Bridgeport, Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Poke Cake II

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I make this low carb which means I have to make a vanilla cake from scratch using Carbquick and Stevia and sugar free gelatin and sugar free whipped topping, but the extra effort is worth is as it taste great and I get my low carb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Red Velvet Cake I

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I love this recipe - I make this low carb with Carbquick and Stevia and frost with a low carb crisco frosting (also made with Carbquick) and the results are always tasty. I have made this many times and the cake is always consistently delicious - Even my sugar eating friends request my low carb version of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Tarragon Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I used low carb bread and added celery and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Scalloped Potatoes II

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this low carb using Carbquick and Calorie Countdown fat free and rutabagas instead of potatoes and it turned out great - I did add more fresh herbs that this didn't call for, but I think if you use this recipe as a "base" and build on it you'll be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this low carb using Splenda and orange zest and a crisp white wine (instead of orange juice) and it turned out great. Seriously why wouldn't you make this for your family, so simple to make and a ton more flavor than anything store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Kitty Litter Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I love this recipe - I make this low carb with Carbquick and Splenda which mean I have to make a vanilla and chocolate cake from scratch then use and sugar free cookies and sugar free pudding, but the results are worth it: a gross halloween cake that taste great and has the benefits of being low carb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Easy Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Easy to make - I make them low carb using Carbquick and Splenda and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Pumpkin Bread IV

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Consistsnt results even when adding cranberries to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Wonderful, Easy and delicious. I just love this, i do however have a sour cream hater in the family - so i have had to alter this.. I saute my onions (and I add a handful of mushrooms) until translucent in the butter first then remove with a slotted spoon.. First and foremost, i must have frozen french cut green beans. Canned just won't do. I use Philadelphia cream cheese spread (in the tub-NOT brick) with 2 to 3 tablespoons of milk then I add a bit of powdered garlic and a small mix of black and white pepper all stirred nicely in my very deep pan. I put the two tablespoons of flour in a resealable bag add my slightly damp green beans, cooled onions and mushrooms then shake to cover finally adding to the pan that is cooking nicely on low heat- bringing it up to medium heat and stirring well! then its transfer to baking dish .. now i scale back on the shredded cheeses because I've used the cream cheese by about 1/2 cup. then follow recipe as usual. if you hate sour cream and its taste this may be an option for you (not of course if you hate cream cheese too though!) another substitute - heavy cream or half and half, but if you use the heavy cream or half and half, you may need to add a bit more flour. As written this is a jamming good green bean casserole! NO one recipe is ever universally loved nor even hated - think about what you and your family really like and adjust for their tastes - and now... I'm craving this casserole! thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Apple Turnovers

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Excellent! especially for fall! I admit that I too skipped the lemon bath, if you plan out all the things you need before hand and have all ready .. then peel and slice your apples, (or for those who really don't have the time to peel, core and slice - use canned! - without the syrup/liquid - reserve for a topping on ice cream with your turnovers) they don't have enough time to get that brown color. This recipe is really marvelous, but like probably a lot of us, I didnt have puff pastry in the house.. and I usually don't. It's a bit expensive too. I'll buy it only for major holidays but mostly I make it myself- there is a really good substitute - try Puff Pastry by Phaylock here on this site, it's soooo easy and way less expensive or try using the canned crescent rolls, roll out two together into a square joining them and then after filling fold from two corners into triangle. you can then decorate your edge... i do use a fork sometimes, but you can try other things to get a decorative edge, the flat of a knife or a bottle cap... This is a wonderful recipe and I'll make this again and again I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Peach-a-Berry Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
SHEER DELIGHT! an absolutely amazing pie. I made two at the same time - and of course I had to make adjustments to what I had on hand - for two pies I used one can of drained peaches (reserved the syrup and used with some confectioners sugar for icing on a cake I made) and one bag of frozen peach slices defrosted and drained. I did have frozen raspberry's (again defrosted drained) I used a tad more sugar than called for maybe a quarter cup (I really dislike measuring), because these weren't fresh and nearing over-ripe peaches after all. I also added some nutmeg and cinnamon to the peaches. Here is where I erred: I should have kept the berries and the peaches separate I mixed everything together and the peach slices turned a lovely red. The pies were perfect, they were delicious, but I think I should have kept the fruit separate, put the peach slices in and then added the raspberry's over top.. I think presentationally, it would have looked a bit nicer. That said - This is a wonderful, delicious pie, it was raved over, I gave one to my neighbor and he and his wife have yet to stop talking about it. I think if one were to try different fruits... mango would work in place of peaches!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Quick Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Excellent! This is so easy and simple! and... what an opportunity to use the leftover Sunday Roast chicken.. and that veggie side... and maybe that leftover white rice or barley or pasta.. YUMMMY Just add your favorite broth and herbs/spices. This is a perfect example of a delicious basic as is and versatile when you need it to be recipe. Hats off to the author!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great! - this gets 5 stars for the ease and method. I do see there are a few people who just don't care for the tuna potato mix... this is still a great balanced recipe - I think for those who just can't like the tuna potato mix, try replacing with croutons...crushed, but not into powder! you can also try cooked cold egg noodles (I like egg noodles) if you think about the way you would like these to taste, then try it!! I noticed some people had a problem frying too.. falling apart. This is common for nearly every single fish/seafoud type cake on the planet. I generally form my patties, make sure they're thoroughly chilled and carefully fry, or I give them a really good spray with olive oil spray (can brush it on too) and pop them under the broiler (lower rack) This is a good idea, and easy and the really good part... cost effective! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Beeeeyooootiful Spanish Rice - so easy. Please, remember to season for your tastes! If you like heat, add it! if you like it extra tomato-ey add it! Other wonderful things that you can add or not to your taste --- olives! more garlic, diced peppers, hot sauce, kidney beans, chick peas, white beans. But the single most important step in this rice dish is you MUST sauté it first. the second - DONT use minute rice. third - remember, everyone's stove is a bit different, every cup of rice is a bit different.. the standard liquid to rice measure is two to one. meaning two of liquid, one of rice - this recipe allows for 1 and half cups rice, so you would need 3 cups liquid for it to work, 2 of chicken broth and the other cup from the chunky salsa - not all salsa's are the same so in short keep your eye on the liquid. Espcially if you are adding additional ingredients that have a lot of liquid like diced tomatoes....last - you bring this to a boil, and then you slow simmer. I generally bring mine to a boil, let it boil a good 4-5 minutes and I turn my stove top OFF(electric stove). I let it sit tightly covered for 20 mins on the same burner. but that's me and my stove - think about how your rice works on your stove - and if you have to have your stove on, then leave it on low but very low so the bottom doesn't stick or burn.. (I usually add a spray of butter flavored Pam to the bottom of my pot before putting anything, even water in. Thanks for the EASY and great tasting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Fried Garlic Pasta

