Carlisle, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Omit the salt otherwise too salty. One time I added 1 cup cheddar cheese to the green bean/sour cream mixture; the other time I didn't. Cheddar + green bean and sour cream mixture = no leftovers; the other time, the beans didn't look creamy so there were plenty of leftovers. I always use canned green beans not the French style. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Bean Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I used homemade Italian dressing; I didn't have a bottle on hand. I omitted the jalapenos since I didn't have any on hand and used garlic powder vs. salt. Marinated overnight. Received compliments but not sure I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Yep, by far the best whole wheat I've baked. I used buckwheat honey as it is what I had- it is a dark honey almost reminiscent of molasses. Turned out very good. Nice soft bread texture(not too dense or fluffy, moist, flavorful. Excellent - this will be a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious! I used a 8x8 pan, 2 cups of leftover turkey, one can of evaporated milk, 1 c. water and 3T butter and 2T flour. I also sautéed 1/2 of an onion and a few stalks of celery in butter for added flavor. I have used leftover mashed potatoes before and added an instant cup of prepared mashed potatoes to make 1+ cups of mashed potatoes. Today, I boiled four small/medium sized potatoes and added a little milk and butter. For the topping, I used dried white bread crumbs and Ritz crackers. I added garlic powder to the overall mixture and a little of seasoning salt. This recipe is perfect for leftovers and so easy to adapt. One of my favorites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I used leftover turkey vs. ground beef. Otherwise, I didn't change the recipe. A little sweet too sweet for us. Perhaps vinegar or Worcestershire sauce would make it five stars. I put everything in a mini-crockpot and cooked for hours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Casserole III

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Loved it! Made half the recipe in an 8x8 pan for two people. I baked the potatoes as directed and I'm glad I did...it was a great foundation for a casserole that I let sit in the fridge overnight. I didn't have sausage so I used ground beef and added garlic powder for flavor. I used eight eggs; enough to cover the casserole and the cook time was longer than stated--approximately 40-45 minutes or until the eggs were set. We loved it and the leftovers were delicious too! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made half of the recipe and put it in the fridge overnight. Don't over cook the pasta. I didn't have enough cottage cheese so I used sour cream (3/1 ratio) to meet the recipe requirements. Only one layer and the last layer was the mozzarella cheese. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bruschetta Ever

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Added onions and used garlic powder. Let it sit overnight and then added balsamic vinegar the next day for more flavor. Easy recipe but needs to adjusted to ones preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snickerdoodles I

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Just like my Grandma's recipe. I did not change a thing! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Kale Chips

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I use Pam Olive Oil Spray versus olive oil. No more than ten minutes. Make sure you put the same size of leaves on the tray together otherwise you will get burnt ones...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
So easy to make! I used homemade vegetable stock versus chicken stock which didn't have any salt added. I also didn't have the saffron. Although it takes a while to cook, it is a truly simple and easy recipe to make. This rice is great with a crockpot chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melt In Your Mouth Blueberry Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Awesome! I did put one extra teaspoon of vanilla and used vanilla almond milk instead :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Marie Pensa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean View, Delaware, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carol's Cinnamon Waffles

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I substituted the milk for vanilla almond milk and used canola oil instead....Awesome recipe! And very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Marie Pensa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean View, Delaware, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy grape dessert

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Light, sweet, and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I agree that the chicken needs more seasoning. I massaged multiple spices with small pats of butter under the skin. I also put chicken broth in the bottom of the slow cooker and instead of tin foil, used potatoes and carrots. Very good when using these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Artichokes and Sundried Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Hubby said A++ - I would say a solid A . . . Simple(short ingredient list), quick(prep and cleanup), easy, tasty and nutritious. Looking for ways to used my sun dried tomatoes from summer- this is a unique and pleasant flavor. I used black olives and chicken thighs as that it what I had. I would like to see a calorie count on this one. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
It's goooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a Crafty Stitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef and Rice with Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I used long grain rice and it was horrible, tough, pellets! Use minute rice. I tried to salvage the recipe by using a Progresso tomato soup which has more moisture than a condensed soup but the rice was still though after another 30 minutes. After using another can of Progresso soup, and more time on the stovetop, it was edible but not great. Perhaps it would be better with minute rice but I won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Cream Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Delicious! I use sugar free vanilla pudding (1 oz.) vs. the 3.5 stated in the recipe. I rinse and drain all the canned fruit in my salad spinner adding the oranges last. I mix the vanilla pudding, 1 cup milk, and 1/2 cup light sour cream, and 1/3 c. OJ concentrate and refrigerate overnight. I refrigerate the canned fruit overnight and drain the extra juice the following morning. Mix the canned fruit and dressing together. Soak the bananas and apples in the pineapple juice and add to the salad before serving--the bananas do not keep well in the salad. Maraschino cherries are an excellent addition to the salad but they must be drained and rinsed separate from the other canned fruit otherwise the pineapple will turn pink. Loved by everyone! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States