New England - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Refrigerator Pickles

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
These were very tasty and easy to make. My one and only disappointment was that the red onion turned the liquid and pickles pinkish which wasn't very appealing. Next time I'll use white onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Tetya

White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
The dough was crumbly when I added oats. I think there should be less flour. I didnt have white chips so I put in butterscotch and chocolate. The didnt rise/spread... tastes ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Delightful change from the usual. These pancakes are delicious! Warm and spicy flavor, reminds me of a cross between pumpkin pie and cake. Light and fluffy texture, and the pure maple syrup really is the frosting on the cake! I did find this recipe makes a lot of batter for 2-3 people who eat modest servings and it's difficult to cut it back. Next time I make it I think I will try baking small rounds with the leftovers and filling it with a maple frosting, like whoopie pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaskedMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

Four Cheese Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is definitely not the proper consistency for a cheese sauce... it was stringy and stretchy instead of smooth and silky. This recipe tries to use lots of cheese to make it cling to the pasta instead of using a roux for thickening. I don't think the shortcut was successful and I'll go back to a roux. It definitely requires some seasoning... salt and pepper... maybe some garlic? I would also pick a more flavorful blend of cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Rhubarb Stir Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Wonderfully moist cake! I cut the recipe in half and made it in an 8 x 8 pan (baked for 50 minutes). I did add a couple of tablespoons of vegetable oil to the batter as I thought it might be too dry if I didn't. I also added a little ground cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Banana Open Faced Sandwich with NUTELLA®

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Nice. Hits the spot when I need something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Mushroom and Bacon Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Loved these green beans! I cut the amount of mushrooms in half and doubled the amount of green beans. super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Mom's Mozzarella Chicken for Drew

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This was very tasty and the chicken was very tender. I cut the chicken into bite size pieces before I cooked it. Just makes it easier to eat when its done. very good and simple to make meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Mai Tai

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Tastes just like all the mai tai's I've had on vacations! And very easy to make. Agree with everyone else to add equal amounts of the rums... Very tasty! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORPKID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This recipe was perfect. My family LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Do NOT change a thing with this recipe. These cookies are soft, fluffy, moist, and very delicious! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deviled Pickled Eggs

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Great idea, and they look so pretty! The eggs were too sweet for my taste, and I don't care for the clove and bay leaf in the pickling marinade, but you could make this with any beet-pickled egg recipe. If you plan to make deviled eggs from your pickled eggs, don't pickle the eggs too long, as the yolks get harder to work with. They also pick up more of the purple color, making the filling pink rather than yellow. I did half plain eggs and half purple, which worked out well and made a nice presentation. Next time I would try for a creamier filling by using a food processor to break down the relish and yolks a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHNH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This is just the way my mother taught me and I've been making this soup for over 55 years, my only difference is to boil my noodles separately till done then add them to the soup (in the bowl) , it prevents the soup from being cloudy. If I have left over soup for the next night I again boil the noodles I need, this keeps the left-over soup from becoming overly thick and unappetizing looking. Remember this is chicken soup not cream of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA

Mom's Nova Scotia Seafood Chowder

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
it is a bit pricy to make i elim. the lobster doubled up on the crab to save a bit it was still real good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I did make the recipe as stated it is VERY bland. I did use 1/4 c evaporated milk instead of nonfat it does make it thicker. A lot of people said it was a thin sauce evaporated milk is the key to the thickness. I added the 1/4 c & kept adding a little at a time till I got the sauce I wanted. I added the parmesian cheese to the cooking sauce. I added 5 tsp of brown sugar. With this tweaking it came out awesome. My daughter is a vegetarian I tried the recipe because of her.She said it was great. I am happy I found this recipe it gives her something else to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Terri's Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
too sweet and I even left the sugar out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
OMG! Delightfully delish ... and stunningly easy. My 2 bone-in chops were about 1-1/2" thick, so I adjusted the recipe slightly. I used one large and one small onion (thinly sliced), 3 glove garlic, 1-1/3 c. broth, 3 tbsp. flour, 3 tbsp. buttermilk, and 3 tbsp. water. The consistency was perfect. I also added about 1 tsp. of thyme because I'd seen it mentioned in so many other recipes. It adds a nice touch but (honestly) the recipe is fine without it. For those who don't have buttermilk on hand, not to worry: neither did I. I poured 1/4 c. milk into my measuring cup, then added about a tbsp. of apple cider vinegar and let it sit. Even at that I had to toss some of it out, but it was worth the extra (albeit minimal) effort: it adds a nice tang to the gravy. Finally, I used a cast iron dutch oven to make this in because ... well, I'm gaga for cast iron. I think it adds to whatever you use it for. This is for sure a keeper. Thank you, John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Yum! This was delicious and easy. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberries and Cream Trifle

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This was yummy. I could only have a little though because it tasted overly sweet to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchilada Casserole I

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This was tasty. However, I didn't have corn tortilla's so I used flour tortilla's and it turned out yummy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States