Bethlehem, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Excellent! I followed another review and made the following adjustments to the sugar mixture - added 1 TBS of vanilla added 1 tsp of cinnamon added a dash of nutmeg I mixed 3/4 of the sugar mixture in with the apples and poured the rest on top. I also used a lattice crust topping. I will say, it is tart, and I don't like tart. However, I feel the tartness enhanced the flavor of the pie. Can't wait to make for Thanksgiving and show off my newest pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Followed advice from another review and mashed the bananas and measured it to equal 1 cup. I added about 3/4 cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made the exactly as the recipe calls minus the 2 tablespoons hot sauce. Only used a dash since we don't like spicy food. Served this with Jasmine rice and steamed broccoli and it was absolutely delicious. I couldn't stop eating the chicken. I poured the leftover over top of the rice and it was even better reheated in the microwave the next day. Trick is to not over cook the chicken so it tastes nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Devil's Steak Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made the recipe as it is. I must say this is very sweet. It tasted so good and I feel it lends itself better for lamb, pork and chicken. I prefer a more savory sauce for beef. It really is a great sauce and that's why I rate it a 5. Also, I would also try other jams as other reviews suggest. I will make this again but for pork and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cindy's Jambalaya

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great meal for football Sunday! I added a pound of cut up boneless chicken and used 1 pound of Andouille sausage along with 1 pound of shrimp. Doubled the rest of the ingredients to feed our guests. Served with fresh homemade corn bread. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xCestlavie

Easy Cheesy Cream of Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I have made this twice, and with soup I tend to double or triple batches for the sake of leftovers. The first time around, I followed the recipe as is and was made sick by the amount of velveeta. I chose this recipe for speed and convenience, not healthful ingredients and was just looking for a quick mid week meal. I never use velveeta, so I was surprised that doubling this recipe made it so overpowering. I just made a batch with everything doubled except the velveeta and found this much more palatable. Delicious for what it is, just be careful with the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xCestlavie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xCestlavie

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I have made this recipe several times since first trying it out and it has been a big hit with vegetarians and meat lovers alike. I use puff pastry to create a top crust only pot pie, and the magic number seems to be 400 degrees for puff pastry. A sheet cut to size, laid over the top and slit to steam baked at 40 minutes will be lightly brown. I will leave it in a bit longer and peek at it until I get a nice golden brown on the crust. The filling is creamy and delicious, I steam frozen vegetables until tender while mixing the potato soup base and then add the vegetables to the base to season and finish cooking through to let all of the flavors blend together. My secret to making this dish universally loved by meat lovers is to use rotisserie chicken seasoning and a bit of pepper. This gives the pie a distinct similarity to a regular chicken pot pie while still remaining vegetarian friendly! Because I use puff pastry to make this extra decadent, I do recommend letting the filling cool before laying over your top crust to keep the pastry from being doughy in the center. Cooling the filling allows the pastry to puff correctly in the oven! I have used cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, peas and corn for a hearty vegetable filling. I even added red peppers once for a twist. This is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xCestlavie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xCestlavie

Easy Peanut Butter Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This was an easy, last minute recipe for a sweet craving. I followed the recipe as is- but I did follow another reviewers advice to cream together the sugar, peanut butter and butter before mixing in the dry ingredients which I think is a good rule to follow in general for cookie/bar recipes. This was a sweet and salty treat that was well received by others. The consistency straight out of the oven is a little disconcerting because it does look bread-like and will crumble if you attempt to serve it while warm. It sets as it cools to a denser, moist bar so I do recommend letting it cool before serving. It's texture is straight between a cake, cookie, and brownie and satisfies! I will make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xCestlavie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I halved the recipe as I only have 1 loaf pan. I replaced the oil with applesauce and grated an entire small to medium size zucchini and threw it in the bowl. I baked for 55 minutes. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ Teriyaki Pork Kabobs

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is probably my favorite pork recipe. Absolutely delicious! I altered slightly per other reviews. Added a small scoop of brown sugar and a couple shakes of ginger to the marinade. Also, I doubled the marinade ingredients except for the oil. I used 2 TBS of olive oil and 1 TBS of sesame oil. Marinated 24 hours and skewered the pork alone - no veggies on the skewers. I mixed together the sauce but didn't baste the pork while grilling. I actually used the sauce as a dipping sauce for the pork. The sauce would also be delicious on white rice which I will try next time I make this recipe. I served with an assortment of fresh veggies I marinated in Teriyaki sauce for about 4 hours and grilled in a grill pan. I will make again - and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This dip was amazing! I only had about 4-6oz of cream cheese, so I just made up the difference with sour cream. And although I love basil, I didn't have any today and I didn't find that I missed it at all. Plus, there's enough mayo in it that you can skip greasing the pan. In short, this dip is creamy and cheesy without being too thick or too runny. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I cut the recipe in half for my family of four and this sauce was great tossed with some sausage and pasta. I omitted the anchovy paste and used a can of petite diced tomatoes...I was able to skip the step where you were supposed to hand-squash the tomatoes too. I also only simmered it for about 30 mins. It still came out great! This is a great recipe if you don't have a jar of sauce on hand or want something that tastes more like it came from a nice restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Delicious. Followed the recipe with the exception of the onion. I don't think onion belongs in mac and cheese. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New York Italian Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
We really liked this dough, but it was a bit much for our 14" pizza stone...way more dough than necessary. Also the final part of the directions is a bit conflicting and once you manipulate the dough and put it on a surface, it's almost impossible to manipulate again. I adjusted the recipe to 5 servings and that made just the right amount of dough for a 14" pizza. It was so easy to work with and I just laid it right on the hot pizza stone. Do not lay this on a floured surface and then try to put it on a stone unless it's a smaller pizza and can be picked up. I'm still giving it a 5 because it's still a very good crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Amazing! Per other reviews I used 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream. I used dried minced onion in place of fresh and topped with crushed Ritz crackers. Made it for Thanksgiving and the whole casserole was the first to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Wrapped Pork Medallions

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was very good. Would be a 5 star recipe without all of the salt. Next time I will cut back on the seasoned salt and add some Cajun seasoning for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
One of my family's favorite ways to make super fast chicken. I made the follow adaptations: Blend Panko and Italian Herbed & Garlic Bread crumbs, Instead of pounding thin, slice chicken breasts in half to thin them out. Cut the Butter in half. Turn the chicken half way through and top with shredded cheddar for last minute instead of mixing it with breadcrumbs. Great melted cheesy topping, with less (only 1/2 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silagh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Cabbage and Apples

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very easy and tasty. A little caraway seed would make it more German flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schooner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I had high hopes for the receipe based on all the great reviews. I found is horribly too sweet. I wished I would have read more of the reviews regarding this. I will try it again with only half, maybe less, than the amount of sugar called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Easy Creamed Chipped Beef on Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
So easy and absolutely delicious!! I made this recipe for my church's Advent and Easter breakfasts and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Reccek Werkheiser

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States