Downingtown - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Barley and Mushrooms with Beans

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight, I am a vegetarian the rest of my family is not. My non-vegatarian husband ate three helpings! He loved it! The only change I made was to substitute zucchini for celery out of personal taste. I will make this again for sure and might take others suggestions and put spinach in it as well. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Garlic Orzo

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was delicious. Made it almost exactly as written except that I added fresh basil instead of parsley. Also added some garlic salt. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Slow-Cooked Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made this today for a group of friends and my boyfriend for Sunday Night Football - everyone loved it. Very hearty and flavorful, juicy but not too thin at all. I was a little worried about it being too dry at first but after the 3rd hour on high in the slow cooker it really got a nice broth. Overall, it was great and everyone said the flavor was awesome. I prefer my chili on the spicier side so I just added some fresh jalapeno slices and cayenne hot sauce on top of my shredded cheese and sour cream. My one friend who doesn't really like anything too spicy said it was perfect. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I only made a few changes. Used a pound of boneless chicken breast, pounded thin and then sliced, and only needed about 1/2 cup of flour. Doubled green pepper, onion and used 2 cans of diced tomatoes. The rest was pretty much like the reciped called for. Served over pasta with a sprinkle of parm cheese. It was delicous. Light and healthy tasting. The only thing I would do differently next time is season the chicken a bit more. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Pulled Pork

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Delicious! Followed recipe except I put the onions on the bottom like someone suggested, and then mixed the rest of the ingredients together and poured it over the pork. Cooked on high for 4 hours and low on 4 hours and the pork fell apart. After shredding, I put the pork back in 1/2 the sauce mixed with some additional barbeque sauce. Awesome recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef Curly Noodle

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I first tried this recipe exactly as printed, and thought it was just okay. Wasn't crazy about the oriental seasoning, and I especially did not like the sweet taste the liquid from the corn gave the dish. Tonight I tried it again, this time using 1lb of beef, two cans of diced tomatoes, two packages of ramen noodles, without using the seasoning packets, one can of corn, and then added about 3/4 cup of tomato sauce, a little fat free half and half, and some parmesan cheese. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Kugel

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I liked this, just didn't love it. I was not happy with the overwhelming flavor of the onion soup mix. Next time I will try with sauteed onions and maybe even mushrooms. Maybe some fresh garlic? And then add seasonings to taste. Also, the noodles on top were too hard and crunchy. I will cover next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as printed, except I only had it in the crockpot for 10 hours and it was extremely tender. We liked it, but thought it was lacking flavor. I used regular soy sauce and thought it actually needed more salt. Next time, I would season the meat before putting it in the crock pot. Still, a delicious easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken a la King I

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I can't believe I've never had Chicken a la King before, but this was my first time. My family really enjoyed this dish! Made it almost exactly as written except that I didn't have a green pepper, so I used green peas, instead. Also added a sliced onion and some fresh garlic with the mushrooms. I spilled my reserved mushroom liquid, so I added a second can. Served over rice. Delicious comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I thought this was delicious. I wanted to let people know that there is an easier way to make this to save time and reduce clean-up. I used my large stockpot and boiled the pasta first. I then drained the pasta and let it sit in a colander in the sink. In the same pot that I made the pasta, I then cooked thinly sliced chicken in some oil, and added some fresh garlic. After the chicken was cooked, I added the other ingredients right to the pot, mixed it well, and then added the penne. No need for additional mixing bowls. I then poured the mixture into my large 9 x 13 baking stone, and had no problem fitting it all in. Next I sprinkled on the topping and baked for 30 minutes, which was plenty. I thought it was delicious and will make again. I did reduce the chicken to 1 1/2 pounds, the cheese to 2 cups, the pesto to 8 oz, and the penne to 3/4 of the box. If making again, I would do exactly the same, except use the entire box of penne. THis was a keeper! Thanks, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is fantastic! I love how the Guinness cuts the sweet of the chocolate. I made it and brought some to work in March, and now, in January co-workers are STILL talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuziHockey8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Chicken, Cheese, and Wine

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This recipe sounds delicious, but there has got to be a mistake in the cook time. 90 minutes on 350 degrees for boneless chicken breasts? They would be dried up and shriveled!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Just perfect! Easy and delicious!! I put my asparagus in a ziploc bag and tossed them with all the ingredients. The garlic is a must! The only thing I did different was added garlic salt instead of regular salt. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Spinach Artichoke Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Just a few notes...I always use light cream cheese, light sour cream, margarine instead of butter, and light mayo....which will greatly reduce the fat but not the flavor. Yes, it's on the decadent side, but it's well worth it for special occasions. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheeseburger Soup I

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is one of those recipes where tweaking is expected. After all when we create a recipe the ingredient amounts are approximate. I rate it as a 4, as it presently stands, but made the following changes: doubled ground beef, carrots and onions (maybe basil and parsley too?); used 1 can beef broth, two cans chicken (would have used 3 beef but didn't have another on hand); I have no idea how much white sauce I made (1.5), but I made it a cheese sauce using 2 c. shredded extra sharp cheddar; added two cups shredded xshch at the end and a little bit of cooked bacon (didn't need it). 17-year old took it to school for lunch even though the container required a gift bag with a handle and "lots of tape around the edges." He has a very big football game tonight and I feel honored and so should you, Auntylene. You could contribute to three touchdowns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was really delicious! Prepared almost exactly as written except that I only used 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c margarine to cut the fat. And I added about a 1/2 cup of wine to make up the difference so that there would be enough sauce for my linguni. Baked for about 10 minutes, served over pasta. Also added some garlic salt. Really, really good. Restaurant quality. And you can add some other spices if desired...some basil, red pepper flakes, cajun seasoning...but we enjoyed it as is. And very easy and quick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bayfield

Peach Whirligigs

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was really delicious! I made a few changes based on other reviews. I used 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar for apple mixture.I also added a small amount of cinnamon to the apple mixture. I will also double the roll recipe next time. I used 5 large fresh apples, and I could have used 6 or 7. All in all it was delicious and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Lemon Pepper Linguini

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was very good. I made a low fat version, deleting the butter. I would probably give it 4 stars the way I made it, but considering how much richer it would have tasted with the butter, I'm giving it 5 stars. Still, it was worth it to me to save on the fat and calories. I also added some spinach which was delicious. The dish had a very fresh flavor and my entire family enjoyed it. I doubled the sauce and used an entire box of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I took other suggestions and cut the flour to one cup. I also only used three eggs. I wanted mine to be a bit more fudgy. They turned out great! next time I think I would cut back on the butter. But overall a great brownies with stuff I had on hand! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana-Chip Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I added 2 T. milled flax, used olive oil instead of the applesauce, and added a little sprinkling of oatmeal/brown sugar/butter on top- they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaBakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chestnut Ridge, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States