy to finish off when I got home from work. For toppings we used the extra lime, sour cream , lettuce, pico de gallo, and taco blend cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kathy's Italian Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
these are delicious! not difficult to make at all. thank you Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramels

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Easy and gained my 92 y/o grandfather's approval. Not bad for a first try. I cooked a bit too long and would fix that by taking it off the heat a degree or two before it reaches temp. The final product was just a bit less "chewy" than I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I have made this recipe now for about 1 year on different occasions. Everybody, and I mean everybody loves it! Thank you for allowing me to cook with these directions for my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Overall pretty dang good. I baked the potatoes the night before and prepared the recipe the morning of. I omitted the onions and paprika. I prepared the mixture by hand to get the consistency I wanted and then stuffed the skins. I cooked them on a baking sheet until they were heated thru. I then added shredded cheese and real bacon bits and broiled until cheese started to brown. I wasn't as big a fan as I expected even though they came out as expected. The components were great; they just weren't great together. I would definitely use the mixture as a smashed potato recipe! One note, if you prep the potatoes the night before: use caution cutting the tops off, the skin will be fragile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry, Sausage and Apple Stuffing

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was great. I didnt change a thing. Im not normally a fan of cranberries in stuffing but this recipe changed my mind. I made 4X what I needed so that I could make sandwiches later and that worked great! I added the stock slowly to get the consistency I wanted. Great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Soup with Dressing Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This rating is for the Dumplings. They were Fan-Freaking-Tastic! I rolled the balls in breadcrumbs before hitting the micro, but Im not sure it added anything to the texture. I tried the dumplings in the bottom of the bowl of soup and on top of the soup. Either way worked. I made far too many, but kept them in a "zippie" bag in the fridge until the were gone. They kept fine and made great snacks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kraiz

Pumpkin Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have always been a big pumpkin fan and a big chili fan, so I thought why not put the two together. After finding this recipe I fell in love. I decided to find many other recipes like this and make my own version. However, the idea of pumpkin and the gentle taste of turkey was a perfect combination. I spruced this recipe up a bit though: I added 3 slices of bacon, extra pumpkin puree, extra chili powder, cumin, smoked chipotle chile powder and allspice (I wish I had some Pumpkin Pie spice to add). The recipe was phenomenal with cheddar cheese, just flows so nicely with the turkey and bacon. I would make it with more of a pumpkin flavor if I make it again. I am giving this a four because it needed to be tweaked to make it taste like a authentic chili but make you say "Hey I think there is pumpkin in this!" lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kraiz

Yummy Yam Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This recipe was delicious, you do not need a blender if you have a strong mixing arm. I froze half of it and am looking forward to another dish. I do not like how much butter it calls for but it tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kraiz

Pumpkin Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This recipe was delicious! Not as simple as it looks for a breakfast however it is an amazing start to a fall/winter day! I think that lowering the heat a tad and adding a dash or two of sugar would have made this recipe better. Although if you add butter and syrup they are perfectly delicious on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crock Pot Apricot Glazed Pork & Stuffing

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Seems like it would have tasted a lot better with the pork in the crock pot and the stuffing made regular on the side. The stuffing turned to more of a paste and became very gooey...it was basically ruined. However, the pork tasted great, I made it with a optional sour cream and spinach drizzle sauce which seemed to bring moisture to the meal. Some things I would definitely change but overall this was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
The recipe is pretty good, I felt like something was off so I added sour cream and it made the meal. After having some sour cream as a dipping sauce it was spectacular. I highly recommend this recipe but with some sour cream on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Chicken with White Beans and Spinach

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This recipe was pretty good. I had pre tenderized (seasoned) chicken and put black pepper and salt as I pan fried it. I added a little extra balsamic vinegar and served it on top of spaghetti. The recipe is good as is for balsamic vinegar but with the spaghetti a little extra vinegar made the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Bars

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
this recipe was amasing. I use almond flour in place of reg flour.when rubarb is out of season Iuse raisins.I sub.reg.sugar for splenda.O M G everyone wants the recipe.I also use 9x11 pan instead of 9x9.thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

Coconut Shrimp I

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Loved them! I didn't have beer so I just used milk and they still came out great. We used previously frozen shrimp and thawed them under cool running water. Def have to refrigerate after putting the batter on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Stir Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
O M G my kids(adults) liked this the very very best. If I can get them to like something I make, it's a WIN-WIN for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

Easy Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
yum - plus its a sinch! my family likes tuna - and i imagine you could make this taste great with canned salmon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammi's Momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Like whoa. I made this for a number of guests on New Years Eve and made quite the ruckus. Thank you for your recipe! I cooked it in a Dutch oven without the lid on the stove top for about 8 minutes to brown it up a tad. I moved it into the oven at 375 F with the lid on until the temperature probe read 145 F-150 F in the center. It came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicahtheFlavorous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Balls V

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
made these for a youth activity at our church. Needless to say they were devoured in a very short amount of time. didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States