Harrisburg, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Vegan Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Had I not made it myself, I would've sworn it wasn't vegan. I used melted coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and doubled the cocoa powder. Best chocolate cake I've ever had, let alone made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Patrick's Kitchen

Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Fabulous and as easy as pie - no...much easier! lol. Made exactly as written using chicken thighs (with bone)(extra 10 minutes broiling on low) and it was a hit! My son came downstairs during the cooking and said, "wow, it smells really good!" I said, yea, that's what a lot of reviewers said! I added asparagus to the pan for the last 8-10 minutes of broiling and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudreyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This one's a keeper! I like pumpkin in everything but I was a little nervous about serving this to my family. They loved it. I changed a bit based on what I had on hand - I know some reviewers don't like when you do this, but when you live far from the grocery store, that's how you cook and why I love the reviews on this site. I used crumbled apple sausage that my husband buys at the local farmer's market instead of ground beef. Didn't use any tomato paste but used the sauce. Allrecipes Magazine said to omit the sauce, but I found it was needed for moisture and great flavor, too. I had some fresh roma tomatoes I had to use up instead of canned diced, and put in a tiny bit of chili pepper in adobo for heat instead of red pepper flakes (being careful to de-seed them.) Next time I won't rinse the beans. My chili started to dry out a little, so I added a bit of water. Delicious! No need for cheese, it's marvellous on its own. Thank you Daisy K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was a quick and easy recipe in a pinch. Very tasty. The whole family liked it. I recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

PHILADELPHIA® Creamy Tortilla Roll-Ups Recipe - Kraft Recipes

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Quick and easy. Lots of options to customize the "roll" ingredients to what you have on hand, add tomatoes, avocado, etc. I topped with shredded cheese and put under the broiler to melt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Onion Jam

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Searched through many recipes and decided on this because it was easy. WOW!! It's a keeper. I also agree with another reviewer,next time will chop onions smaller. I'd suggest a 1/4" dice. Mine were 1/2" so halfway through the cooking process, I used a hand masher and mashed them finer. Only had 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar so used apple cider vinegar to make 1/2 cup. Can't be rushed though, it did take about an hour and half from start to finish and worth the time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was very good and a little different from the usual twice baked potato by using the french onion dip. I did end up having to add a little milk to the mixture to get a bit more of a mashed potato consistency before stuffing back into the potato shells. We dipped the tops in a bread crumb & shredded cheddar mixture to give these a little extra crunch factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Easy OREO Truffles

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is super quick to make if you crush the Oreos in a food processor, blend using a pastry mixer, and use a small scoop to form the balls. I whip this up all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Terri's Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I'm not into sloppy joes. I had to make it for a party. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Torte

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Made just as recipe was written for five guests. No one made a comment about it, which said it all. I did not like it. This was very bland, was not sweet enough, and the ladyfingers added no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homestyle Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Had no flavor. won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini and Feta Cheese Fritters (Kolokithokeftedes)

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Loved these! We left out the mint and added some garlic. Put the mixture in the fridge for about an hour to stiffen up a little then just dropped by spoonfuls into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Summer Vegetable Linguine

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This was one of my favorite dishes I made over the summer. You can throw in what ever veggies you have in you garden. I subbed gorgonzola cheese for the feta, when added at the end it creates a very light, yummy sauce to stick to the pasta. I ribbon cut my zucchini to make them look pretty, used heirloom tomatoes for extra color, & made sure to add plenty of minced garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
These were great! I used kidney beans as recommended. I prepped the sweet potatoes by baking them in a 450 deg. oven for an hour, then peeling the skins off and mashing. I did make a few changes-I sautéed the onion and garlic with the spices first as another reviewer suggested, used dijon mustard, and replaced the soy sauce/cayenne with salt and pepper. I found that it did not need the 2c water. When baking the burritos, I lined the sheet with parchment paper and flipped them halfway through to get both sides crispy. This definitely made enough for 12 burritos made out of 8" tortillas. I ate it with plain greek yogurt, diced fresh tomatoes, and lettuce on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Trail Blazer Barbecue Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
My first attempt at homemade BBQ sauce- what took me so long? Pretty darn tasty- only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because I had nothing to compare it to. I really like the texture that the blender gives, and it makes for a nice even flavor. Froze half of it and it tasted just as good after thawing as it did when I first made it. Used it to dress a southern pulled pork recipe from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato and Strawberry Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Good to have something different sometimes other than our normal veggie topped grilled chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Polish Noodles (Cottage Cheese and Noodles)

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was delish considering how quick and easy it was to make. I used square pot pie noodles and added crumbled bacon to give it something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Real Strawberry Frosting

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was very disappointing. Did not taste like strawberry at all, more like sour fake sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Cake Mix Cookies IV

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I had an overabundance of cake mix in the house, so I decided to give this a try. I used a yellow cake mix and cut the oil to 1/3 cup. I then added aprox 1/2 cup of peanut butter and a mixture of choc chips and candy pieces to finish up some miscellaneious bags in the cupboard. Turned out great. This recipe is a great base. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States