Carlisle, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Crispy Edamame

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Oh yeah! I used shelled edamame -- since I buy the big bags at Costco -- and steamed them 3 minutes then shelled them. I towel-dried them, drizzled a tablespoon of oil on them, and then grated parmesan on top with my rotary grater. Using my hands, I tossed them with a pinch of kosher salt until they were all coated well. Then I added more cheese! I didn't measure the cheese, though... I just coated every bean. Then I cooked them for 10 minutes, stirred them, and five minutes more. The cheese is super crunchy and delicious. The bean stays chewy on the inside, so they are like crispy french-fries by comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Coffee Cake I

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Excellent coffee cake- as written! I used real sour cream off the farm. This is not a fluff cake- it is denser and richer with a more interesting and complex flavor. Reminds me of a cake I used to make with sourdough starter. I did not ice this cake and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Coffee Cake III

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This was an excellent coffee cake- as written. Reminded me of a sourdough coffee cake I used to make years ago when I maintained sourdough starter. I made this with real soured cream from the farm. Wonderful. This is not a fluff cake. It is denser, moister, and heavier than most recipies but it was also richer and more complex in flavor. I did not ice it and it was plenty sweet. We loved it and the recipe will definitely go into my keeper file when
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon for the Family or a Crowd

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I lined my two aluminum cookie sheets with foil and laid 1/2 lb. of bacon on each pan. Cooked for 10 mins. on each side at 350 and I drained the grease in between and it still wasn't done. I cooked another 10 mins. and it was done. Not crisp but done and good. A simple acceptable way to eat and serve bacon but not my favorite method. I will use this again for simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Day Before Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The onion powder was too strong so I would it omit next time. I also like potatoes with lots of moisture so I only baked them for thirty minutes resulting in perfectly moist, creamy, mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a Crafty Stitch

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I used this receipe as a base to modify and make healthier. I swtiched - whole wheat flour, egg white and applesauce for the oil. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla. These are the best I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a Crafty Stitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
The dogs enjoyed but liked a strictly pumpkin dog treat recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ice Cream Sandwich Cake

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
It went fast at the cookout I brought it to! The hot fudge sauce doesn't pour very easily, and so the final layer didn't spread very well. I covered it with foil and the entire top layer stuck to the foil! *Fortunately* I had decided to put the top layer of whipped topping on right before serving. So I scraped all the fudge and caramel off the foil, spread it in an unattractive layer on top, then covered it all with whipped cream, and then red-white-and-blue sprinkles for Memorial Day! Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Omit the salt. Use a plastic ziploc bag to mix the deviled egg ingredients. Add an extra egg yolk to make it creamier. The remaining ingredients should be heaping; not exact. Cut off the end of the bag to squeeze it into the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I have made this only with Original Red Hot Sauce and chicken in the slow cooker and everyone loved it! Great on top of a salad with ranch or blue cheese dressing too! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Garlic Feta Pate

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I loved it but it was too salty for everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Beans with Anchovies

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was good but loved by everyone. I used a steamfresh bag of green beans and used the oil from my anchovies. I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti II

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Very good recipe to share with others. I have taken this to friends after a funeral and surgery along with store bought texas toast and ice cream. I replaced the water with 2 cups of milk. Definitely up the seasonings. Very versatile recipe and great to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deviled Eggs II

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Doubled all of the seasonings and saved the paprika for the top of the eggs. I added an extra yolk. I put the yolk mixture in a ziplock bag overnight and piped into the eggs the next morning and sprinkled with paprika, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Salad II

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I use some raspberries and some strawberries and I use them frozen and mix with the hot jello then it is cool enough to pour over the cream cheese mixture and I find the salty sweet is great I am asked to make this every time I go anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaimSee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marshmallow Treats

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I melted 1/4 c. butter SLOWLY. I added one 10.5 oz. bag of mini marshmallows and when melted, I added one cap of milk and 1 tsp. vanilla. I added 6 cups rice krispies since 5 seemed too gooey. I put it in a buttered 9x9 pan. I used a buttered ziplock bag to press the treats in the pan. Delicious, thick treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
We didn't like. Won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Party Pinwheels

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Maybe one packet can be too salty, but if you add in enough other ingredients it really mellows it out. I added all the ingredients directly into the blender to create one cohesive, spreadable "dip" (it is, by the way, fantastic as a dip, too). By blending it so smoothly it covered more than only four tortillas. I added a whole can of drained corn, a whole can of rinsed/drained black beans, and a teaspoon or more of cumin to warm up the flavor (not enough to make it spicy, though). These things disappeared and I was asked multiple times for the recipe. Really, though, stir in whatever you like, and don't be afraid to blend it on medium speed. It really distributed all the flavors well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey in a Bag

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Perfection! I used a pop up timer turkey and the thermometer verified the cooking temp. The turkey doesn't have a wonderful presentation but if you carve or cut the turkey and place it on a dish; presentation doesn't matter. The turkey is delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Oatmeal and Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Filling and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States