Harrisburg, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sunday Chicken Dinner

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was very good, we cubed the potatoes but next time I would cut them even a little smaller or bake for a little longer as the potatoes were just barely done at the 2 hour mark. I also added a can of cream of chicken along with the cream of mushroom to make sure there was plenty of sauce, otherwise I think it may have been little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
You only need to make half the amount of dressing. I will add more gorgonzola next time. I used two 11oz cans mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ramen Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I took it to a girls get together and it was a hit. I made exactly as written. I made the day before the party. No one thought it was too salty. I did use low fat mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Style Chicken Pizza

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Totally awesome as written!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caiden's mommy
Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Butternut Squash Risotto

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Superb. Thank you for sharing. Featured in allrecipes magazine and I am so happy it was or I wouldn't have considered a squash risotto. Used 4 cups chicken broth and roasted the squash. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bottom Cupcakes I

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have made these for years. MOST IMPORTANT!! ONLY use Philadelphia Cream cheese. I have used off brands, low fat, fat free. All will get runny and not give you the same result. A few walnuts or pecans make them extra special. Once I even try icing them. Too much. Wouldn't recommend. They never last long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quiche Supreme

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this quiche crust less. I used milk instead of cream and shredded zucchini instead of green pepper b/c that's what I had on hand. I felt that the bake time was off, possibly b/c of my changes. I thought that it needed some garlic & maybe a bit of roasted red pepper to pull it together. Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Crab 'N Shrimp Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was my first time using canned shrimp and canned Bumble Bee crab. I chose this recipe because it was so easy and inexpensive to make, but I found it tasteless. However, I read the reviews and added the horseradish and Tabasco, and that fixed it right up! I also recommend letting the mixture sit in the fridge for a bit to allow the flavors to come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIJANUARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Excellent, followed exactly, making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Excellent,!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Quesadillas

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is spectacular! The second time around, I cut back on the oil for the peppers/onions and, having purchased a super good non stick pan, I was able to eliminate any oil or spray for frying the queso's. I cut back on the cheese (personal preference) and the flavor is still fabulous. Not too spicy with 1/2 jalpeno and other seasonings per the recipe - and my family is picky. Thank you, Dana for a great submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick's Kitchen

Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Great MEATLOAF AND SAUCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

Guacamole

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Since I started using this recipe, I'm forbidden from ever bring home store bought guac! I lower the salt to 1/2 tsp. as another reviewer suggested - 1 tsp. was too much for us. I use red onion and if I have a jalapeño, that's a happy addition to toss in. Either buy avocadoes in advance, or find a grocery store with a good Spanish-Latino cooking section. You won't be putting up with slimy cilantro or rock hard avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This turned out great for me when I brought it to a church brunch. The combination of egg, cheese, potatoes and sausage are always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Vegan Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Had I not made it myself, I would've sworn it wasn't vegan. I used melted coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and doubled the cocoa powder. Best chocolate cake I've ever had, let alone made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Patrick's Kitchen

Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Fabulous and as easy as pie - no...much easier! lol. Made exactly as written using chicken thighs (with bone)(extra 10 minutes broiling on low) and it was a hit! My son came downstairs during the cooking and said, "wow, it smells really good!" I said, yea, that's what a lot of reviewers said! I added asparagus to the pan for the last 8-10 minutes of broiling and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This one's a keeper! I like pumpkin in everything but I was a little nervous about serving this to my family. They loved it. I changed a bit based on what I had on hand - I know some reviewers don't like when you do this, but when you live far from the grocery store, that's how you cook and why I love the reviews on this site. I used crumbled apple sausage that my husband buys at the local farmer's market instead of ground beef. Didn't use any tomato paste but used the sauce. Allrecipes Magazine said to omit the sauce, but I found it was needed for moisture and great flavor, too. I had some fresh roma tomatoes I had to use up instead of canned diced, and put in a tiny bit of chili pepper in adobo for heat instead of red pepper flakes (being careful to de-seed them.) Next time I won't rinse the beans. My chili started to dry out a little, so I added a bit of water. Delicious! No need for cheese, it's marvellous on its own. Thank you Daisy K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Turkey

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Love it! This is the kind of recipe you want when your cooking for a large group. You can bake one Turkey while the other is out on the grill. Yum-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cofey4u

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States