Carlisle, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Rating this 5 stars on technique alone. Searing on both sides makes these ribs crispy on the outsides, tender and juicy on the inside, slow cooker or not. Certainly the best ribs I've ever cooked. . .Use whatever barbeque sauce you like - it's a personal thing. . . or a regional thing or whatever. It is the technique that is the keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Baked Ziti

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Creamy and cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Not bad, but could use more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Keema Aloo (Ground Beef and Potatoes)

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Oh, my gosh! This was so good! I've been making Keema Alu with another (well-known) cookbook's recipe for years and love this dish. This recipe from Allrecipes is just as yummy. My kids say this one is not as spicy as my other recipe, which pleases one kid but not the others. We serve ours with rice, a salad, and naan. I grind my own spices, except for the garam masala, so they are really fresh. (I do this in a small coffee grinder.) The Serrano pepper I used was ripe red. To save time, you could use ginger paste found in the produce section. We probably eat this dish at least once every three weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Southwest Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Patties with Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe over and over..I have never used parsnips, but I make them without and just use added bread crumbs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KayJay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Roasted Vegetables

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Very, very good. Even my husband (who doesn't like sweet potatoes or squash) thought it tasted great and initially thought all the "orange things" were carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Too dry and not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham, Potato, and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
One of our favorites - great as a leftover, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Summer Squash Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
We liked this - a good way to used up some more of those summer squashes. This was moist, flavorful and wonderfully lemony . . . and somewhat healthy. That makes it a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Very good. I doubled the recipebut didn't double the red pepper, using half ground pork. It was plenty spicy for us. Good meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Aimee's Mashed Cauliflower 'Potatoes'

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I modified the recipe to use 4 cups cooked cauliflower, 1/2 c. Betty Crocker Butter and Herb mashed potato flakes, 1/2 c. milk, 4 tsp. margarine, 1/2 c. cheese. After boiling the cauliflower for approximately 8 minutes, I pureed it in my food processor then added the flakes, milk, and margarine; processed again then added the cheese. I did not take the extra time to bake the potatoes because my 2 year old niece wanted a taste and ended up eating two bowls. Four cups of cauliflower only made approximately three servings so I had to make a second batch immediately. Delicious! I didn't add salt or pepper due to the extra flavoring in the mashed potatoes. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Rolls II

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Definitely not a favorite around our dinner table and seemed to be lacking in seasoning. Tomato sauce was too runny for our liking. Will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Used 2c. of leftover rotisserie chicken, 1/2 c. ranch and 1/2 c. Franks RedHot Buffalo Sauce. I didn't have green onion so I used white onion. YUMMY! Will definitely make again. Served with Romaine Lettuce. Blue Cheese crumbles on top would make it worth 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
It's a keeper if you like a little twist in your deviling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The recipe calls for 8 oz. not a BOX of macaroni; my mistake but that's why it was dry and others rate it the same. I pureed the cottage cheese with 1/2 cup milk but it still wasn't creamy; probably because I used a box of macaroni and not 8 oz. I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fire-Roasted Tomato and Spinach Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Used two overly ripe tomatoes and a jar of pickled jalapeno juice, dried onion powder, and dried garlic powder; simmered then added the box of creamed spinach. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I added 1 tsp. vanilla. I poured the batter into a 12 cupcake pan. I baked it at 325 for approximately 30 minutes. Good but not sweet enough for our liking. Perhaps a brown sugar topping would make it five stars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Omit the salt otherwise too salty. One time I added 1 cup cheddar cheese to the green bean/sour cream mixture; the other time I didn't. Cheddar + green bean and sour cream mixture = no leftovers; the other time, the beans didn't look creamy so there were plenty of leftovers. I always use canned green beans not the French style. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States