State College - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Chicken and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We enjoyed this soup! I followed the recipe as is except only used 1 cup of half and half to make it a bit lighter. It still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NittanyLionLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I didn't have celery salt, and substituted walnuts for cashews and it still came out great! Very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiee17

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This zucchini bread is amazing!!! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by callalily2424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Green Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Delicious! Instantly one of my favorite recipes thus far. Green beans have never tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiee17

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pierogi Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Great salad for summer time picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Miller

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spring Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Curry Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Great creamy sauce to be used as a dip, dressing, or marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Miller

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spring Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Peanut Butter Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This recipe was amazing, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Miller

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spring Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I was nervous about trying to cook this but it turned out great! Kept the recipe the same, except I only needed 4 cups of chicken broth for mine. I also read the author's updates and made sure my risotto pot and the broth pot were at an appropriately high setting. I'm going to experiment next time with different ingredients and spices, but this is an awesome base!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deviled Egg Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This is the best egg salad I have ever tried, and it is incredibly easy to make, I usually make it so it can sit overnight before eating and it always tastes amazing in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Minty Orzo Lentil and Feta Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I made this salad exactly as the recipe instructed. My entire family loved it and asked for the recipe. I will definitely be making it again. It is a perfect vegetarian supper idea. I was pleased to find kalamata olives in a jar already pitted. A quick trip to the fresh herb section in the grocery store and I had all of the other ingredients. I will be making it for company when they come since it is that delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pastry Cream

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I don't made any change it's wonderful. No crumbs no mess. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Amazing appetizer recipe!! Everyone loved them, there wasn't a bit left over. Just a tip, I found it easier to press the wrapped smokies in brown sugar instead of sprinkling over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made the recipe for my dogs and others for Christmas presents. I know that pumpkin is good for dogs if they have an upset stomach, so I was glad to use it in this recipe. I added a bit more flour as I was kneading the dough just to make it tougher and not stick to my rolling pin. Not sure how thick mine were, but they were perfectly done after about 25 minutes in the oven. Definitely will make again!! After sampling some of the treats once they were cooled from the oven, my dogs followed me around for the rest of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough III

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Best homemade pizza we've had!! Big part in due to this crust recipe. Crispy on the outside, and a little chewy on the inside. (No pizza stone required!!) Used the recipe exactly as stated, except I put a couple shakes of garlic powder in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made some tweaks to the recipe according to the previous reviews and my own personal tastes. First of all, I tried to use lower fat ingredients when I could (Fat-free cream of mushroom, reduced fat cream cheese) I dredged the chicken in seasoned flour and heated a bit of oil and sautéed them for about 3-5 minute on each side, just to get a golden color and a little crispiness. Then I removed the chicken and prepared the sauce in the pan after de-glazing with chicken broth. I added just chicken broth instead of wine and increased it to about 2 1/2 cups because the sauce seemed really thick. (We personally don't like thick sauces and the "stick to your ribs" feeling). I added the chicken back and simmered for twenty minutes. It tasted great! Side note, the italian dressing mix smells and tastes a bit like the mix to make those pasta side salads so if you are a fan of those, you will love this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Turkey Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
My Hubby LOVED this recipe! We used light options for the sour cream, cream cheese, and shredded cheddar. We used an entire jar of spaghetti sauce as well. We didn't think it was too dry at all. It was so rich, but still under 500 calories (with the changes we made). Def a recipe we are going to use more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shear_Rebel

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have made this recipe for the past 10 years and it's by far my favorite pumpkin pie. It is perfect exactly the way it's written. The pumpkin really tastes fresh in this recipe with the addition of vanilla. I also use sweet cinnamon which has a lighter flavor along with homemade whipped cream. Very good recipe to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Loved this recipe! Actually made a mistake, I used the Srichari chili garlic sauce that I had in the pantry and I halved it since I knew it was spicy. Obviously, the cocktail meatballs were very spicy and once I saw Heinz chili sauce at the grocery store I knew that it was the Heinz that was supposed to be in there. Makes more sense, so that was my bad. But awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I've made my own tortillas a few times with different recipes from this site. I used this recipe exactly. I thought I'd try this out one but I wasn't too pleased with it. I think it had too much shortening and made them taste a little gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte

Triple the Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
These were not hard to make and they are the BEST ginger cookies I have ever tasted. I cut the brown sugar back to 2/3 cup and they were just fine. They crystallized ginger has sugar on it and I sprinkled the tops of the balls with sanding sugar. I used a cookie scoop rather than rolling them into balls and that worked really good also. I highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States