Hanover, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I am rating this 4 stars based on the way it was written. What I ended up with was more along the lines of 6 stars. I made mine as a two layer cake and followed the advice of the other reviewers adding shredded coconut. Between the layers I placed a layer of coolwhip and coconut, then topped the cake with sweetened coconut pineapple tidbits and marachino cherries (those as a garnish). Without the coconut and extra pinapple I don't think it would have been nearly as good. I agree with others this is a great base recipe and with some flare can be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I am rating this 5 stars because what I ended up with was awesome and I am sure if I was able to follow the recipe completely it would have been perfect. I was short on supplies so I had to cut the egg portion in half, I was short 1/3 the amount of bacon and had no celery. What I did to offset this was increased the potatoes and added a tbsp on celery seed. It turned out great even though I was short on ingredients but was a pain in the butt to make. To make your bacon crispier place them on a baking sheet in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I am not a coleslaw eater but I made this for a family cookout. I followed the recipe other than cutting the sugar back to 1/3 cup and substituting the poppy seeds for celery seed as others suggested. Everyone loved and raved over it. Certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Beef Tips and Noodles

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
We liked this dish. Prior to baking, I browned my meat and poured the meat and juices into the casserole dish. I then used 1/2 a pack of brown gravy mix and 1/2 a pack of onion soup mix. The taste was really good but a little too salty and my family likes salt. I would say to add a little more water or cut down on the onion soup mix to try and reduce the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Sorry I and my family did not care for this recipe. We all agreed the strawberry glaze ruined it. I would suggest trying this again and using thawed frozen berries or a cooled down slurry mixed with sliced strawberries so that the juices soak into the cake and omitting the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Cookies turned out good, not great but good. They are cake like as others have said. I substituted an equal amount of pumpkin pie spice for the spices listed and as others have suggested, added a small amount of brown sugar. I would say to cut the icing amount in half since the recipe makes way more than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Real Strawberry Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Made this frosting yesterday. The flavor was nice and the strawberry certainly came through well but the frosting was a little too sweet and the texture very grainy due to the seed remnants. A smoother creamier frosting would have been preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Oregon Salmon Patties

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Best I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Excellent. Followed recipe to a tee. Did a rub of garlic salt and pepper. Also did a Bottom round roast. Just tied into a roll with bakers cord. Turned out perfect. Make sure you know the weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Master Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is so good and so easy. Made in a stone jelly roll pan. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Absolutely delicious! My Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Little Meat Loaves

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Did not like these at all. I think they would be better either with sausage or meat but not both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Pleasant Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I followed the recipe quite closely but did make some minor changes. The pork chops turned out tender and juicy. I cooked the pork chops in the butter and garlic but not using onions. In addition I added salt, pepper, oregano, extra bay leaves and extra paprika to the gravy and made it to taste. Overall the dish was good but the gravy was not very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Mom's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Absolutely the best! I did double the sauce and add dry mustard as suggest by others. A keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This turned out ok. I used the suggestions of others and subbed the white sugar for brown, cut the amount in half, omitted the water but doubled the sauce and browned the roast before putting it in the Crock pot. Even then the taste was a little sweet but was good, the problem was that it just wouldn't penetrate the meat even when I pricked it throughout. In the end I had to cut the meat into small pieces and baste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Peppermint Meringues

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Ok to be honest I am only lucky with about 1/4 of the meringues I try to make just have a heck of a time getting my whitse to stiffen but I managed to get them to stiffen for this recipe and I am glad I did. I followed others suggestion and added 1/4 tsp peppermint abstract and these turned out light and melted in your mouth. Would love to make again but I'll have to just stick with other desserts to preserve my sanity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Sausage and Cranberry Stuffing

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Made this for our holiday dinner. My husband loved this and I thought it was just good but not great. I felt like there were too many cranberries myself. Overall not a bad stuffing but not a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Moist Apple Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This cake turned out moist. I had to make some changes though. Due to our inability to consume too much sugar I omitted the glaze, I swapped out the pecans for walnuts and I added 1/2 cinnamon applesauce and 1/2 regular applesauce. The bread turned out fine but I expected better due to the reviews. I will make again with the glaze and I'm sure it will be better. Worthy of making again just not quite 5 stars without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was awesome!! I made this per the recipe with no changes (I did however forget to put the cinnamon and sugar mix on the bottom of the loaf pans but otherwise I followed to a T). The loaves turned out very moist with a great flavor. I got many raves over this and plan to make again. Would give 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Coconut Macaroons

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were ok. The batter was runny when following the recipe, I even added flour per some reviews but it was runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 94) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States