Carlisle, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spicy Pretzels

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I used 1 tsp. of garlic powder, 1 tsp. cayenne, and 1 tsp. lemon pepper. I used only 1/2 of the ranch mix and added enough oil to mix everything together. I love that this recipe does not require any baking. However, it is very salty and I love salt. It reminders me of the oyster cracker/ranch dressing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cantaloupe Crunch

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I wanted to use my ripe cantaloupe and made this as well as the Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze from this site. No one could tell that cantaloupe was the fruit--the seasonings over powered the fruit. Many thought it was a peach cobbler. In the end, I was asked to make the Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze again but not this...sorry. It was edible but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Collard Greens with White Beans

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had leftover collard greens from Thanksgiving that were waaaayyy to spicy and I wanted a way to use them; not throw them away and this recipe was my answer. I used no-salt canned tomatoes and white beans and added onions since mine did not have many. I omitted the rest of the seasonings since my collards had plenty of flavoring. I then added broth and water and turned this into a soup. This is definitely a recipe that can be used with leftovers. Great idea! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cauliflower Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I was looking to use my cauliflower before I went on vacation and I had all the ingredients on hand. It was very good. Not something that I must include in my rotation but I will use this again when I need to use a head of cauliflower. Definitely add bacon if you have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Snowflake Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I used one box of lemon cake mix with the pudding, one 8 oz. container of cool whip, and one egg. Let sit in the fridge overnight and the dough was still very sticky but the cookies were delicious! I made this for Christmas and was asked for the recipe. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pineapple

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Iomitted the water and used the juices in the canned pineapple. I used the recommended corn starch but only 1/2 cup of sugar. The overall result was a very sugary sweet topping that would go better on top of a sundae not ham. I didn't have bread to make the typical baked pineapple side dish but this is not a good subsitute unless you are looking for a sweet, gooey, sundae topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Brownie Mix Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Sticky although I put it in the fridge overnight. I used parchment paper too. Edible but I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I doubled the panko breadcrumbs for the meatballs and added a dash of granulated garlic. I used a small scoop to make the meatballs. I baked the meatballs @ 350 degrees for 15 minutes on a broiler pan to drain some of the extra fat. I brought the broth to a boil, added shredded carrots and whole wheat seashell pasta and cooked for 5-10 minutes. For the last five minutes, I added the cooked meatballs and fresh spinach ((I didn't waste my time cutting or dicing it, I used whole spinach leaves (not baby).)) Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very easy to make. I followed one review and mixed everything in my blender. I will definitely use this recipe if I don't have bisquick on hand otherwise, the mix works just as well. I also increased the vanilla flavoring. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Venison Burger and Steak Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
The original recipe was much spicier. Allrecipes changed my original recipe. I used baby portabella mushrooms, more chili powder, more paprika, more garlic, and sweet italian sausage. I also did not use the liquid with canned diced tomatoes, I like my chili thick, not runny. Thank you for the great reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made several changes based upon what I had in my pantry. I used two cans of Dole's Tropical Fruit Salad (reserving the liquid to prevent the bananas and apple from browning), one granny smith apple, three small bananas, 1/4 c. frozen blueberries (I didn't have grapes), one 15 oz. can of drained mandarin oranges (I didn't have fresh), and one 10 oz. jar of maraschino cherries, drained and rinsed (if you don't rinse the cherries, it will make the syrup a yucky artificial color). I put the reserved liquid from the tropical fruit salad in a glass bowl adding the sliced bananas and diced apples and let them marinate while I assembled the salad. First I drained the tropical fruit in one bowl and put the tropical fruit in another bowl. I cut the bananas and apples and added to the juice I then added the rinsed, halved cherries, frozen blueberries, and drained mandarin oranges to the tropical fruit bowl. Mix together and let the fresh fruit mix rest in the juices for a while then add to the canned fruit mix. Refrigerated for several hours. So simple and the fresh fruit really makes a difference. Everyone loved it and it keeps well so you can definitely make it a day ahead of your party or dinner which is what I did and will do in the future. Thanks for sharing a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Piggy Wiggys

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used Hillshire Farms chicken sausage and one can of crescent rolls for 40 sausages. I cut each triangle into 3 or 4 pieces using a pizza cutter. I placed the piggy wiggy on a parchment lined cookie pan for easier cleanup and baked for 15 minutes. Served with BBQ sauces and mustards--horseradish and regular mustard. I prefer the chicken sausage which is less greasy than any other sausage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Carrots

