Lancaster - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Elegant Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Awesome recipe, I only changed one thing, I added a bit more whole grain horseradish mustard to give the sauce a little more kick...It was out of this world!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Amazingly tender. As predicted, I will not go back to the traditional way of cooking corned beef. Even better the day after for Reuben's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It's very rare that I follow a recipe to the T....but I am so glad I did on this one, I loved the flavors all slow cooked together! I also loved the fresh tomatillo salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Have made this a number of times now and it is always a winner. I sometimes take about a cup of the batter out and mix with melted chocolate for a marbled cheesecake. Have also used neufchâtel with no ill effects. I will never need to look for another cheesecake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEYRAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Sweet and Spicy Salmon with Grapefruit Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I love Salmon...and this marinade was truly AMAZING, and the Mazola corn oil had such a lightness. I did switch out cucumber for the pineapple, only because I don't like fruit with my food. This was truly an outstanding recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Creamed Beef

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This really brought back my childhood, my Dad made this when he was in the Navy, and for us as kids. I added mushrooms and served it over sour cream and chive mashed potatoes! Comfort food at it's best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Chicken Lasagna I

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I liked this, but did change it up a little...instead of peppers I used spinach, and used a jar of Alfredo sauce instead of the soup. The kids loved this white chicken lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is my husband's favorite meatball recipe. I made it the first time 2 or 3 years ago and it's the only recipe I use. I've also used it to make meatballs at a party...they were gone in 15 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
World's best? Hard to say, but it's still very very good. I made a few minor alterations. I used ground turkey instead of beef and sausage. If you do this, make sure to cook the turkey, onion and garlic until it starts to sizzle, i.e. the water is cooked out. That takes a while, but adds a nice browning and flavor to the turkey. All of the tomato products I added had extremely low salt, so the tablespoon of salt was not excessive. I did the trick of submerging the noodles in hot tap water for about 20 minutes, instead of cooking them separately, worked like a dream. And I added some mace (you can use nutmeg too, about 1/8 tsp.) to the ricotta mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lobster Colorado

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
What can I say that has not already been said about this recipe...my first time broiling filet, I was terrified, but it turned out PERFECT! My only change was to add a little white wine to the butter while I sauteed the lobster meat. I had the camera out to take a picture, but I couldn't wait to dig in, I completely forgot to take it :) ....OUTSTANDING recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made two minor changes so a friend with peanut allergy could try these: Sunflower butter and Hershey's Kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Waltz - WL Events

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Lo Mein

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I make a lot of Asian dishes, but I have to say this was by far my favorite...I doubled the sauce for a pound of lo mein noodles and added in a couple of dashes of Oyster sauce. I had a lot of leftover pork tenderloin after News Years, and this was a great way to use up the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
If you're going to make Brussels sprouts, this is the way to do it! The easier way to go, is to get a deep casserole dish, forget the plastic bag, just put in the oil and Brussels sprouts and stir well, adding the salt and pepper after they are well coated. Then, every 10 minutes or so, stir them again. A little trick I learned, when they are done, turn the oven off and leave them sit in there until they cool down a little, if you have the time. This will give them a nice brown color all over, and a really delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Coated Catfish

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a very simple dish, if all the prep is done, then it takes about 20 minutes. There is a trick not mentioned here; after you caramelize the sugar, the water you add needs to be hot, otherwise that sugar will clump and stick to everything. You can wait until it remelts, but trust me, adding hot water is easier. I also wonder if you need to add so much water at the beginning when caramelizing the sugar, since it really doesn't start browning until most of the water has evaporated. I found I had to add hot water in small amounts as I cooked the fish, so it didn't get too thick or burn. I did not have to cook it down at all. I don't think the green onions and cilantro at the end add too much, other than that a fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is heavenly! Sweet and moist with lovely browned edges. Love it with chili or navy bean soup, or as a snack, buttered and drizzled with honey. I prepared the recipe as is snd baked for 30 minutes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheNatster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Doggie Biscuits I

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Dog tested and approved!!! I can not wait to give these treats to all our family and friends with dogs for the Holidays!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
So easy using leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving! I halved the recipe since it's just my Dad & I. Used an 8x8 pan. Turned out perfectly! The only change I made other than that was to place pecan HALVES on top instead of the chopped. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Awesome for Thanksgiving leftovers! So easy to mix up & bake. Will DEFINITELY add this to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Fern's Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I tweaked this a bit, added in a can Cream of Celery Soup with the Mushroom soup, and some frozen peas...topped it with some crispy chow mein noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mary's Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Meatloaf is one of my husband's favorite dishes and he absolutely loves this recipe. Like another reviewer, I used 1/2 cup gluten free whole oats rather than bread and it was amazing-- both the flavor and texture. I've also started using coconut palm sugar or maple syrup instead of brown sugar. This is the ONLY recipe I've been using now for over two years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States