Hershey, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Drop Biscuits and Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made this exactly as instructed, and all 11 teenage boys loved it, even the picky ones. Very easy, I plan to make ahead and reheat for an easy breakfast in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica
Home Town: Mount Joy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pico De Gallo

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Yum, BUT add lime or lemon juice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These are really good, I did 1 1/2 recipe for filling and used 8 egg roll wrappers instead. The egg rolls were on the smaller side and one adult could easily eat between 2-4 egg rolls for dinner. Added a little more spinach and baked in the oven for 12 minutes at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Pretty good! I love lime and cilantro. I would add a little jalapeno next time too. Ate with southwestern egg rolls from Allrecipes, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I added 1/8 molasses and used all fresh ground hard white wheat. YUM! Added oatmeal to the top before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Oatmeal White Chocolate Cookie

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love these cookies! As the submitter I give all credit to my friend Deb who is a master at cookies! First of all, lower your baking temp to 350, and times vary by oven, I cook mine for about 7min. Also mix wet ingredients with a mixer til well mixed and on the "fluffy" side, about 1 full minute. Add dry and finish mixing by hand. Lightly grease cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great Shepherd's Pie recipe, I suggest you half the entire recipe if you have a family of 4. We have soooo much left over, but oh well, I bet its good heated! I loved the curry and even added extra to suite my taste. I would DOUBLE the POTATOES! I had to cook more so the top of my 9 x 13 pan would be covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Pretty good, add 1 Tbsp sugar to take edge off salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great base with the pumpkin. Needed doctored though. I used leftover T-day turkey, skipped the peppers, added extra can tomatoes, can drained black beans, can veggie stock, frozen corn, 3-4x the chili powder, dash or 2 of hot sauce, a few jalapenos pepper slices, and cumin. Delicious!! and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudreyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great recipe, made as written. A little too much sugar for our preferences. I will decrease next time both in the casserole and on top by 1/2. Although its sweet, its really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellie

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie I

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Really good, not exactly what I expected. But like I said it was good. It was a milder, sweeter version of a pumpkin pie. The texture was light and creamy. I would have liked a little more filling, as it filled up a little low, next time I will try to use a smaller pie tin. I just boiled water in a large pan and cooked the egg yolk in a smaller pan on top of it and it turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Risotto

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Good. I am not a lover of risotto though. I did like it but it will be a while til I make it again. It is probably awesome if you love risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Awesome as written. I didn't have ham on hand so I used a half cup of bacon bits. Oh and I just left the skins on my potatoes and added one sliced carrot for color. Thanks for the recipe. I made this a second time with ham and prefer the bacon even though both are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Rellenos Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Excellent. Use 3 eggs and one can of evaporated milk, leave out the regular milk. Used an 8x8 pan and increased 1st bake to 30 minutes and second time after sauce is added to 20 minutes. Cooled 10 minutes. Use an enchilada sauce instead of plain tomato, much better! My Sauce: 1/2 Onion chopped 2 T oil 1 can tomato sauce 2 tsp chili powder 3 T salsa salt to taste Saute onion with oil til tender. Add all remaining ingredients and simmer on low til thickened, pour over casserole and continue to bake 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
The kids loved it (so if you're making for kids I'd give it 5 stars!) But I found it bland, even after following advice of super spicing. But I give it 4 because the crust texture was fabulous and the chicken (tenders and boneless thighs) was very juicy - just as promised. I never was able to make fried chicken because I burned it or the batter fell off, but now I can! Will use batter to coat veggies, etc. I'll just have to play with the spices. Oh, and I used cream of mushroom soup, onion powder, garlic powder, poultry seasoning, paprika, pepper and parsley. I think the leftovers will be really good heated up to top a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudreyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
EXCELLENT! Made as directed, except only used 1lb of sausage and no other meat. I didn't have fennel seeds on hand and used fresh basil. I also used oven-ready noodles. The ONLY thing I recommend it to REDUCE the SALT!!! I didn't and I wish I would have. Use 1tsp at the MOST !!! But like I stated earlier, EXCELLENT lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Toasted Pumpkin Seeds with Sugar and Spice

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Fabulous! I made 6 cups of these on a cookie sheet, so it did take 75 minutes (90 minutes total) at 275 degrees to get it to a crispness I liked. I then added it to the seeds and toasted a bit longer (like caramel corn recipes). The only other changes were margerine instead of oil and I added each spice separately vs. the premixed pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, ginger, allspice all to taste, sorry that i didn't measure.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Cakes (Patties)

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Excellent "burger". I did not have any cereal so used saltine crackers instead. Added bread crumbs to mixture rather than rolling them in it. And used egg yolks instead of whole egg and soy milk instead of milk. Patties held together well even on the grill. Next time I will make the patties a little less thick, but definitely very moist and delicious. My teenage vegetarian loved them! And me too! Way better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudreyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious! I used a packaged dry marinade - garlic, basil, tomato - in place of the chili, cumin and hot sauce and left out the green pepper since we don't care for them. Also followed advice of others and added corn, patted dry the onion, and used 2 egg yolks instead of one whole egg. Wish I would have doubled the recipe and had some leftover to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudreyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Wow. They say the way to a man's heart is through an apple pie. Well, if that's the case - this is the pie to use! A guy friend of mine had a slice and said that it was the best apple pie he had ever eaten. Said it would win contests. (And he didn't know that Moshasmama had already mentioned that she has won contests with this recipe!). I did follow the other suggestions of using cinnamon, vanilla and nutmeg in the sauce and putting the apple slices into the sauce before putting them into the shell. Delicious pie! Edit: the second time I made it I followed the recipe to a T (ie. no added spices or vanilla and put the slices in pie then added sauce). It was even better the way it was meant to be made! I won't be "doctoring" it anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudreyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States