Carlisle, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Southwest Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Patties with Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe over and over..I have never used parsnips, but I make them without and just use added bread crumbs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KayJay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Roasted Vegetables

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Very, very good. Even my husband (who doesn't like sweet potatoes or squash) thought it tasted great and initially thought all the "orange things" were carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Too dry and not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham, Potato, and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
One of our favorites - great as a leftover, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Summer Squash Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
We liked this - a good way to used up some more of those summer squashes. This was moist, flavorful and wonderfully lemony . . . and somewhat healthy. That makes it a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Very good. I doubled the recipebut didn't double the red pepper, using half ground pork. It was plenty spicy for us. Good meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Aimee's Mashed Cauliflower 'Potatoes'

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I modified the recipe to use 4 cups cooked cauliflower, 1/2 c. Betty Crocker Butter and Herb mashed potato flakes, 1/2 c. milk, 4 tsp. margarine, 1/2 c. cheese. After boiling the cauliflower for approximately 8 minutes, I pureed it in my food processor then added the flakes, milk, and margarine; processed again then added the cheese. I did not take the extra time to bake the potatoes because my 2 year old niece wanted a taste and ended up eating two bowls. Four cups of cauliflower only made approximately three servings so I had to make a second batch immediately. Delicious! I didn't add salt or pepper due to the extra flavoring in the mashed potatoes. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Rolls II

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Definitely not a favorite around our dinner table and seemed to be lacking in seasoning. Tomato sauce was too runny for our liking. Will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Used 2c. of leftover rotisserie chicken, 1/2 c. ranch and 1/2 c. Franks RedHot Buffalo Sauce. I didn't have green onion so I used white onion. YUMMY! Will definitely make again. Served with Romaine Lettuce. Blue Cheese crumbles on top would make it worth 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
It's a keeper if you like a little twist in your deviling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The recipe calls for 8 oz. not a BOX of macaroni; my mistake but that's why it was dry and others rate it the same. I pureed the cottage cheese with 1/2 cup milk but it still wasn't creamy; probably because I used a box of macaroni and not 8 oz. I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fire-Roasted Tomato and Spinach Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Used two overly ripe tomatoes and a jar of pickled jalapeno juice, dried onion powder, and dried garlic powder; simmered then added the box of creamed spinach. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I added 1 tsp. vanilla. I poured the batter into a 12 cupcake pan. I baked it at 325 for approximately 30 minutes. Good but not sweet enough for our liking. Perhaps a brown sugar topping would make it five stars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Omit the salt otherwise too salty. One time I added 1 cup cheddar cheese to the green bean/sour cream mixture; the other time I didn't. Cheddar + green bean and sour cream mixture = no leftovers; the other time, the beans didn't look creamy so there were plenty of leftovers. I always use canned green beans not the French style. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Bean Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I used homemade Italian dressing; I didn't have a bottle on hand. I omitted the jalapenos since I didn't have any on hand and used garlic powder vs. salt. Marinated overnight. Received compliments but not sure I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Yep, by far the best whole wheat I've baked. I used buckwheat honey as it is what I had- it is a dark honey almost reminiscent of molasses. Turned out very good. Nice soft bread texture(not too dense or fluffy, moist, flavorful. Excellent - this will be a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious! I used a 8x8 pan, 2 cups of leftover turkey, one can of evaporated milk, 1 c. water and 3T butter and 2T flour. I also sautéed 1/2 of an onion and a few stalks of celery in butter for added flavor. I have used leftover mashed potatoes before and added an instant cup of prepared mashed potatoes to make 1+ cups of mashed potatoes. Today, I boiled four small/medium sized potatoes and added a little milk and butter. For the topping, I used dried white bread crumbs and Ritz crackers. I added garlic powder to the overall mixture and a little of seasoning salt. This recipe is perfect for leftovers and so easy to adapt. One of my favorites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I used leftover turkey vs. ground beef. Otherwise, I didn't change the recipe. A little sweet too sweet for us. Perhaps vinegar or Worcestershire sauce would make it five stars. I put everything in a mini-crockpot and cooked for hours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Casserole III

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Loved it! Made half the recipe in an 8x8 pan for two people. I baked the potatoes as directed and I'm glad I did...it was a great foundation for a casserole that I let sit in the fridge overnight. I didn't have sausage so I used ground beef and added garlic powder for flavor. I used eight eggs; enough to cover the casserole and the cook time was longer than stated--approximately 40-45 minutes or until the eggs were set. We loved it and the leftovers were delicious too! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States