Carlisle, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
The cook time made the pork dry but the sauce made it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Delicious! I added it to my Johnsonville Apple Chicken Sausage Sweet and Sour Recipe. A definite keeper since I had all of the required ingredients on hand and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Arkansas Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Good, not great. I used canned beans. Next time, I will use either frozen or fresh. I also microwaved the bacon for two minutes before adding it to the dish to minimize the grease. Perhaps I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Johnsonville® Apple Chicken Sausage Sweet and Sour Stir Fry

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
First I prepared the long grain brown rice. My bag of frozen stir fry seemed skimpy for five servings so I added a can of rinsed and drained water chestnuts. As a e result, the sweet and sour sauce was too thin so I made more sauce using the Sweet and Sour Sauce I on this website. Delicious and freezes well. Next time, I would use two bags of veggies for all the sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Beans II

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I decreased the recipe for 1-2 servings. I used one can of Campbell's Pork and Beans. Cut the brown sugar in half and omitted the onion since I used red wine garlic vinegar. I baked in the oven until thick, I'm not sure of the time but I didn't need to drain the beans and it was delicious! I cooked the bacon in the microwave for a minute to decrease the grease. It was a simple recipe that we enjoyed. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Roast Beef

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
A delicious easy to make pot roast. I seasoned it with the Montreal Steak Seasoning overnight. I used one cream of mushroom and one Knorr's beef broth. Added carrots, celery, and onions. Cooked on low for 8 hours. Removed the meat and veggies and added cornstarch and water; cooked on high for ten minutes to make a delicious gravy. Simple yet tasty. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

English Muffin Breakfast Strata

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I had to make an unexpected breakfast with the items that I had on hand and this recipe was perfect and adaptable! First, I defrosted a 12 oz. pack of Johnsonville Chipotle Monterey Jack Cheese Chicken Sausage in cold water. Meanwhile, I buttered a Pyrex dish and put two halved whole wheat English muffins in the dish. I melted a little butter in the microwave and brushed the muffins lightly with butter (next time, I will omit the butter, the rest of the ingredients makes it creamy and the butter won't be missed). I halved and divided the cheddar cheese and mozzarella cheese then I mixed the 4 eggs and ¾ c. light sour cream in a separate bowl and set it aside. I didn't have the chilies on hand therefore I omitted them. Next, I took the thawed sausages and cut off the skin, chopped, and browned/cooked in a pan. Since the sausages were frozen, I probably only used 10 oz. of meat after I skinned and ground them. We each ate one serving (1/2 of a muffin plus all the goodies) and refrigerated one serving each for breakfast the next day. DELICIOUS! It was a perfect leftover! I cooked at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Next time, I will probably decrease the cooking time by 5 minutes since the edges were brown. But, still YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Olive Cheese Melts

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Very good. Better with a stronger bread like rye versus sourdough. I tried it with both and disliked the sourdough bread taste although it's my favorite and the rye was better. I won't make this again...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Edamame

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Oh yeah! I used shelled edamame -- since I buy the big bags at Costco -- and steamed them 3 minutes then shelled them. I towel-dried them, drizzled a tablespoon of oil on them, and then grated parmesan on top with my rotary grater. Using my hands, I tossed them with a pinch of kosher salt until they were all coated well. Then I added more cheese! I didn't measure the cheese, though... I just coated every bean. Then I cooked them for 10 minutes, stirred them, and five minutes more. The cheese is super crunchy and delicious. The bean stays chewy on the inside, so they are like crispy french-fries by comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Coffee Cake I

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Excellent coffee cake- as written! I used real sour cream off the farm. This is not a fluff cake- it is denser and richer with a more interesting and complex flavor. Reminds me of a cake I used to make with sourdough starter. I did not ice this cake and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Sour Cream Coffee Cake III

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This was an excellent coffee cake- as written. Reminded me of a sourdough coffee cake I used to make years ago when I maintained sourdough starter. I made this with real soured cream from the farm. Wonderful. This is not a fluff cake. It is denser, moister, and heavier than most recipies but it was also richer and more complex in flavor. I did not ice it and it was plenty sweet. We loved it and the recipe will definitely go into my keeper file when
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Bacon for the Family or a Crowd

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I lined my two aluminum cookie sheets with foil and laid 1/2 lb. of bacon on each pan. Cooked for 10 mins. on each side at 350 and I drained the grease in between and it still wasn't done. I cooked another 10 mins. and it was done. Not crisp but done and good. A simple acceptable way to eat and serve bacon but not my favorite method. I will use this again for simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Day Before Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The onion powder was too strong so I would it omit next time. I also like potatoes with lots of moisture so I only baked them for thirty minutes resulting in perfectly moist, creamy, mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a Crafty Stitch

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I used this receipe as a base to modify and make healthier. I swtiched - whole wheat flour, egg white and applesauce for the oil. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla. These are the best I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a Crafty Stitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
The dogs enjoyed but liked a strictly pumpkin dog treat recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ice Cream Sandwich Cake

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
It went fast at the cookout I brought it to! The hot fudge sauce doesn't pour very easily, and so the final layer didn't spread very well. I covered it with foil and the entire top layer stuck to the foil! *Fortunately* I had decided to put the top layer of whipped topping on right before serving. So I scraped all the fudge and caramel off the foil, spread it in an unattractive layer on top, then covered it all with whipped cream, and then red-white-and-blue sprinkles for Memorial Day! Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Omit the salt. Use a plastic ziploc bag to mix the deviled egg ingredients. Add an extra egg yolk to make it creamier. The remaining ingredients should be heaping; not exact. Cut off the end of the bag to squeeze it into the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I have made this only with Original Red Hot Sauce and chicken in the slow cooker and everyone loved it! Great on top of a salad with ranch or blue cheese dressing too! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Garlic Feta Pate

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I loved it but it was too salty for everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Beans with Anchovies

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was good but loved by everyone. I used a steamfresh bag of green beans and used the oil from my anchovies. I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States