Carlisle, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Greek Pasta Salad I

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
The Soldiers like the Antipasto Pasta Salad recipe more from this site. This one was very mild in flavor; Italian dressing would have been stronger. I won't make this again but it was good. We all like the other recipe more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Green Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I also followed the recipe as written and it was okay; a borderline 2-star rating. I used fresh green beans but the onion, smoked ham, butter, and garlic just didn't provide flavor to the beans. Perhaps broth would have improved the flavor but increase the fat and calories and I was looking for a healthy recipe. I won't make this again although it was flavorless and edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb-Stuffed Red Peppers

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is my third stuffed pepper recipe from this site and my least favorite; I hated the allspice. The ground beef results in more calories than the Stuffed Peppers My Way and I feel that the spices are overwhelming. I won't make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greeked Zucchini

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Definitely follow famouscooks' suggestions. I used 3/4 of a cup of diced red onion and 3/4 of a cup of diced green peppers, for one zucchini. Used 20 kalamata olives (I sliced and diced). I used at least a half a cup of fat-free feta. When layering, mix in at least 1/2 a teaspoon of rosemary and freshly ground black pepper and garlic powder; I didn't have Greek vinaigrette dressing I used an olive oil vinegrette dressing. I also, layered in finely diced capers. I put about 1T. of the olive oil on the foil and omitted the non-stick spray. YUMMY! But, the feta didn't melt for me unlike the picture. UPDATE: I tried it in a casserole dish and did not like it at all. The ingredients and flavors didn't melt together; it makes a better presentation in a casserole dish but doesn't taste as good as the foil version. Definitely a keeper in the foil with slight alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bean Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I grew up on this salad. The variety of beans provides more fiber and nutrition than other bean salads on this site. My mom always used 2/3c. olive oil or a canola/vegetable/olive oil combo to equal the 2/3c., 3/4c. APPLE CIDER VINEGAR (white is too strong), 1/2c. Splenda or 3/4c. sugar. The salad gets better with age so we try to make it 2-4 days ahead of the party. If you cannot make it ahead of time, microwave the drained and rinsed garbanzo and kidney beans for 60 seconds and the wax and green beans for 30 seconds; the black beans turn to mush if microwaved. Microwaving the beans softens them so the dressing is absorbed much quicker. I use my salad spinner to drain and rinse the beans--garbanzo and kidney beans together, dump in the plastic bag or bowl, then I spin the green and wax beans. This also mixes the beans together which results in less breakage or mushy beans. If I'm taking this to a party, I prepare the recipe in a gallon ziploc bag, pack in a cooler with ice blocks on the bottom, and then put in the bowl when I get to the party. The ziploc bag allows me to mix the beans/marinade together easily and the clean up is so easy. If you don't have ground black pepper, use 1tsp. celery seeds. I omit the salt from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Onion Blossom

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I love this versatile recipe. Always put the onion on the grill first--the foil really retains the heat so it can sit a few minutes while you finish cooking the steaks. I use small onions, the kind you find in the 5 lb. onion bag, when I forget to start the cookout with the onion on the grill however the cook time is 20 minutes or less. The new non-stick grilling aluminum foil works really well so you don't have to coat the inside of the foil with butter or non-stick spray. A few variations of this recipe are: 1T. brown sugar, 1 1/2T. butter, and 1T. worchestersauce, ground black pepper-no garlic salt OR 1T. brown sugar, 1 1/2T. butter, 1T. soy sauce-no garlic salt OR 1T. brown sugar, 1 1/2T. butter, 1T. steak sauce (vidalla onion steak sauce is a crowd pleaser), and ground black pepper-no garlic salt. The recipe variations result in a brownish-colored onion not as pictured in this recipe however, this is such a simple addition to a great steak dinner or it's even great on grilled sausage or brats. I haven't tried soaking the onion in water yet. Happy grilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Mushrooms in Garlic

