State College - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Onion Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Like other reviewers, cut down on the oil. Nice and simple recipe, perfect for changing up the Lent Friday meals from Mac & cheese and pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Love it!!!!! So satisfied eating it right now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane

Paleo Omelet Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Great breakfast or snack. No guilt:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I was hoping for more - this was bland and disappointing. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
YUM! I unknowingly didn't have enough sour cream for this, so I used about 7 ounces of sour cream and 2/3 c. oil - turned out great! I know this said it didn't need frosting, but it was my kid's birthday, so he needed decorations. I used a chocolate canned frosting on top and it was rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Caramel Pecan Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was an awesome, cavity-inducing dessert. Can't go wrong. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chicken French - Rochester, NY Style

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I really enjoyed this - my son thought the sauce was too strong in flavor, but I may have accidentally let it reduce a little (had to let it sit on the stove while I picked hubby up from work). I enjoyed it that way, though, and will make again. Love the texture on the outside of the chicken. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Seafood Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
SO GOOD! I couldn't find calamari tubes, so I omitted them, without changing the quantities of anything else, and it was still delicious and chock-full of seafood. I made the heart-attack inducing version of this, since those were the ingredients I had on hand (full-fat cream cheese, full-fat cream of mush, and even whole milk... oh yes, I did). My husband and I gobbled this up - it was so filling and divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Sara's Soy Marinated and Cream Cheese-Stuffed Salmon

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
The marinade was very, very tasty - and I especially liked the effect of basting with teriyaki at the end, but the cream cheese was so weird. It seemed like the filling and the fish belonged on two separate planets, and no one in my family enjoyed them together. I'd use this marinade again and skip the cream cheese. (Incidentally, if you refrigerate the cream cheese for too long before filling the salmon, it will be impossible to spread.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Bland and unimpressive. A box of rice-a-roni would have been easier, and possibly even a hair tastier...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was tasty - the bacon helps to keep moist a cut of meat that is prone to drying out. I buy t-bone steaks and separate the strip and the filets from the bone, then cook them separately as they have very different cooking needs. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I had high hopes for this, as I'm always looking for "that" slow cooker pot roast, but this wasn't it - I was surprised that it was a bit bland, and just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Deluxe Ham Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was just okay - everyone ate it the first night (I think my son and husband were trying to be polite). I got stuck with the leftovers for the next week. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Tilapia Scampi

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was easy and fast - I served with a box of pasta roni and a bag of frozen veggies for a last-minute weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I've made a lot of mediocre pot roasts over the years. My family doesn't get excited about them. This pot roast surprised my husband - "this is DELICIOUS," he announced, and my picky son ate his, too. There is a trade off - what I like about slow-cooking is the idea that one can "throw everything in and forget it" - and this recipe is front loaded with a little time and effort. The end result, though, is superior to other slow-cooker pot roasts and therefore worth it in my opinion. (Regarding variations - I did add some marsala wine while I cooked the mushrooms as they were becoming dry. Other than that, no changes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. I will use this for the rest of my life! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
My husband and I gobbled this up! Absolutely delicious, and I made this without changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I didn't change a thing and it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Great flavor, but my meat was tough. I used this twice on sirloin, once marinating all day and once overnight. I'm going to try a different cut of meat next time and see if that makes any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Read other reviews and took some advice: used only 1 can of biscuits, added them about 90 minutes before we were ready to eat. This was okay, but nobody was excited to go back for seconds, and I had to eat the leftovers by myself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States