Carlisle, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very easy to make. I followed one review and mixed everything in my blender. I will definitely use this recipe if I don't have bisquick on hand otherwise, the mix works just as well. I also increased the vanilla flavoring. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Venison Burger and Steak Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
The original recipe was much spicier. Allrecipes changed my original recipe. I used baby portabella mushrooms, more chili powder, more paprika, more garlic, and sweet italian sausage. I also did not use the liquid with canned diced tomatoes, I like my chili thick, not runny. Thank you for the great reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made several changes based upon what I had in my pantry. I used two cans of Dole's Tropical Fruit Salad (reserving the liquid to prevent the bananas and apple from browning), one granny smith apple, three small bananas, 1/4 c. frozen blueberries (I didn't have grapes), one 15 oz. can of drained mandarin oranges (I didn't have fresh), and one 10 oz. jar of maraschino cherries, drained and rinsed (if you don't rinse the cherries, it will make the syrup a yucky artificial color). I put the reserved liquid from the tropical fruit salad in a glass bowl adding the sliced bananas and diced apples and let them marinate while I assembled the salad. First I drained the tropical fruit in one bowl and put the tropical fruit in another bowl. I cut the bananas and apples and added to the juice I then added the rinsed, halved cherries, frozen blueberries, and drained mandarin oranges to the tropical fruit bowl. Mix together and let the fresh fruit mix rest in the juices for a while then add to the canned fruit mix. Refrigerated for several hours. So simple and the fresh fruit really makes a difference. Everyone loved it and it keeps well so you can definitely make it a day ahead of your party or dinner which is what I did and will do in the future. Thanks for sharing a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Piggy Wiggys

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used Hillshire Farms chicken sausage and one can of crescent rolls for 40 sausages. I cut each triangle into 3 or 4 pieces using a pizza cutter. I placed the piggy wiggy on a parchment lined cookie pan for easier cleanup and baked for 15 minutes. Served with BBQ sauces and mustards--horseradish and regular mustard. I prefer the chicken sausage which is less greasy than any other sausage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Carrots

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I put everything in a Ziploc steam bag and microwaved for six minutes. Easy clean-up and the carrots were perfect. I recommend using a bag of mini carrots for even easier preparation. A keeper that I will use in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bean Relish

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I scaled this recipe down to use one can of beans. I didn't have dry mustard so I subbed wasabi powder (1/4 tsp.) I used 1/4 c. mayo and 3 T. relish and a dash of granulated garlic in lieu of the garlic. I added white pepper and a ground pepper medley. I mixed everything together and let it sit in the fridge overnight; delicious! I wish I would have made more since everyone loved it. It reminded me of my Dad's homemade ham salad replacing the ham with beans. We prefered serving this over Ritz crackers which adds a buttery dimension to this recipe. Next time I will definitely make more and drain the pickle relish and perhaps add some white beans if I don't have several cans of the kidney beans. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Squash I

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I loved it; my family did not. They prefer the traditional spaghetti squash with spaghetti sauce and sausage. I didn't have time to use my traditional crockpot cooking method of pouring 2 cups of water into the pot, pierce the squash with holes, and cook on low 8-9 hours. So, I tried two methods: oven and stovetop. Oven: preheat oven to 375, cut squash in half, put in pan and add water to 1/2 inches, bake for 45 minutes or until done. Stovetop: Bring a pot of water to a boil at medium high heat, add squash ensuring that it's covered halfway; cook 30 minutes turning halfway through. For simplicity, I love the crockpot method. A close second was the oven method--the only downfall was the difficulty in cutting the raw squash. The stovetop method although quicker was very difficult in separating the strands from the seeds in the end. I liked this recipe but I love spaghetti squash. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Pudding IV

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I followed the advice of another reviewer...I used Pepperidge Farm Chessmen cookies in lieu of the Nilla wafers. I used only 2 cups milk to mix into the instant pudding. I beat the pudding & milk with a mixer, then beat the cream cheese with the condensed milk separately, stirred the cool whip into the cheese mixture, and added that to the instant pudding. I used 8 bananas to fill a 13 x 9 aluminum pan. The pudding set up perfectly. The bananas darkened after we cut into it, but they tasted just as good the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Delicious! I used leftover rosemary herb french bread and maple breakfast sausage. I cooked the sausage in my toaster oven then cut off the casing and ground it up. I put 1/2 cup of cheese in the mixture and the remaining on top. I ended up storing this in the fridge for two days before I cooked it. It was a little dry so I added more milk before the final cooking stage. Yummy with minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Syrup and Banana Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I made this for one person using one slightly ripe banana and 1/3 of the ingredients. I added a splash of vanilla extract and served over two gluten free pancakes--my uncle LOVED it! He said it was like something served at a fancy restaurant. Two pancakes, 1 serving of this banana topping, and a few sausage links...delicious! My aunt and I ate it over pancakes with gluten--I wouldn't change a thing. A definite keeper that impressed! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Omit the glaze. The recipe fits in one 9x5 bread pan and two smaller aluminum bread pans. The consensus is the bread is better with chopped pecans in it. Use very ripe cantaloupe. I told everyone that it was pumpkin bread until they agreed that they liked it then I told them the truth. Many agreed that they wouldn't have tried cantaloupe bread. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Taco Dip

