State College - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this last night to the recipe except I didn't use the seasoned salt since my husband has high blood pressure (used 1/2 teaspoon Cajun seasoning) and for the same reason I did't use garlic or onion salt, used garlic and onion powder. Oh, and I also used actualy sherry not cooking sherry - don't believe in cooking with anything I can't drink. I made 4 burgers instead of 8 since we both like bigger burgers. My husband and I both thought it was terrific. I made mashed potatoes to go with it and when I make it again I'll double broth so there is more of the wonderful gravy. The burgers were very tasty, not dry at all as I think someone complained of and I'll probably have the leftover ones just as burgers on a bun. I think the burger mix would also make a decent meatloaf and I might try that sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyekkaMarengo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I accidentally picked up chocolate instant pudding instead of vanilla and my family really liked them! I mix these up the day before baking them also and they turn out just perfect. GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I accidentally picked up chocolate instant pudding instead of vanilla and my family really liked them! I mix these up the day before baking them also and they turn out just perfect. GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Excellent! I added a can of mandarin oranges (drained) and sprinkled on some feta cheese just for color and variety. Dressing was divine- certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
the best...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Terrible cake. I lost every ingredient. I would never try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Butter Pork Loin

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Fabulous! Everyone (hubby, 11 yr old, 6 yr old) loved it-not a bite left! THanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Peek Beef Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Okay, as the recipe reads it is a good beef stew if you want basic beef stew and have 5 minutes to prep--and some days, that's just fine. Here are my adjustments to kick it up a notch or two (and these add about 10-15 minutes of prep time): 1. Brown the beef in a non-stick skillet on medium-high heat. 2. While the beef is browning, cut up 3-4 carrots and place in bottom of slow cooker. 3. When beef is browned well, pour the 1/2 cup of red wine into the skillet to deglaze it; cook a few minutes to reduce (makes a lovely dark brown gravy). Pour beef and gravy into slow cooker. 4. Put the pan back on the burner and add 8-16 oz. sliced fresh mushrooms (subbing these for the canned mushrooms; I like baby bellas, but any mushroom is fine). 5. While the mushrooms saute, pour 1 envelope of dried onion soup mix over the beef. Add the can of French onion soup and 1 can of GOLDEN MUSHROOM soup (subbing this for the cream of mushroom soup). Add garlic powder to your preference. 6. When the mushrooms are slightly browned, add another glug of the red wine to the pan. Continue cooking another minute or two more to reduce wine; pour mushrooms and cooking liquid into slow cooker. 7. Cook as stated; serve over buttered noodles. For an extra 10-15 minutes, you can have a more flavorful, richer-colored beef stew. However, on days when you have 5 minutes or less, the original recipe is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Tenderloins

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
WOW! I cannot believe how easy and good this was! It took 5 minutes to assemble and less than 15 to cook (convection oven) and my family (hubby, 10 yr old and 6 yr old)loved it--leaving nothing on their plates! They said it was better and more tender than thanksgiving turkey. I served it with homemade cranberry sauce and green beans. Thanks so much for a recipe that makes me look like a kitchen rockstar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style)

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Delish! Instead of using rye bread, we used 12-grain we had on hand. We also didn't include tomato, as both my fiance and I don't like it. We used pepperjack instead of swiss too. Def the best tuna salad ever! It will become my staple recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shear_Rebel

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style)

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Delish! Instead of using rye bread, we used 12-grain we had on hand. We also didn't include tomato, as both my fiance and I don't like it. We used pepperjack instead of swiss too. Def the best tuna salad ever! It will become my staple recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shear_Rebel

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Excelent I made a little changes that have the another reviews. But works great the sabor is perfect no sugary no buttery perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Have made these 2 times and they were a huge hit! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Tomatoes and Olives

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is so simple and so good! I am not a huge olive fan and they are great in this! I have a ton of cherry tomatoes in my garden and never know what to do with them. I also added some diced up eggplant because I had some! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marshmallow Fondant

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Excelent I made for a first time and work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Apple Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was my ver first apple pie from scratch and it was Very good, I used a different recipe for the pie crust. I made this recipe trying to find something similar to my grandmother's apple pie, well it was not my grandma's pie, but it was VERY good. I used the recipe for Pie Crust I with it. Would recommend this recipe to anyone who has never made a pie from scratch before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Caesar Chicken Tenders

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very Good! I added some garlic salt and onion powder to plain bread crumbs in order to bump up the flavor a little bit. I also let the chicken marinade for almost 24hrs before I cooked it, but it was delicious when it was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Everyone LOVED them! The icing was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
My son loved it and he hates everything! I did the chicken n onions on the grill for a summer version. Was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Very good I am not change anything....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States