State College - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tortillas I

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was my first time making tortillas. I thought mine were a little thick once I started eating them (used them to make quesadillas) but my boyfriend absolutely loved the thickness and the taste. As with other reviews, I added a bit more salt and I also added some basil. I know this probably sounds silly but the dough was extremely hot once I added the boiling water. I had to let it cool for a bit before I started mixing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Ricotta Squares

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I change a little blueberries for strawberries and shortening for butter. Perfect, Perfect I loved. This is what I taking about cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Pie Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I don't change anything and it's awesome. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
The kids love these!! I made them exactly the same as the recipe and they came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by upierce17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Perfect amount of zesty and sweet!! just the way it is suppose to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by upierce17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresco Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I love this salsa, it is by far my favorite!! easy to make !! We all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by upierce17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I used mayo not miracle whip and I didnt use relish because I ran out!! It turned out really good!! It was a little too sweet at first but after sitting overnight it leveled out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by upierce17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
YUM! For me, this is the perfect side dish for a big meal with all the trimmings. It is so nice to have one less thing to do at the last minute when you're trying to get a big meal on the table. These are absolutely delicious. I made the recipe as-is, other than adding a bit more garlic. HINT: if you want to save time on cleanup, invest in a box of slow-cooker liners. The inside of the cooker gets pretty ugly with this recipe - it was very satisfying to be able to pick up that crusty bag and pitch it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I enjoyed the flavor of this, but using the directions listed, my chicken pieces did not get very crispy or brown in the oven. Some of them seemed a bit soggy. I like mine browner, so I might try coating them with some pan spray before baking next time. I didn't have coconut milk, so I used 3 T cream of coconut to 13 oz. h20. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Mini Ham Quiches

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These were DELICIOUS. I doubled the recipe for 2 dozen, used 3 eggs and 3 whites, skim milk instead of half and half (just as good, really!), chipotle hot sauce (thanks to a previous reviewer), a bit of garlic powder and used a little prepared brown mustard as I didn't have ground. A. MA.ZING. I used leftover fresh spinach (finely chopped), leftover chopped green onion, leftover shredded cheese, leftover baking mix, leftover Easter ham . . . who knew leftovers would taste SO GOOD?!? Light, fluffy yumminess that wowed all of my weekend guests AND me. Thanks Marilou!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Perfect I don't change anything. I served in a bread with chess es on top. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Delicious. Didn't have any red wine but threw some balsamic vinegar into the sauce pan instead and still tasted awesome. It's a good reheat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Pud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portabella and Artichoke Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe, be sure not to overcook the chicken however so it does not dry out, you can also, top with your favorite sauce half way through baking to ensure the chicken remains juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Miller

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spring Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delicious! I had some sweet potatoes left over from dinner the night before and I actually used those and it worked just fine. Actually easier than opening a can of pumpkin. I will definitely make these again. Perfect for a Sunday brunch after church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Spaghetti

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
The combination didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Squares

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
After reading the original recipe, I made some adjustments when I baked them the first time. They turned out perfect. I recommend making the night before or day before you want to serve them. Definitely let them cool before you cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this last night to the recipe except I didn't use the seasoned salt since my husband has high blood pressure (used 1/2 teaspoon Cajun seasoning) and for the same reason I did't use garlic or onion salt, used garlic and onion powder. Oh, and I also used actualy sherry not cooking sherry - don't believe in cooking with anything I can't drink. I made 4 burgers instead of 8 since we both like bigger burgers. My husband and I both thought it was terrific. I made mashed potatoes to go with it and when I make it again I'll double broth so there is more of the wonderful gravy. The burgers were very tasty, not dry at all as I think someone complained of and I'll probably have the leftover ones just as burgers on a bun. I think the burger mix would also make a decent meatloaf and I might try that sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyekkaMarengo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I accidentally picked up chocolate instant pudding instead of vanilla and my family really liked them! I mix these up the day before baking them also and they turn out just perfect. GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I accidentally picked up chocolate instant pudding instead of vanilla and my family really liked them! I mix these up the day before baking them also and they turn out just perfect. GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Excellent! I added a can of mandarin oranges (drained) and sprinkled on some feta cheese just for color and variety. Dressing was divine- certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States