Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I used unflavored gelatin and didn't get the "artificial" strawberry jello taste some reviewers complained about. Cut the strawberries into very small pieces - found crushing was kinda hard - and made it in a springform pan that I put foil around so nothing would run out. Also used traders joes white cake mix - perfect size and it was really good! Thanks for the great recipe - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Banana Cream Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I made this in 2 9-inch round pans, using a box mix that I added a package of chocolate pudding mix to. I think I used too much hot fudge sauce, as my bananas kept slipping off the first layer! But that was definitely my fault. I added a banana to the cool whip/pudding mixture and left out the banana flavoring. I had a lot of extra cool whip/pudding mix left, so I ended up putting it over the entire cake (top and sides) but that was a good thing. It looked beautiful! The taste was so good! Will definitely make again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yakisoba Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was pretty good-I used drained, extra-firm tofu instead of the chicken and about 4 scallions instead of the onion. Also added bean sprouts-yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH201

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Cake IV

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Although easy to make, this was just okay for me and didn't have quite the flavor I was hoping for, and I was hoping this would taste better the next day, but it got stale very quickly. Other than using my own applesauce, and not chopping the raisins, I left everything else as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
my boyfriend and i cook this a lot. it downsizes really well and heats up great. we skip the sour cream and the onion and still love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rocky Road Squares

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Other than not putting in the nuts, I made these as written. I guess I am in the minority on these - while they were very easy, the coconut was very "squishy" for lack of a better word and the sweetened condensed milk was way too sweet in these (and I like sweet!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was super easy and very good. I used about a half a bottle of a non-hot wing sauce and used an entire dry packet of the hidden valley ranch dressing mix. I also added two "to go" packages of Dave's Sassy Barbeque Sauce - they probably have about a tablespoon each in the packages - to the mixture. Put this on a toasted roll. It was SO good! Thanks so much for the recipe - I'll be making it again and sharing it with my (grown) kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Cheese Soup V

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I roasted fresh broccoli in the oven, then added it to the warmed chicken broth. I also used all freshly grated monterey jack cheese, and added garlic powder and celery salt. I also added about a tablespoon of mascarpone cheese (since it was about to expire) at the end. This was SO good! Can't wait to make again. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Really, really good cake - especially right out of the oven! I used splenda for the sugar, half wheat flour/half white flour and grated half of the apples/chopped the other half. This was very easy to make and has a great taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
We thought it was superb! I ended up having to bake mine for close to an hour even though I halved the recipe. Next time I'll make with onions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
My family loved this. I thought it was good but the meat didn't get as tender as I'd like and the sauce wasn't thick. I would use sirloin next time instead of round steak, and add cornstarch in lieu of flour since the sauce didn't thicken enough. I didn't add the chives or parsley but I didn't miss them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
My family loved this. I thought it was good but the meat didn't get as tender as I'd like and the sauce wasn't thick. I would use sirloin next time instead of round steak, and add cornstarch in lieu of flour since the sauce didn't thicken enough. I didn't add the chives or parsley but I didn't miss them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

Fresh Tomato Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Delicious salsa! I gave it a 4 because I had to add garlic to get it perfect. We also used a mixture of jalapenos and banana peppers because we had no serano. My husband and I were both pretty pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Bruschetta

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I've been making this for about 3 years now and I don't think I ever reviewed this fantastic recipe. Everytime I make this it's a hit...even with my hubby who really doesn't like tomatoes. I used baguette when I made it today..toasted it...drizzled with more olive oil...put bruschetta on top...returned to toaster oven on broil with a sprinkling of mozzarella. Couldn't be more delicious or easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pot Roast in Foil

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Yum! My husband told me I can make this every Sunday! Only one thing I would note though - don't make the mistake of salting the meat. With the salt in the soup mix, you definitely won't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Do not skip the red wine...it truly makes it! I use a semi-sweet red and the aroma is out of this world. I had to have cheese so I grated fresh parmesan on top and it was delicious. I also only used 1/2 the recommended amount of pasta. Delicios! Delicious! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Betty Baker's Strawberry Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Wow! This was really good. I did use a bit less of the jalapeno peppers (personal taste) but it was still really great. Good to make for a crowd to use as an appetizer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
We loved this! Didn't need to add any cheese like some others did - perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
The taste of these were fantastic. However, I did have to add about 1/2 cup more flour to get them to rise a bit higher, cause that's how I like them. I also used butter in place of the shortening and added a touch of vanilla. These were very buttery tasting and very crispy without breaking apart all over the place. I also baked mine for quite a bit fewer minutes (9-10) but it may have been the size cookie I was making. I think this is one of those "you can add anything to it" recipes - different chocolate chips, more or less sugar, different flavorings, etc. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is such an excellent base for chinese stir fries. After making this recipe for a while, which is absolutely delicious as is, I was able to just make great authentic-tasting chinese dishes freehand. No recipe necessary! It is great. One thing that I recommend is to thinly slice the chicken, WITH the grain, not against. This makes the chicken soooo much more tender! You wouldn't believe what a difference it makes. It is how most chinese restaurants slice their chicken. Also, always make sure your wok is VERY hot!!! So important... Excellent recipe! 5+ Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States