Hershey, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious! I used a packaged dry marinade - garlic, basil, tomato - in place of the chili, cumin and hot sauce and left out the green pepper since we don't care for them. Also followed advice of others and added corn, patted dry the onion, and used 2 egg yolks instead of one whole egg. Wish I would have doubled the recipe and had some leftover to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Buglione

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Wow. They say the way to a man's heart is through an apple pie. Well, if that's the case - this is the pie to use! A guy friend of mine had a slice and said that it was the best apple pie he had ever eaten. Said it would win contests. (And he didn't know that Moshasmama had already mentioned that she has won contests with this recipe!). I did follow the other suggestions of using cinnamon, vanilla and nutmeg in the sauce and putting the apple slices into the sauce before putting them into the shell. Delicious pie! Edit: the second time I made it I followed the recipe to a T (ie. no added spices or vanilla and put the slices in pie then added sauce). It was even better the way it was meant to be made! I won't be "doctoring" it anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Buglione

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Just OK. Made exactly to recipe and they don't do much for our pumpkin loving family. Just Ok even with the cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gina's Pumpkin Cookies with Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
They are OK. I followed the recipe exactly and then added cream cheese frosting to make them better. But still just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Lemonade

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Keep the 2 qts. of water, but add the juice & pulp of 4 lemons, and about 3/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

Fluff Dip for Fruit

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is very good as written, though it makes a huge amount. I usually halve the recipe. I also use fat free/sugar free white chocolate with white chocolate Godiva liquer too. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nutty Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great recipe that was a spin off of a classic. I used more like 7 cups of apples and added cinnamon and some vanilla to the crisp topping - I can't imagine the recipe without cinnamon and the vanilla added more depth of flavor in my opinion. I used 1/2 cup pecans b/c that is what I had on hand - put them through a nut grinder, so they were more of a fine chop than called for but they added a great texture and flavor to the dish - will continue to make through apple season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Lemonade

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Awesome. Perfect. EVERYONE love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Awesome, not too sweet, perfect! I like larger chunks of peaches and I like double cake topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Um...PERFECT. Only used 4 cups of flour, 2T cinnamon and combined cinnamon, b.sugar, and butter before spreading on dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These are excellent, hard to roll thin, but great! They are better a little undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Naan

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Excellent! I love the garlic and add chopped cilantro to the top when cooking or grilling bread. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham Cracker Crust II

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Pretty good crust. I use regularly, however its good and average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Preserves

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Awesome, I made it with white peaches and skinned half of them and left half with peel. Nice pink color! I boiled them for 15 min. because we like it a little chunky. I used a pack of 1.75 oz. pectin and it was perfect. AWESOME! Not too much sugar, most recipes call for equal parts sugar and fruit, I like the less sugar (although, don't worry, its pretty sweet!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellie

Stuffed Artichokes

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Awesome! My Italian family has made these for years. I just use 1 cup Italian bread crumbs, 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, and one clove of garlic. Add Olive oil, not vegetable oil. Fill Oven safe pot with lid 2 inches high with water. Bake 1 hour, check at 30min to make sure there is enough water in the bottom of the pot. If needed, add a little water. Bake 1 1/2 hour til leaves pull easily out of artichoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Key Lime Pie I

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Its OK. I much prefer Key Lime Pie VII, eggless and velvety soft. Sets up perfect when chilled. Use other recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Delightfully moist! Did the 1/2 oil/1/2 apple sauce combo and pumpkin pie spice. Also used 1 cup brown sugar in place of white sugar total two cups as others have suggested. Used cinnamon chips (Hershey's) and sugared the side of pan rather than floured. Was fantastic! EDIT: Was going thu my recipe box tonight and realized I'd totally forgotten about this recipe. I didn't plant a garden this year so no problem Zuchs. Kicking myself for not picking up more at the farmers market this morning. Argh~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Buglione

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
needs horseradish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellie

Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I liked the salad, I would decrease the dressing by half if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellie

Best Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Good recipe. I made as recipe states, but next time I will decrease meat by half and increase cabbage to 3 cups and add some bean sprouts. Overall a really easy and tasty recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States