Greensburg, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Kung Pao Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Good recipe on the first try. I did double the sauce as suggested, but do not recommend doubling the corn starch, as it isnt necessary. I also did a few things to enrich the flavors: use half dark, half light soy sauce in the sauce, add some chipotle powder to the marinade and a little fresh ginger and extra minced garlic to the sauce as well. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUNPUNCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These were so easy! I whipped them up and had the kitchen cleaned up in under 20 minutes! If you don't have buttermilk, use 1T of lemon juice or vinegar with the milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Ranch Dressing II

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I found this too be too runny and lacking any spice it was way too over powered by the tang of the butter milk. try using 1 cup of sour cream a package of dry ranch dressing mix, and follow with the ingrediants. It makes a fantastic dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Stanton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah

Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Our family is following a low-sodium diet and this recipe was perfect with only 1 adjustment. Instead of using the cumin, oregano, salt and chili powder - I simply used approximately 4-5 tablespoons of Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime seasoning. It is sodium free and has all of those spices (plus more) in it. I was also able to find "NO ADDED SALT" diced tomatoes. I also added about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar at the end - it just gave it a different flavor that I liked. I used lean ground turkey. We will eating this with tacos, salads, wheat egg noodles or brown rice. Would also be nice on a roll as a Sloppy Joe type sandwich or on top of a baked potato. The possibilities are endless! This will be added to our regular "rotation" and I would definately recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke and Escargot Over Linguini

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe was very, very dry. I added a bit of heavy cream, a bit of romano cheese, and some grated fontina, took away the oregano-didn't quite mesh with esgargot. And added frsh chopped parsley. trick add a bit of the canning liquid in as well. Also, if you want more flavor omit the artichokes add diced tomatoes and capers and a hearty splash of white wine. (wine and artichokes do not go well together at all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Stanton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Very good. I followed the recipe exactly. I let the burgers hang out in the fridge for about an hour before cooking - and they held together very well. I will make them again without a bun - they are tasty all on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Spicy Spicy Ranch Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
since posting yhis recipe, i too have switched to the homemade ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Stanton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Bay® Shrimp Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This is definitely the taste I was looking for in a shrimp salad. But let me warn you all out there - when making your sauce try it first with 1 teaspoon of lemon juice and taste - I found 2 teaspoons too much. The Old Bay could be cut down by 1/2 teaspoon too. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Black Bean Hummus

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Whole Jar of Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I was a little bit disappointed with the results of this recipe. They went rather flat while baking. The criss-cross fork impressions were lost. They were chewy, but it didn't have an intense peanut butter flavor like I was expecting. I prefer a firmer peanut butter cookie, this was thin and somewhat greasy. I used margarine instead of butter, because that is all I had on hand. It was good, I might try this recipe again with butter to see if the results are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnstoops08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Export, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Challah I

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I decided to make challah bread after my husband and I picked up a loaf of it at the bakery. It was the best bread we have ever tasted! I chose this recipe after reading the reviews and went with it. I added an extra egg to the mix and used a 1/2 cup honey, which resulted in needing to add about 10 cups of flour instead of 8. I mixed everything by hand because I was worried about overworking the dough. I watched a video on youtube on how to braid the loaves after the dough had risen. I used one egg white mixed with a tablespoon of honey as an egg wash. I baked one loaf on a cookie sheet lined with parchment and the other on a baking stone. The loaf on the baking stone got dark right away so I had to put foil on top of it to keep it from burning. The baking stone loaf only took 25 minutes while the cookie sheet loaf needed 30. The bread itself is fantastic, a little bit dense but soft and lightly sweet. It is so delicious. The recipe is easy even with a few slight modifications. My husband and guests raved about how tasty it was. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnstoops08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Export, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pistachio Mallow Salad

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made this for a Mother's Day brunch and it was a big hit! I used chopped walnuts in place of pistachios and used multi-colored flavored marshmallows and it was wonderful! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made this for a Mother's Day brunch and it was a big hit! I followed the recipe "as is" and made it the night before. The morning after, I poured it into a small crock pot to warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Haystacks

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very simple and suprisingly addictive. Sweet, salty and crunchy. My husband eats the entire batch within a day. Honestly, I can't make it often because it is dangerous to have around....you know what I mean?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Authentic Thousand Island Dressing

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This dressing is delicious. I am not an egg fan though. If you love eggs in your salad you will flip over this recipe. I now make with out mixing in the eggs and it is perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
The best muffin ever! Recipe is easy to follow and quick to put together. I did add a little vanilla like others suggested and a pinch of nutmeg and ground cloves to the topping. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clark's Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
We are going to my mother's for Easter this year and quiche sounded like a good idea. I came across this recipe and read all the rave reviews and figured i would give this a shot. As I was preparing this recipe, the amount of ingredients seemed like a lot (there was so much cheese!) so I ended up splitting the mix between three deep dish pie crusts instead of two. I did one of the pies without ham because my husband has some strange aversion to ham and mixed in broccoli instead. I also substituted sliced artichoke for mushrooms for all the pies. I let them cook just a little longer due to the extra veggies. The crust was dark but not burnt. The flavor is fantastic, very savory and hits the spot. This is probably the best quiche I've ever had! God bless you Clark for sharing this recipe! I can't wait to share this with my family as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnstoops08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Export, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I was skeptical of this at first. But I was looking for a meatless dinner option during Lent and tried this. It surprised me! Definately sautee some minced garlic in olive oil before adding the other ingredients. I also stir in some grated parmesean cheese to the whole thing before serving. Even better the next day (after all of the flavors have a chance to blend!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The cheesecake this recipe produces is simply amazing. It is creamy, rich and flavorful. My husband who normally turns his nose up to this dessert raved about how delicious this cheesecake is. The recipe is so easy to follow. I gave my sister and her husband some of the cheesecake (in an attempt to get it out of the house; I would eat all of it! It is just that good!) and he claimed it is "the cheesecake that will change your life." The first two I made didn't crack, but every one after those have been getting large "Y" cracks in the center. I greased the sides, put a pan of water underneath the cake, and added a teaspoon of cornstarch. I'm guessing that maybe I over mixed the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnstoops08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Export, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Made this recipe yesterday for a local chili cook off. Not only did everyone rave about it but it took 1st place out of 12 entries!! The only thing I did different was left out the bell peppers and that was only because I forgot to pick them up at the grocery store. A couple people commented they thought it was a bit to spicy/hot but the majority enjoyed it. I did not even have a scoop left over!! This is definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States