Hanover, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pleasant Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I followed the recipe quite closely but did make some minor changes. The pork chops turned out tender and juicy. I cooked the pork chops in the butter and garlic but not using onions. In addition I added salt, pepper, oregano, extra bay leaves and extra paprika to the gravy and made it to taste. Overall the dish was good but the gravy was not very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Mom's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Absolutely the best! I did double the sauce and add dry mustard as suggest by others. A keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This turned out ok. I used the suggestions of others and subbed the white sugar for brown, cut the amount in half, omitted the water but doubled the sauce and browned the roast before putting it in the Crock pot. Even then the taste was a little sweet but was good, the problem was that it just wouldn't penetrate the meat even when I pricked it throughout. In the end I had to cut the meat into small pieces and baste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Peppermint Meringues

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Ok to be honest I am only lucky with about 1/4 of the meringues I try to make just have a heck of a time getting my whitse to stiffen but I managed to get them to stiffen for this recipe and I am glad I did. I followed others suggestion and added 1/4 tsp peppermint abstract and these turned out light and melted in your mouth. Would love to make again but I'll have to just stick with other desserts to preserve my sanity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Sausage and Cranberry Stuffing

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Made this for our holiday dinner. My husband loved this and I thought it was just good but not great. I felt like there were too many cranberries myself. Overall not a bad stuffing but not a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Moist Apple Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This cake turned out moist. I had to make some changes though. Due to our inability to consume too much sugar I omitted the glaze, I swapped out the pecans for walnuts and I added 1/2 cinnamon applesauce and 1/2 regular applesauce. The bread turned out fine but I expected better due to the reviews. I will make again with the glaze and I'm sure it will be better. Worthy of making again just not quite 5 stars without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was awesome!! I made this per the recipe with no changes (I did however forget to put the cinnamon and sugar mix on the bottom of the loaf pans but otherwise I followed to a T). The loaves turned out very moist with a great flavor. I got many raves over this and plan to make again. Would give 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Coconut Macaroons

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were ok. The batter was runny when following the recipe, I even added flour per some reviews but it was runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was absolutely fabulous!! I followed the directions exactly as printed and it turned out wonderfully! I had to bake four batches of the chips as my largest pan wasn't large enough. Each batch baked to perfection in 8 minutes. I did not have to flip them and they were perfect. I used Chi-Chi's Burrito sized flour tortillas and used a pizza cutter to to cut each one into 8 equal size triangles. Thank you very much for this easy, delicious, low fat snack!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinadubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Made this turkey today. I had to adjust the ingredients some to match what I had on hand. Instead of 4 cups of water with the bouillan I used 3 cups of chicken broth along with 1 cup of water and 1 chicken cube. I also used 6 tbsp of Mrs. Dash instead of the parsley and onion. I put 8 tbsp of butter under the skin. The turkey came out good and everyone was pleased. I am only rating this 4 stars though because I found it a little bland given all the seasonings used. I think next time I will use more seasonings and leave them on the bird for a while before cooking. Overall good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Day Before Pay Day Fried Rice

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight and followed the recipe. The rice was in no way similar to any fried rice I have ever eaten. The rice was beyond bland and had no flavor at all. Sorry this was just awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
awesome! Made as stated !! A definite keeper, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Pork Chop

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Amounts needed to be adjusted slightly but overall simple recipe that comes together well. I'd be happy to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Apple Crisp IV

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Not the best for my family. It was ok, we ate with vanilla ice cream. I won't serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
A big hit at party ! I did add the whole 10oz size of chopped spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Apple Dapple Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
very good, very moist. I understand everyones preferences are different when it comes to spices. I added the combination I use with my apple pie. Definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Lo Mein

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Thought this was a great recipe! I used canned carrots and peas and only about 2 cups of cabbage. I also used left over turkey breast from a prior meal and it turned out very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinadubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
My guys loved the way this tasted. We all agreed though that the veggies ruined the chili and won't be adding them next time. I also had to add extra buffalo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

The Best Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This wasn't bad. The food was hearty and flavorful. Maybe a few extra spices would have been nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Cajun Crab Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
AWESOME! I made exactly as written but added 2 cups tiny diced potatoes, 1 cup finely chopped celery, 1 T Old Bay ! A definate keeper! Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 94) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States