Lancaster - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is heavenly! Sweet and moist with lovely browned edges. Love it with chili or navy bean soup, or as a snack, buttered and drizzled with honey. I prepared the recipe as is snd baked for 30 minutes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheNatster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Doggie Biscuits I

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Dog tested and approved!!! I can not wait to give these treats to all our family and friends with dogs for the Holidays!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Corn Pudding

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Very close to a perfect corn custard/pudding. Too close to a custard for the recipe base I'm looking to build from. Definitely needs a little salt, and my personal preference is always some little black flecks of pepper in a corn dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donald Shank

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
So easy using leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving! I halved the recipe since it's just my Dad & I. Used an 8x8 pan. Turned out perfectly! The only change I made other than that was to place pecan HALVES on top instead of the chopped. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Awesome for Thanksgiving leftovers! So easy to mix up & bake. Will DEFINITELY add this to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Fern's Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I tweaked this a bit, added in a can Cream of Celery Soup with the Mushroom soup, and some frozen peas...topped it with some crispy chow mein noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mary's Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Meatloaf is one of my husband's favorite dishes and he absolutely loves this recipe. Like another reviewer, I used 1/2 cup gluten free whole oats rather than bread and it was amazing-- both the flavor and texture. I've also started using coconut palm sugar or maple syrup instead of brown sugar. This is the ONLY recipe I've been using now for over two years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
These were awesome, loved the streusel topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Dripping Roast Beef Sandwiches with Melted Provolone

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Out of this world!!! Excellent weeknight meal! I used 1 can of French Onion soup and 1 can of beef consomme, and a really good Boars Head Londonport Roast Beef from the Deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Missi K

Minestrone Soup I

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was so easy & so very yummy! The only changes I made were the type of beans. I used red kidney, northern & black beans because I didn't have any cannelini beans. I also used whole wheat shell macaroni. Again, because I had it on hand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Excellent! I have made these for my hubby and daughter and she said that they are better then anything she has ever had. She put them in the category of restaurant quality. That was the best compliment ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela
Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Bowties with Italian Sausage in a Cream Basil Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Wow this recipe was amazing, I used hot Italian Johnsonville sausage, and I had to use canned diced tomatoes, because that is all I had on hand...it was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Amazing Muffin Cups

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Simply delicious and so easy to prepare!!! I used diced mushrooms instead of red pepper. We love this dish for breakfast! Revised: I made this again using roasted red peppers...OMG, just when I thought it could not get any better, AMAZING! This recipe truly lives up to it's name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

O'Cheeze Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I did not use the Velveeta, but used aged sharp cheddar cheese instead, and we loved this soup, served it with crusty french bread rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seafood Risotto

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
A really good starting point, and it produces a fine dish. My swing on the recipe is to season it with a bit of Old Bay--just enough to feel that it's there, but not so much as to make it an Old Bay dish. For seafood, I skip the salmon,and use a dozen medium (26-31-count) peeled and deveined shrimp, a dozen sea scallops, and 1/2 cup lump crab meat. Also, instead of water, I make my own stock by simmering for 20 minutes the shrimp shells, a teaspoon celery salt,and the top leaves from a bunch of celery. Basil is good, but I think thyme is better for this dish. Finally, plate the risotto, sprinkle the tops with good Parmesan cheese and place the plates under the broiler until the edges just begin to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef Jeff

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Elegant Stroganoff Meatballs

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I used Butterball Turkey Meatballs for this, and it was absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Asian Noodle Bowl

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I can not say enough good things about this recipe...I used sugar snap peas and shiitake mushrooms, but the Bison skirt steak was the highlight of this dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Jen's Fresh and Spicy Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I did tweak this a little, added in 3 cloves of fresh garlic in place of the powder, and some cumin. I also used a shallot instead of green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Hawaiian Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was truly so flavorful and juicy, I loved the mayo chili sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States