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delicious with slight modifications. I doubled the recipe. So I mixed 2 cans of refried beans with one taco seasoning overnight and 1/2 of a serving of Taco Seasoning I by Bill Echols--it didn't make a difference. I put the remaining Taco Seasoning I in the sour cream/cream cheese mixture and let it sit overnight. Also used 2 jars of thick and chunky salsa and draining overnight eliminated two cups of water from the salsa. Layer 1-beans, layer 2-cream cheese, sour cream w/taco seasoning, layer 3-tomatoes, layer 4-green onions, layer 5-gucamole, layer 6-drained thick and chunky salsa, layer 7-cheese, layer 8-black olives. It keeps well in the fridge for at least a week. Next time I will put the taco seasoning in the sour cream mixture not the beans. I have also made it with Rotel vs. salsa which works well and is cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delicious! Omitted the salt; so simple yet tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I had 1 1/2 cups of pumpkin seeds (fresh out of the pumpkin, not dried) and I used the amount of butter and Worcestershire sauce recommended for the two cups but I subbed seasoning salt for the salt and roasted garlic powder for the garlic salt. The recipe needs more flavor...I would double the garlic powder next time. Overall, good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Used one large 24.5 oz. can of black beans for the puree and one 14.5 oz. can of diced, no salt added, tomatoes and leftover stewed tomatoes in the fridge to make the 16 oz. When added to the blender, it was too thick to puree so I slowly added one cup of chicken broth; it worked; the puree was smooth. I used 1/4 c. margarine but next time I will use the margarine/oil combination mentioned by others; you don't need 1/4 cup. Since I used fresh pumpkin, I only needed a total of 2 cups of chicken broth and one cup of water. Next time, I will use only two cups of chicken broth for a thicker soup. I omitted the ham; didn't have on hand and used apple cider vinegar in lieu of the sherry vinegar (same reason). I also added 1 teaspoon of cumin. Very filling but not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Turtles

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
OMG! Delicious! I toasted the pecans (since mine were not fresh) in the oven for 8 mins.; 4 mins. on each side at 350 degrees. No need for additional butter or cooking spray, the natural oils are enough for the toasting process but watch closely to avoid burnt pecans--YUCK! Immediately remove from the oven and cool on paper towels. Meanwhile, lay the preztels and rolos on the parchment paper. Bake 4 minutes. Perfection! Press the roasted pecan on top. If you use the regular shaped preztels, it will resemble a turtle unlike the squared or round pretzels. I followed the recipe and everyone thought they were cute and Delicious! A keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Ramen Noodles

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I first had this recipe in Korea. The cooks would add hot dog slices or chunks of Spam and frozen corn kernels or frozen peas. I prefer to make this in the microwave using the noodles in the individual bowl. Add the water and seasoning packet, microwave for three minutes, take out of the oven and stir in 1-2 slices of cheese and a handful of frozen veggies. Delicous! I was never a huge fan of the hot dogs or spam but my friends loved it. A pat of butter also makes this creamier but also adds fat and calories. Very good. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I make this for our family birthdays. I sub Spelt Flour in place of all-purpose (virtually no gluten) and it still turns out beautifully. I take out 1/2 cup sugar. Moist and tasty. Everyone always raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenchild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy!

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I was marinating a steak in balsamic dressing and didn't get to cook it in a day or two so I decided to make jerky. I put the beef strips on a grilling rack; the pan was lined with aluminum and I sprinkled with ground black pepper. I cooked the beef on the racks at 150 degrees for 5-6 hours. I will definitely use this again when I am pushing the envelope on a steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oriental Asparagus Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I steamed one 6 ounce (pricked) bag in the microwave for 2:30. 1 T. low sodium soy sauce, 1 tsp. sesame oil; 1 tsp. red wine vinegar; 1/8 tsp. ginger and 1/8 tsp. cumin. I omitted the sugar and sesame seeds. Yummy warm or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States