Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The taste of these were very good and very chocolately, but they weren't fudgey (gooey) like I like brownies to be. I think next time I will use one less egg and see if that makes them less cake-like. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Incredibly delicious! I used sweet italian sausage, a bit less of the red pepper flakes, a mix of small potatoes and light cream/regular milk. I added the sausage earlier than called for too. I think my bacon was salty, as I could taste that, so next time I'll buy lower sodium bacon, or may leave it out altogether. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this 4 dif. times over the holidays and it was a hit every time - what a yummy recipe! I didn't have poppy seeds, but I don't think they were missed, and I also added mandarin oranges once and it was even prettier. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

Black Bean Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Excellent soup, and I'm not even that crazy about vegetable soups! I added an additional can of black beans, a little bit of celery, some green bell pepper and some mexican spices. I simmered mine for a few hours and added the corn and some arborio rice the last 30 minutes of cooking. Next time I'll throw in some spinach. This is definitely one of those soups you can add just about anything to and it comes out great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I'm a seasoned baker but it tasted like eating butter from a tub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Just okay -- cookie crumb crust was too thick, filling not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

Snickerdoodles I

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Extremely disappointed with these cookies. I misplaced my snickerdoodle recipe during a recent move and these are a sorry substitute. Following the instructions exactly, I got a flat, greasy cookie that even after 12 minutes in the oven never cooked through in the center. Pretty much the worst snickerdoodle recipe ever--especially with the aftertaste from too much cream of tartar in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wingard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I used Splenda for the sugar, used half wheat/half white flour, and added butterscotch chips instead of the nuts. Very good cookies and are still good days after making them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
A dessert with texture from the crock pot-amazing! I added 1 cup of granola to the topping, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH201

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I used half applesauce/half oil and more cinnamon, no cloves and about 1/2 cup more pumpkin. I made the cake portion different ways and found that piping it with a large decorating tip worked the best and kept the cookies a consistent size. The pumpkin flavor in the cakes is really good. I also used a cream cheese icing, as that is what I had, and they turned out wonderful! I froze the whoopie pies both before and after icing and had no problems with any sticky cakes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I used half wheat/half white flour, used smooth peanut butter (added about 1/2 cup more than called for) and added a mixture of peanut butter/chocolate chips to some of them. Mine were almost done at 8 minutes, so I took them out of the oven and left them on the pan to continue baking for another minute or two. They came out very chewy. Even though peanut butter cookies are generally a more dry cookie - these came out just like I expected them to be. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I used half applesauce and half oil, splenda for the sugar and half whole wheat and half white flour. Since I grated the apples, I ended up with almost 4 1/2 cups of apples, but I think that just added to the moistness of the cake. The cake came out great, even with my little changes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Chicken I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made these with chicken breast tenders, so it cooked fairly quickly. I didn't have any cumin, but I used a few squirts of fresh mexican seasoning in a tube and also added a bit of chopped onion. Very good and excellent way to use black beans. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I upped the apple to almost 1 1/2 cups, used Splenda for the sugar and omitted the nuts. Made them in a 9x9 pan and baked them for exactly 30 minutes. Came out perfect. Great flavor and I will make them again. Will probably up the cinnamon next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
What's not to like? Little bite sized donuts that you can pop in your mouth? Yum. I thought these tasted better after sitting overnight (in an airtight bag.) I realized once I started making these that I didn't have any nutmeg, so I used cinnamon in the batter instead, and they were really good. This is one of those "I have everything in the house to make them" kind of recipes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Watermelon & Feta Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is an amazing summer salad. So different from the usual sides yet really delicious and the colors make it appealing to the eye as well. I substituted balsamic vinegar the last time I made it because I ran out of white wine vinegar and it was just as delicious. Loved this - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Other than using splenda for the sugar, I made this as written. Strange directions (low temp/putting it in the freezer?!) but it worked! Very good taste. Mine made a 9x13 cake plus a small 7-inch round cake. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
First off, I have to say that I absolutely hate coffee, so I was really hesitant to put the coffee in, as I figured I would taste it. Whenever I eat something with coffee flavoring, and someone says, "Oh you won't even taste it" - I taste it. With this recipe I did not taste it at all. The flavor of this cake is really good. I made 24 cupcakes out of this and frosted them with a cream cheese frosting. Will definitely make again. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I used green bell pepper instead of green chile peppers, used sharp cheddar cheese instead of swiss and added a few tablespoons of Trader Joe's black bean and corn salsa to give it a little kick. This was SO good and I can see where you could use many different vegetables in it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
OMGosh this cake is YUMMY!!! Strange directions but it works. And it makes a lot -- filled a 9x13 pan as well as a 6" pan. Very worth it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States