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I didn't like this one as much as the Mushrooms with Soy Sauce Glaze recipe. Perhaps it was the wine that I used but I love mushrooms and garlic but it didn't hit a homerun. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pea Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I loved the simplicity but it was a little dry for me the day that I made it and I was hoping that the frozen peas would add more moisture overnight but it didn't. Using the stated measurements for the mustard, the overall color and presentation wasn't great; I recommend adding more mustard so it's yellow (not brown) or omit the mustard. I added one hard boiled egg which I had on hand and need to use but next time I would add more mayo or sour cream and perhaps bacon. This is a great starter recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Bean Chimichangas

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was a keeper for us. We're trying to eat more beans and this is a very tasty way to do it. After baking I let them cool and put them in a closed container for lunches during the week. The only change I made - only used half of the spices and only half of the taco sauce because I wanted to be able to handle these easily once cooled. Also I used beef cubes instead of ground beef. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Red Pepper Tapenade

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I increased the servings in the recipe based upon my wine party and ended up with almost equal amounts of roasted red peppers and artichokes. I mixed everything together minus the fresh cilantro and stored it overnight in the refrigerator. Guests really enjoyed the flavors but several commented that the garlic was too strong. Perhaps it was too strong for a wine party but not an Italian party? One family asked for the recipe so I will make this again but with 1/4 of the garlic. So simple and such a great idea. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushrooms with a Soy Sauce Glaze

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but substituted the soy sauce for Mrs. Bragg's Liquid Aminos, since I had that on hand, and everyone loved it. It was devoured and a definite keeper. Thanks for the great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kalamata Olive Tapenade

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Delicious! I did not deviate from the the recipe. I made it the night before a party and put it in the fridge overnight. It was well received! I will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Excellent change from sweetened sweet potatoes. I chunked an onion and tossed it in with this recipe and left out the brown sugar altogether. Yum. This will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Just what I was looking for. I left out the blueberries because I didn't have any. I was just seeking a WW pancake recipe. I used 3tsp egg beaters and 1.5 cups of almond milk. Portioned each at 1/4 cup which made 10 pancakes at 66 calories each! Just the perfect fit into my breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a Crafty Stitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I love rice pudding and I've been trying to make a respectable one for years. I just made this and it far surpasses respectable. The only thing I changed was that I used almost a cup of long grain rice instead of 3/4 because it was all that was left in my package. It turned out wonderfully creamy. I added the tsp of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg in the last step. Fantastic!!! Thanks Erica!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I loved this recipe! This will be my new "go-to". I didn't bother separating the egg yolk. I simply used two eggs. Turned out AMAZING. Make sure to make them big (with the 1/4 c measuring cup). Makes them gooey-er!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenchild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Mixed Vegetable Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very Good. My sister couldn't believe that it was a frozen bag of mixed vegetables since the celery, onion, and pepper lead to you believe it's a fresh salad. It stores well overnight. I used less sugar--similar to the Overight Vegetable Salad recipe from this site and used flour vs. cornstarch. It's nice and tangy and is a great salad to make in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Collard Greens

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I used this recipe for the slow cooker method and I used the Kickin' Greens for the actual recipe. I used bacon grease vs. olive oil and sauted the onion and garlic then added two pounds of collard greens. I used a dandoodle (VA/NC seasoned meat), water not chicken broth, and red pepper flakes. After 45 minutes on the stove, the greens were bitter so I added 1T. brown sugar and 1 T. apple cider vinegar. I transferred the greens to a slow cooker and let it sit in the fridge overnight with the dandoodle which provides the seasonings. I cooked the greens on low for 4-6 hours and kept adding brown sugar to eliminate the bitterness. Overall, I probably added 1/4 c. brown sugar and 2 T. apple cider vinegar for the 2lbs. of fresh collard greens. My BIL uses honey vs. brown sugar. Definitely a keeper! Delicious and this slow cooker method does not make the greens turn to mush but I prefer the fresh onions and garlic of the kickin' collard green recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I didn't love this...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amaretto Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Yummy if you LOVE amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States