Hanover, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I was in the mood for crepes but couldn't find my go to recipe so I decided to use this one. Not remembering the ingredient amounts I followed this one to the T even though others said it was thick. First off the medium-high heat is too high. If you choose to try this recipe you should cook them on medium heat. The mixture is too thick and essentially makes an omelet. While trying to save this recipe and make a good crepe I added another egg and a tbsp of milk. Even this combined with my immersion blender and cutting back on the amount cooked didn't help completely. A good crepe should be light and airy with a light golden brown appearance. When making one you should drop just enough mixture to swirl and coat the bottom of the pan. I knew when I saw the cooking time something was wrong because it should take 30 seconds - 1 minute for your crepe to cook before being flipped. If you're in the mood for an omelet this makes a decent one but not a crepe. The cook time, ingredient amounts and heat setting are all off, I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and started out with 1/2 cup of sugar and added as needed to taste. Alot of people would be happy with 1/2 cup and 1 whole cup is way too much. Try 1/2 cup and keep adding until you are happy. You may still need to mash your cranberries a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Fabulous recipe...so glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jambalaya

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I had to alter the recipe based on what I had in the pantry. What I ended up with was great. I cut the recipe in half and cut out all seasonings except for the Cajun seasoning. I used one can of Tomatoes with green chilies vs listed one. I also substituted all of the remaining ingredients and the rice for one bag of Spanish rice. I found that the dish was dry so I added the entire can of tomatoes with green chilies (would have called for 1/2 since the recipe was halved) to compensate. Nice recipe, I think I will make again just the way I did tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Sausage Mushroom Quiche

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I should have listened to others when they said there was not enough filling for two pies. Double the ingredients! If you follow the directions then you'll find it needs more egg and cheese. I also skipped the lemon juice because frankly it made no sense. I won't use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was a great apple pie recipe. I had a bag of apples that were going to go bad if they didn't get ate so I decided to make a pie on a whim. I had store bought pie crusts so I used those vs making my own. I had 8 red delicious apples so I used them rather than the granny smith. I followed the recipe but added cinnamon. Instead of just pouring the sugar mixture over the apples I poured 3/4 of it into a mixing bowl and mixed it with the sliced apples thoroughly this way it is evenly distributed over all slices. I then used the remaining mixture to coat the of the apples before applying the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Made this today for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it! I had to cook it longer than the posted time for the topping to set nicely. I did use two large cans of sweet potatoes to save time. I used my immersion blender to cream the sweet potatoes and evenly distribute the ingredients. Save this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Pecan Pie Bars I

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this yesterday for Thanksgiving dinner. I did make a couple of changes though. I used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. I also used all butter, no margarine. The bars turned out really good. I would suggest that you scoop some of the filling out so it doesn't run over and cause a mess in the oven, also you may need to lengthen the baking time another 5-10 minutes for the bars to properly set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Hot Pepper Mustard

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Very good, husband loved it better then gourmet mustard be buy. I did use a mix of 5 different peppers because we like more heat! In addition to the banana peppers, I used a chili pepper, Hungarian wax pepper, jalapeño pepper and a habanero pepper. A definite keeper! Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cottage Cheese Spinach Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
VERY DELICIOUS!!! I followed the recipe and it turned out so delicious along with the fettuccine alfredo and steamed broccoli, very healthy yet plentiful for me being a savory and hearty person! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is difficult to rate. I had to make this the day before a party. When I made it I tried a small spoonful of this and thought it was good. After it sat in the fridge (well covered) for a day it was somewhat dried out and didn't seem to taste as good. I tried to add milk to fix the problem but it just didn't seem to help. I will keep this but only make it shortly before a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I didn't have time to make the chips so I bought some (they weren't good). I got mixed reviews on this. Some really liked it and others either didn't or found it just ok. I will keep the recipe but will likely make only a small amount in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
If I could give this 10 stars I would! Everyone loved these and I ran out! Here's a tip, if you dump your sugar on a paper plate, wrap your wieners with the raw bacon and spear them, you can use the toothpick to pat, roll etc it around in the sugar. The sugar will stick to the raw bacon, rather than trying to sprinkle it on, you'll get more sugar on and it will be closer to an equal amount on each one. Once you've done this and laid them out, sprinkle some more on them before baking and when they go into the crock pot dump the rest of the sugar on them. Do not use colored toothpicks the color will leave a small stain/run. The serving size is inaccurate on the recipe, the actual serving is closer to 8-10 instead of 16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I am rating this 4 stars based on the way it was written. What I ended up with was more along the lines of 6 stars. I made mine as a two layer cake and followed the advice of the other reviewers adding shredded coconut. Between the layers I placed a layer of coolwhip and coconut, then topped the cake with sweetened coconut pineapple tidbits and marachino cherries (those as a garnish). Without the coconut and extra pinapple I don't think it would have been nearly as good. I agree with others this is a great base recipe and with some flare can be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I am rating this 5 stars because what I ended up with was awesome and I am sure if I was able to follow the recipe completely it would have been perfect. I was short on supplies so I had to cut the egg portion in half, I was short 1/3 the amount of bacon and had no celery. What I did to offset this was increased the potatoes and added a tbsp on celery seed. It turned out great even though I was short on ingredients but was a pain in the butt to make. To make your bacon crispier place them on a baking sheet in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I am not a coleslaw eater but I made this for a family cookout. I followed the recipe other than cutting the sugar back to 1/3 cup and substituting the poppy seeds for celery seed as others suggested. Everyone loved and raved over it. Certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Beef Tips and Noodles

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
We liked this dish. Prior to baking, I browned my meat and poured the meat and juices into the casserole dish. I then used 1/2 a pack of brown gravy mix and 1/2 a pack of onion soup mix. The taste was really good but a little too salty and my family likes salt. I would say to add a little more water or cut down on the onion soup mix to try and reduce the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Sorry I and my family did not care for this recipe. We all agreed the strawberry glaze ruined it. I would suggest trying this again and using thawed frozen berries or a cooled down slurry mixed with sliced strawberries so that the juices soak into the cake and omitting the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Cookies turned out good, not great but good. They are cake like as others have said. I substituted an equal amount of pumpkin pie spice for the spices listed and as others have suggested, added a small amount of brown sugar. I would say to cut the icing amount in half since the recipe makes way more than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Real Strawberry Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Made this frosting yesterday. The flavor was nice and the strawberry certainly came through well but the frosting was a little too sweet and the texture very grainy due to the seed remnants. A smoother creamier frosting would have been preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 94) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States