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I put everything in a Ziploc steam bag and microwaved for six minutes. Easy clean-up and the carrots were perfect. I recommend using a bag of mini carrots for even easier preparation. A keeper that I will use in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bean Relish

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I scaled this recipe down to use one can of beans. I didn't have dry mustard so I subbed wasabi powder (1/4 tsp.) I used 1/4 c. mayo and 3 T. relish and a dash of granulated garlic in lieu of the garlic. I added white pepper and a ground pepper medley. I mixed everything together and let it sit in the fridge overnight; delicious! I wish I would have made more since everyone loved it. It reminded me of my Dad's homemade ham salad replacing the ham with beans. We prefered serving this over Ritz crackers which adds a buttery dimension to this recipe. Next time I will definitely make more and drain the pickle relish and perhaps add some white beans if I don't have several cans of the kidney beans. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Squash I

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I loved it; my family did not. They prefer the traditional spaghetti squash with spaghetti sauce and sausage. I didn't have time to use my traditional crockpot cooking method of pouring 2 cups of water into the pot, pierce the squash with holes, and cook on low 8-9 hours. So, I tried two methods: oven and stovetop. Oven: preheat oven to 375, cut squash in half, put in pan and add water to 1/2 inches, bake for 45 minutes or until done. Stovetop: Bring a pot of water to a boil at medium high heat, add squash ensuring that it's covered halfway; cook 30 minutes turning halfway through. For simplicity, I love the crockpot method. A close second was the oven method--the only downfall was the difficulty in cutting the raw squash. The stovetop method although quicker was very difficult in separating the strands from the seeds in the end. I liked this recipe but I love spaghetti squash. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Pudding IV

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I followed the advice of another reviewer...I used Pepperidge Farm Chessmen cookies in lieu of the Nilla wafers. I used only 2 cups milk to mix into the instant pudding. I beat the pudding & milk with a mixer, then beat the cream cheese with the condensed milk separately, stirred the cool whip into the cheese mixture, and added that to the instant pudding. I used 8 bananas to fill a 13 x 9 aluminum pan. The pudding set up perfectly. The bananas darkened after we cut into it, but they tasted just as good the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Delicious! I used leftover rosemary herb french bread and maple breakfast sausage. I cooked the sausage in my toaster oven then cut off the casing and ground it up. I put 1/2 cup of cheese in the mixture and the remaining on top. I ended up storing this in the fridge for two days before I cooked it. It was a little dry so I added more milk before the final cooking stage. Yummy with minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Syrup and Banana Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I made this for one person using one slightly ripe banana and 1/3 of the ingredients. I added a splash of vanilla extract and served over two gluten free pancakes--my uncle LOVED it! He said it was like something served at a fancy restaurant. Two pancakes, 1 serving of this banana topping, and a few sausage links...delicious! My aunt and I ate it over pancakes with gluten--I wouldn't change a thing. A definite keeper that impressed! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Omit the glaze. The recipe fits in one 9x5 bread pan and two smaller aluminum bread pans. The consensus is the bread is better with chopped pecans in it. Use very ripe cantaloupe. I told everyone that it was pumpkin bread until they agreed that they liked it then I told them the truth. Many agreed that they wouldn't have tried cantaloupe bread. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Taco Dip

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delicious with slight modifications. I doubled the recipe. So I mixed 2 cans of refried beans with one taco seasoning overnight and 1/2 of a serving of Taco Seasoning I by Bill Echols--it didn't make a difference. I put the remaining Taco Seasoning I in the sour cream/cream cheese mixture and let it sit overnight. Also used 2 jars of thick and chunky salsa and draining overnight eliminated two cups of water from the salsa. Layer 1-beans, layer 2-cream cheese, sour cream w/taco seasoning, layer 3-tomatoes, layer 4-green onions, layer 5-gucamole, layer 6-drained thick and chunky salsa, layer 7-cheese, layer 8-black olives. It keeps well in the fridge for at least a week. Next time I will put the taco seasoning in the sour cream mixture not the beans. I have also made it with Rotel vs. salsa which works well and is cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States