Lancaster - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cream of Potato with Chorizo and Kale Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I loved this recipe, it is a very hearty soup. I reserved some of the cubed potatoes because I like a chunky soup. I also wanted some more veggies, so I added in some diced carrots and celery. This is such a versatile recipe, you can use whatever veggies you have on hand. It's an awesome comfort soup on a snowy weekend on the East Coast in January.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeff Holzworth

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabiata

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Great Recipe very tasteful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Holzworth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guinness® Beer Cheese Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this for our Christmas Eve drop in and it was a huge hit! My only change was to add in some smoked Gouda Cheese after reading another review, great suggestion. I served it with a loaf of cubed marble rye/pumpernickel bread and sour dough pretzels! I plan to make this again for a Super Bowl party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

BLT Linguine

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
As per the other reviewer, I would also double the spinach because it really cooks down. My only addition to this recipe was to add a little chicken broth (or white wine next time) to the sauce so the pasta wouldn't be so dry...this was OUTSTANDING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes, Sauerkraut & Ale

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Hillshire Farm, thank you for this fantastic and comforting recipe! I followed the recipe pretty much to the tee! I did have to cook the potatoes a little longer on my gas range to get them nice and brown on all sides. I also added about another cup of sauerkraut, because everyone in my family loves it. I used Guinness beer and it added a nice depth of flavor. It truly tasted like a traditional German dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brandy's Blackberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
came out great. used pie crust from store for top and a combo of blackberries blueberries strawberries and raspberries. great over ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBIEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlicky Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Amazing! I used roasted garlic and a couple of dashes of white pepper. Also, I used a hand masher and they turned out so light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Garlic Salmon

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
So simple yet so elegant. I grilled the salmon using a soaked cedar plank and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
WOW this recipe lives up to it's name!!! I do sauté the onions and celery for a bit in about 1 tablespoon of the bacon grease first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kielbasa and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Very tasty and comforting meal. I added in a diced and sautéed Vidalia onion and fresh minced garlic. There were no left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Mexican Lasagna II

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Excellent week night meal, I add a layer of chunky salsa to this as well, and top with sliced black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
We enjoyed these mashed potatoes! I added in about a tsp. of garlic powder and 2 tablespoons of butter. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Creamy Chicken Dijon from Mazola®

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Thank you Mazola for this incredible recipe, I doubled the sauce and it was a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Blueberry Delight Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I could not find the Mott's Healthy Harvest Blueberry Delight Applesauce so I used Mott's regular applesauce and doubled the fresh blueberries. These were a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy, Fast, Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I was away from my kitchen and needed a dough recipe so I could whip up a pie at the last minute, so I tried this one. I was in a rush and only had butter so I used the food processor and processed flour and butter then drizzled the cold water in while I pulsed a few times. Then I dumped it onto a floured board and formed two balls I doubled the recipe) There wasn't time to chill the dough, so I simply rolled it out between two pieces of plastic wrap and it was quite easy to work with. The best news is that it actually tasted as good as my tried and true recipe in my kitchen file. This makes a very light and flakey crust - everyone who ate the pie remarked at how delicious the crust was. This was so good, in fact, that I plan on baking it side by side with my regular recipe to determine whether or not I should begin using this as my standard. No need to worry if you don't have time to chill this dough - you can be pretty confidant that whatever you make will taste delicious with this dough as your base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Franz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Honey Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Needed an apple cake to take along to Rosh Hashanah and this fit the bill nicely. (A side note: I used Buckwheat honey which made this cake super dark, but I thought delicious. However I got mixed reactions from my family). The second and third time I made it I lessened the amount of sugar by a quarter cup. Halved the amount of oil and subbed in baby food applesauce. Replaced the cinnamon and allspice with Penzey's Cake spice (because I had it on hand). Added an additional apple and shredded half, then diced the other half for an added textural element; drizzled the apples with orange juice to keep them from browning. I did skip the nuts each time I made it because my family for some odd reason doesn't like them in baked goods. Thank you Jayda for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Spicy Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe, but changed up the spices. I used Old Bay seasoning, because in my family we think Old Bay makes everything better. I also used half the amount of butter and then drained the excess off before putting them on the baking sheet...cook time and temp was spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

African Peanut Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've made this a few times now. If I don't add chicken, I like to double the rice. I also like a dash of cayenne in addition to the chili powder. I only use one red pepper to appease my veggie-phobic children. (I chopped the one up so fine that they didn't know it was there--bwa ha ha!) Great low-cost, high-taste recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Swedish Meatballs

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I loved this recipe! I did double the gravy and added 2 beef bouillon cubes for more flavor, and some sautéed sliced baby bella mushrooms, but beyond that, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boiled Potatoes with Chives

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
WOW...amazing simplicity!!! It does not get any easier than this recipe...but they are so tasty!!! I sometimes sprinkle on some fresh grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States