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I love this! Love Love Love it! I generally add olives, a handful of crushed walnut and.... anchovies!!!! (you saute the anchovies with their oil in about cup and half of a really good olive oil until they melt completely away into the oil, then add everything else )the Garlic and Parmesan alone is WONDERFUL though --- I think I'm making this tonight! This is another wonderful recipe that you can adjust for you and your family's tastes. and the variations you can make based on what you have on hand... oh heaven! Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Love it! so GOOD! and Dozens of dressings you can use! I love ceasar dressing, italian, balsamic, French... wonderful, as a marinade and as a brush-on while grilling. Wonderful recipe! easy!!! and versatile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Oven Fried Chicken III

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is my go to recipe for oven fried chicken! LOVE IT! some tips and ideas.. first for all you anti mayo people - you dont have to use mayo. what you need is something for the breadcrumbs to stick to. that is the purpose of the mayo. and you don't "GOOP" it on, use a basting brush for the mayo, or whatever base you're using to keep the bread crumbs on. My daughter calls it painting the chicken!and it can be fun (keep in mind that chicken needs to be handled carefully re salmonella and all that - standard operating practice there)you can keep the base thin or thick as you like. AND you can add seasonings to your mayo like dry packaged ranch, italian or PESTO! garlic, onion!, you know your family's tastes best! and you can also use whatever base you want! Try thousand island dressing! Ranch! Sour Cream! Yoghurt! Low calorie, full calorie... so many choices! Also, if you use a salad dressing or thinned yoghurt you can marinate!!!just take the pieces out and press into your crumbs. and now for the breadcrumbs - again so many choices based on what you have on hand or prefer: Crushed croutons, Cornflakes, Crackers of any kind crushed, potatochips even - This is a FUN recipe! thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Grands!® Monkey Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
we love monkey bread, couple of things, you can make your own biscuit mix or use a baking mix recipe for biscuits.. don't have to use pillsbury anything. (I find it expensive - and its just easier to whip up my own) I do add sugar to my biscuit recipe though - couple of tablaspoons so its not so bread like, and then with brown sugar, butter and cinnamon, skies the limit - some apple chopped fine and heated a min or two in microwave before adding. so Many variations, so useful for what you have on hand - even a few slices of banana or small pieces of peaches... will go wonderfully. this is a great recipe and works perfectly - although use your judgement on how sweet you like it - you might wish to cut back a bit on the brown sugar,,thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Love it! I did alter for tastes as I usually do, -- Stroganoff is I think an eastern european dish, so I wondered if the red pepper flakes was meant to be or could be subsituted with paprika.. I like paprika just not a lot, so I omitted from the recipe and sprinkeled about 1/2 tsp over the serving platter.. It worked for us! I also cut back on the cream cheese.. just seemed really thick. and next time - I might sub out some of the sourcream for a really good yogurt? Has anyone tried that? Thanks for a great stroganoff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Cheddar Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Wonderful! and because I can never leave well enough alone.. I didnt have parsley and I used Dill and Garlic! was GREAT. I can't wait to branch out into other herb/spice and cheese mixes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States