Connecticut - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Delicious!!!!! I did try it also with putting a sprig of rosemary in the pot and taking it out in the end. Gave it a kiss of aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I make something nearly identical, but instead of chicken (which I may try adding at some point!), we use red pepper (diced), snow peas (cut into small diagonal slice), diced onion, and cashews, and serve cold. This is an amazing pasta salad. TRY THE CASHEWS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by even_vegan

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Light, yummy muffin. Only changes I made were replacing half the oil with apple sauce, blackberries instead of blueberries, halved the crumb topping and used turbinado sugar in it, and added toasted walnuts to the topping. I dont know if the recipe assumes you're using a "Texas" or oversized muffin pan, but I used a regular sized 12-muffin tin and a single recipe yielded 7 muffins. They were a bit hard to get out of the tin (I sprayed with Pam, no liner) especially since the top bakes over and it's hard to get a knife around the edge of muffin without ruining the pretty top. Though I think I was too eager and removed them while they were still too hot- a few muffins lost blackberries that fell right out of the bottom of them. Once cooled they are alot more stable, so if you're using a bigger berry or even big blueberries , let them cool! Ill make this again, probably add a little lemon juice or zest :) perfect breakfast muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by even_vegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wolcott, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
these were really good and easy, I followed the recipe here except I had no onion powder so I substituted minced onion and it was AWESOME!! this is a keeper in my recipe box. I love my slow cooker/crock pot. Thanks for sharing AMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway

Basic Chocolate Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This butter cream icing is great! Used it for in-between the layers of a white cake. I sifted the cocoa and confectioners' sugar and I added a pinch of salt. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA

Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This was really great! Thank you! I followed it basically as written, except that I downsized it a bit for the amount of mahi I had. Oh, and I totally forgot the garlic, but the vegetables I made along side had so much I decided it wasn't worth throwing it in at the end! Was excellent with white rice and a stir fry of mushrooms, soy beans, onions and cilantro. Merci.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE

Tortellini and Artichoke Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Fantastic. I had dry tortellini and cooked those up and I also added black olives and pickles instead of pimentos. Also added grated radishes and carrots from my garden. This salad is wonderful and I cant wait to serve at a picnic tomorrow. I'm sure it will bring out more flavors as it sits overnight. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by AuntE

Marinated Beet Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
So easy and delicious. Step by step directions are quick and makes for a nice summer salad. Even my nephew who is picky tasted it and said it was ok. So that is a huge compliment. LOL I used yellow onion because that was what I had on hand. The juice was the best part. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Jennie's Heavenly Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was fast and easy, but it didn't knock my socks off. Like others, I used cream of mushroom soup instead of golden mushroom. The first time I made it I used 2 lbs of chicken and put it on rice. It seemed quite salty to me, but I think it's because my sauce to rice ratio was too high. The next time I used 1 lb or chicken and 1 lb of frozen broccoli and put it on shell pasta. Much better and not salty when combined with 1 lb of pasta. Next time I might use a little less pasta, though. I added the frozen broccoli at an hour before serving like someone else suggested, but I think it was over done. Maybe half an hour would be better. I'm sure fresh broccoli cooked with the pasta would be best of all, but then the recipe isn't as fast to make! I used the standard crock pot time, 6-8 hours on low and it turned out fine (4 hours is usually used for a high setting). I also cut the chicken breasts into smaller pieces before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Okay ... I just made this for with supper tonight. Husband is not home yet, but I wanted elements of the meal ready to go for when he gets back. It might not make it that long. Notes, though: you don't need to cover it when cooking - you want a roast to it and covering it will more steam it. Enjoy the roast. Don't add bread crumbs - you want this to be a vegetable roast and nothing more. Leave it simple and enjoy the flavor of the cauliflower and garlic. The light flavor of the cauliflower with the roasted garlic (which sweetens it) combine beautifully enough. The parmesan adds a light element with a tiny bit of salt, so don't salt it too much in the beginning. I did find that I didn't want the whole 1/3 cup of cheese, but my cauliflower head was small, so you may want to use more than I did. Don't tweak ... let the flavors shine through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yellow Squash and Corn Saute

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I love both of these veggies and combining them seemed to just sound yummy. The result was pleasing and using up leftovers and the tons of squash we get out of garden felt good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by AuntE

Chocolate-Cinnamon Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Love that this bread is a little more healthier than the usual zucchini bread with oil. I had chunky applesauce and it worked fine. The bits of apple were good. The cocoa was nice addition. Baked up right on time. I added mini chocolate chips to one loaf and kept one plain. Load cut into slices nicely which is important to me. And the loaf was moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Mexican Rice III

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was delicious and easy. I omitted the jalapenos so that my toddler would eat it, and it was still great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Bread V

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This has been my go-to banana bread recipe for about 8 years now. The only thing I have done differently is to split the sugar 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white. This was a recommendation that my husband found years ago and it always comes out great. Recently, I was looking for a blueberry banana bread recipe and just decided to add blueberries to this recipe instead of reinventing the wheel. SOOOO delicious!!!! Great as muffins too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butterfinger® Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
It was FANTASTIC.Easy to make with kids also.We didm,t use the hot fudge but still good. Next time we will remember to buy the fudge. Looking forward to baking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Starr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Commerce City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Uncle Wynn's Bread Machine Rye

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great recipe although I'm looking for some feedback on what setting I should have used for baking it in the machine. What's the "normal" setting on the machine...white? I used the French Bread setting but I was at a loss for what size loaf it should be - 1.0, 1.5 or 2.0? Also what crust to use - tried medium. Any advice out there? Tastes great but it came out looking a little scary but that could be I didn't have the correct settings and I am going to try less of the vital wheat gluten as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Charles Smith

Nobody's Strawberry Watermelon Shakedown

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this for the residents where I work. They love it. I eliminated the cream and double the yogurt. It made it thick so it was more like a frozen yogurt than a smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Charles Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Seriously amazing. My daughter and I love these and you can't tell there's zucchini in them at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This recipe is tasty as-is, but my husband has a thing about soy sauce. I cut back the soy sauce to just a tablespoon, and I thought it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is just what I was looking for. The only change I made was to sprinkle some balsamic vinegar on top once everything was done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States