Carlisle, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Zucchini Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Modified slightly based upon ingredients on hand: unseasoned bread crumbs, less Old Bay, Dijon vs. regular mustard, add parsley and onions. I also pan fried versus baked. Modified recipe follows: 2 cups shredded zucchini, 1 cup UNSEASONED bread crumbs, 1 egg, 1 T. mayo, 1 tsp. Dijon mustard, 3/4 T. Old Bay Seasoning, 2 T. onions, 1 tsp. parsley or fresh parsley Squeeze dry zucchini. Mix egg, onion, mayo, OLD Bay, mustard, and parsley in bowl. Add zucchini, bread crumbs, mix well. Shape into 8 patties, 1/4 c. each. Heat 1 T. oil in a large nonstick skillet on medium. Add 4 crab cakes. Cook 3 mins. per side or until golden brown. Drain on paper towels. Repeat with remaining patties, add oil as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Not a quick dessert. Needs time to set up. I refrigerated the jello/pineapple/blueberry combination overnight. 1. I used one 6 oz. package of raspberry jello. 2. I drained the pineapple for several hours and used the remaining pineapple juice with water to equal the 2 cups. 3. I added a can of blueberry pie filling, crushed pineapple, and one extra cup of fresh blueberries to the jello. 4. Refrigerate overnight. 5. Made the topping as directed. Garnished with blueberries. Great for a family reunion dessert or party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Garlic Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Very simple, tasty recipe. This is my new default shrimp recipe from now on. I made this according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Stuffed Strawberries

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Belle's Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Yes, Great technique. I actually didn't use this recipe the first time because I ferment my dough but it worked great with my whole wheat dough. The technique is golden. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Wonderful as written. The second time I made these I added a couple of minced jalapenos to the saute and I mixed in all the food processor to combine. Great flavor and rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Rating this 5 stars on technique alone. Searing on both sides makes these ribs crispy on the outsides, tender and juicy on the inside, slow cooker or not. Certainly the best ribs I've ever cooked. . .Use whatever barbeque sauce you like - it's a personal thing. . . or a regional thing or whatever. It is the technique that is the keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Baked Ziti

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Creamy and cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Not bad, but could use more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Keema Aloo (Ground Beef and Potatoes)

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Oh, my gosh! This was so good! I've been making Keema Alu with another (well-known) cookbook's recipe for years and love this dish. This recipe from Allrecipes is just as yummy. My kids say this one is not as spicy as my other recipe, which pleases one kid but not the others. We serve ours with rice, a salad, and naan. I grind my own spices, except for the garam masala, so they are really fresh. (I do this in a small coffee grinder.) The Serrano pepper I used was ripe red. To save time, you could use ginger paste found in the produce section. We probably eat this dish at least once every three weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Southwest Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Patties with Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe over and over..I have never used parsnips, but I make them without and just use added bread crumbs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KayJay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Roasted Vegetables

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Very, very good. Even my husband (who doesn't like sweet potatoes or squash) thought it tasted great and initially thought all the "orange things" were carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Too dry and not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham, Potato, and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
One of our favorites - great as a leftover, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Summer Squash Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
We liked this - a good way to used up some more of those summer squashes. This was moist, flavorful and wonderfully lemony . . . and somewhat healthy. That makes it a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Very good. I doubled the recipebut didn't double the red pepper, using half ground pork. It was plenty spicy for us. Good meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Aimee's Mashed Cauliflower 'Potatoes'

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I modified the recipe to use 4 cups cooked cauliflower, 1/2 c. Betty Crocker Butter and Herb mashed potato flakes, 1/2 c. milk, 4 tsp. margarine, 1/2 c. cheese. After boiling the cauliflower for approximately 8 minutes, I pureed it in my food processor then added the flakes, milk, and margarine; processed again then added the cheese. I did not take the extra time to bake the potatoes because my 2 year old niece wanted a taste and ended up eating two bowls. Four cups of cauliflower only made approximately three servings so I had to make a second batch immediately. Delicious! I didn't add salt or pepper due to the extra flavoring in the mashed potatoes. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Rolls II

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Definitely not a favorite around our dinner table and seemed to be lacking in seasoning. Tomato sauce was too runny for our liking. Will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States