New England - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lauren's Grapefruit Margaritas

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Great drink! Fresh juice works the best - if unable/unwilling or can't use fresh lime decrease the amount to avoid the lime overpowering the grapefruit. We got 4 servings with 1 grapefruit (seems pretty cost effective to me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Sunday Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is very similar to the sauce my mother taught me to make, only I don't use all that meat. I brown spare ribs in the sauce pan I'm going to use. I put the meatballs on an oven pan that has a portable top with holes in it so the grease drips down in to the pan. I agree with the other reviewers who prefer using their hands to crush the tomatoes as it does give the sauce a nicer texture instead of the puree texture. When the meatballs are browned, I remove them from the oven and put them in the sauce that has started to simmer along the spare ribs with all the spices I like. After the spare ribs are thoroughly cooked, I take them out and remove the meat from the bones and put the meat back into the simmering sauce. Two rules I follow...1) add fresh basil to the sauce and 2) use a very sparing amount of fresh oregano or dried if you don't have the fresh. My mother always warned me tha too much oregano would make it taste like kerosene smells and she was right. In response to the reader who asked why people put sugar in their sauce...I only put about a quarter of a tsp. of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. It doesn't make the sauce sweet. I'm just curious. Is Chef John a paid member of the All Recipes site or is he just a man who loves to cook and sends in all of his recipes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Sr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
We just got back to our northern home town from a visit to Grandma in coastal Virginia. My daughter had she crab soup every time we went out, so we searched the internet for recipes when we got home so that we could occasionally have this at home. This was the version we chose to try first, and we were very glad we did, because it will be our "go-to" for the future. The resulting soup was comparable to the best of the restaurant versions in both favor and consistency, and we did not really change much at all. I added a half a cup of water with a fish bouillon cube dissolved in it just to give the flour mixture a bit of seafood flavor and used two tablespoons of Old Bay in stead of three. We all liked it that way, but would have liked it the original way as well. The Hollandaise Mix is the stroke of genius that separates this recipe from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandman5756

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sandy's Simple Spring Lettuce Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
tasty and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Merlino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Pasta Pomodoro

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Delicious-Let the sauce simmer for 2 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Merlino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Waffles II

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is the best waffle recipe I've come across. I've made it a number of times and my family loves it. I've found that I need to increase the milk to 2 or 2-1/2 cups to get the batter to a pourable consistency, and I add a tsp or so of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Spanish Potato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I think this would be great with roasted red peppers rather than the raw, but love this recipe in general. Thanks, lutzflcat, I'll try this soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Oatmeal Cranberry White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I read the more useful reviews and adjusted the recipe by using two sticks of butter, the salt, the two teaspoons of vanilla, a few more white chocolate chips,half a cup of chopped walnuts and about another quarter cup of dried cranberries. I baked the cookies for nine minutes and they came out splendidly! the extra butter made the cookies moist and luscious, you cannot have too many cranberries in my opinion, and walnuts are always appropriate. Very handy recipe, and thanks to all the cooks who went before us and made suggestions to improve the basic recipe! Would have given it five stars, but I'm stingy with superlatives. I reserve five stars for the chocolate chip bacon and sea salt cookies that make grown men weep and strong women gnash their teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therry Neilsen-Steinhardt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Mozechilli Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This was an easy and filling meal to make. I keep all these ingredients on hand so that made it convenient too. I added some garlic and onion powders to the ground meat for some extra flavor. My family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Stuffed French Toast II

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Super yummy french toast and also super sweet! This is almost more like a dessert than a breakfast. But it was very good. I used what I had on hand and used strawberry jelly. I also used Pepperidge farm strawberry swirl bread. It was so sweet on its own that no syrup was even needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Super Lemon Ice Cream

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Wow! This is so good. I did add the zest, but not too much, only of 1 lemon. This was creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

Creamy White Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is very good!!!! I didn't give it 5 stars because I tweaked it a little the second time I made it, and I believe my changes improved the recipe. I added 1 can cream of mushroom soup, sauteed mushrooms, 1 can diced tomatoes, and 1 Red Bell pepper chopped and sauteed. Was good before changes, and with changes it was Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This recipe was pretty good. the flavor was good, but it didn't form a glaze over the top of the Salmon like I thought (and hoped) that it would. It may have been something I did wrong? I think I will try this again, and try putting it under the broiler for the last few minutes to see if that helps form a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA

Cats Sopapilla Cheesecake Squares

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This is a great recipe. Made it yesterday, followed the recipe to the T, and will be making it again. It was a big hit here. Thank you for sharing you delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE
Photo by Ana Vitoria

Codfish with Cream

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This is totally authentic and delicious!!! Thanks Rita for posting it! Getting back to my portuguese roots has been a delicious journey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana Vitoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This is a great recipe. Made it yesterday, followed the recipe to the T, and will be making it again. It was a big hit here. Thank you for sharing you delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE

Strawberry Ice Cream

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Delicious! Creamy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

Simple Stromboli

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed and Wrapped Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This is easier to make with boneless, skinless chicken thighs. The thighs roll up easily and you don't have to do all of that pounding. There was no need for toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Taco Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This was a real hit at the party. I doubled the recipe and it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States