State College - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Corn Balls

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Was a great thing to make with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

E-Z Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
We loved these. In particular with sausage and gravy. As suggested previously eaten alone are a little bland, but could easily be amped up with spices and herbs. Maybe even cheese... definitely a keeper. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Dressing Mix

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Really good. We'll never buy the packet italian dresing again. Like others, I just use garlic powder instead of the garlic salt. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe. I used about 1.5 c milk and 1/2 c heavy cream because I wanted to use it up. I also used about 8 ounces grated parmesan - I used the 2nd smallest size on my multi-size cheese grater. When adding the liquid, I added about 1/4 c at a time, whisking constantly. I also added the parmesan by pinches, whisking constantly. It came out with a smooth, enjoyable texture that way. Next time, I might add more garlic and more pepper. What I liked most about this sauce is that, unlike almost all other alfredo sauces that seem to become chunky and thick before I'm done trying to eat, this stayed smooth in consistency until the last bite. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Griddle Cakes

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
My family really enjoyed these - a light, slightly crispy pancake with an interesting sauce. They were a welcome change from traditional pancakes, tasty but not too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
YUM! My husband, who, admittedly, probably never met a cookie he didn't like absolutely RAVED about these. They are so moist, tender and delicious. The oatmeal lends a great texture and interest to a beloved flavor. Thank you! ADDENDUM 3/10/14: My son, who is pretty much an anti-connoisseur when it comes to foods (i.e., thinks "Oreos" are the best cookies on the planet) told me "These cookies are the BEST! Even better than OREOS!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I was excited to do a make-ahead gravy for Thanksgiving, but this ended up being a lot of trouble. I lost so much volume while simmering that I ended up going to the store to buy turkey stock. As other reviewers suggested, two turkey wings didn't seem to be enough for a decent stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving and my whole family really enjoyed it. As promised, it didn't crack like many pumpkin pies do. Will make this my "go-to" pumpkin pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I've made this cake twice now and it is a hit every time. After reading reviews, I was nervous about getting it out of the pans. I cut parchment to size and sprayed the parchment on both sides, as well as the complete interior of my baking pans, and did not have a problem. I needed an additional 5 minutes (total of 45) for my cakes to pass the prick test - maybe it's my oven? As other reviewers said, this cake is delicate after baking and is fragile to put together. I used a chocolate ganache to fill and frost this cake, and it was a delicious birthday cake! Everyone commented how moist and delicious it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
CAUTION: If you ever boil anything with cayenne pepper in it, PUT A LID ON IT, unless you want to spend the rest of your time in the kitchen coughing and sputtering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tonya's Terrific Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My son and I loved it! TYVM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Hummm I don't change anything and I wait for my husband to share this delicious, easy and yummy chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Smoked Salmon Fried Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My husband made this recipe exactly as it's written, and we're basing our review on that. This is bland and disappointing. In the first place, the rice is way out of proportion with all other ingredients. In the second place, there's absolutely *no* flavor. In the third place, it's super, SUPER dry. I like my fried rice either full of flavor, or saucy, or both. This was neither. It might be a decent base for whatever flavor you'd like to add - but it is NOT a good "stand alone" recipe. Also, I would double the amount of peas, eggs, salmon, onions - or cut the rice in half. But we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham Salad Spread

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Stellar! I love it! My son and I were given a ham, and we are not to big on ham. I tried this with the leftovers and It was a hit with him and his friends! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This is *so* good. I was grateful for this recipe when my zucchini was coming out of the garden in truckloads. I told my son it was just "blueberry" bread (God forbid the child eat something green), and he scarfed this up like an animal. I also substituted chocolate chips for the blueberries once for extra kid appeal, and that was (not surprisingly) also delicious. One morning I decided to slice up one of these loaves and use it as french toast bread, and I had to keep the serving plate weighted down so it wouldn't float up to heaven. Love, love, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Leslie's Salty Grilled Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I think I did something wrong, here, but these turned out terribly. It seems to me like some of the butter must have leaked out and caused a lot of flame on the grill when the lid was closed, because they were burnt to a crisp on the bottom. In trying to salvage, I cut the bottoms off and hoped we could eat the tops. Alas, everything had absorbed that burnt, smoke flavor... including my Omaha steaks. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Slow Cooker Savory Pot Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I won't make again. I made followed the recipe exactly,I actually added salt and pepper - and still wasn't a fan. The beef wasn't as tender as I had hoped, and it was stringy. I had to beg my husband to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boneless Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
So. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiee17

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Baked Oatmeal

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I have literally made this weekly and eat it every single day for breakfast for almost a year now. Under the recommendation from a cardiologist friend (who was recommending oatmeal and flax seed powder daily for my cholesterol), I started substituting three of the eggs in this recipe for an equivalent amount of flax seed powder (as an egg substitute, per bottle directions). A few things I've tried: this is delicious with added blueberries, strawberries or raspberries. I also like to add pecans. Sometimes I sprinkle flaked coconut throughout, or on top, or both. I actually prefer this with the regular oatmeal - not the quick cook kind. I find that the flax seed powder and the quick cook oats together gave it a gummy texture, but the regular oats solved that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Pork for Burritos

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
OMG! Best pork I ever had! Best burrito I ever had! My son and I LOVE it! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States