Altoona, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Beef Barley Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Our ALL-TIME favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
As soon as I saw this recipe I wanted to make it. After going to two stores I couldn't find canned pumpkin. (Apparently there is a pumpkin shortage this year.) So, I used a can of sweet potato pie filling. The final result was a delicious, flavorful, and healthy tasting cake! So yummy and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
such a great recipe! mine took longer to rise but that's because of the climate i live in. use ur best judgement. next time ill let these rise overnight and bake in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Sticky Monkey Brains

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
easy recipe. when i took them out of the oven and flipped them to serve i got some of the gooey stuff on my mitts and the counter. not sure how long i can wait before they stick to the pan but next time i'm waiting at least 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Hot Spiced Cider

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
so good! too bad i only had a 10 cup coffee pot. will try using a crockpot next time when guests are over. also, i used pumpkin pie spice, whole cloves and ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
great salad. will make again. maybe with nuts next time...walnuts or almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Parmesan Broccoli Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
we make this recipe many times a year, but we use 10 oz. spinach, cooked a few mins. then drained and squeezed dry. We only use 2 eggs if large, 3 if smaller, and 1/2 c. margarine, and use garlic powder since the stuffing mix is already seasoned. We found it gets too mushy and greasy to work with, and this also cuts out more of the fat and cholesterol. Very good recipe after the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Oswalt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Pot Pie I

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
i have made this several times .. and it is a favorite in my house.i made a few slight changes to suit our taste.i used mixed vegetables and i also used turkey stock from thanksgiving instead of boullion cubes.i also added a dash of sage and poultry seasoning with the turkey and flour mixture.and i made homemade double crust .yummmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I make this all the time, but use 1/4 c. butter or margarine, 1/3 c. light karo syrup and 4 c. confectioners sugar. It is sweet enough without adding more brown sugar. Just smash it all together and pat down in an 8" by 8" pan. No cooking, and so easy, can even add some crushed peanuts or even use crunchy peanut butter. Still need the 1 t. vanilla, and can even add a dash of salt if desired. Easy and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Oswalt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Chocolate Cake III

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Got RAVED reviews at Thanksgiving today!!! This cake is the exact recipe on the back of the Baker's german chocolate box, but this is the filling recipe on the back of the box. I recommend you use it as it makes for more (quite enough) filling: 4 egg yolks 1 can (12 oz.) evaporated milk 1-1/2 tsp. vanilla 1-1/2 cups sugar 3/4 cup (1-1/2 sticks) butter or margarine 1 pkg. (7 oz.) BAKER'S ANGEL FLAKE Coconut (about 2-2/3 cups) 1-1/2 cups PLANTERS Chopped Pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I didn't put any whipped topping or toasted coconut on top. I doubled the recipe--cooked it all at once (as directed) in a big pot on the stove. I used 1/4 cup cornstarch and 1/2 cup flour mixed as the thickening. I happened to have a can of coconut milk and a can of coconut sugar on hand. I used about 2 cups coconut milk, 2 and 1/2 cups of 2% milk and 1 and 1/2 cups of heavy whipping cream (remember, I doubled the recipe). I used 2 cups of coconut sugar. Followed everything else to a "T"! Perfect. People who don't like coconut very much and my husband who normally doen't go for cream pies when there is other stuff around (I made this in addition to about 5 other desserts for thanksgiving) LOVED it. I think the coconut milk and sugar really added to the over all "coconuttyness." ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

Crepes

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
so simple! i add cinnamon or cocoa powder to the mix. and you can stuff with just about anything. i blend everything in my food processor. creamcheese, strawberries, cool whip or bananas peanut butter, creamcheese. top with fresh fruit. no need for measurements...make the fillings to taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Plum Clafouti

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
DELISH! Make sure you use the prune plum!! there are several types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Cranberry Sauce I

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
delicious! simple! i'm sure it's been said already but make sure you give yourself enough time for it too cool and thicken. or even make a day or two in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Buttermilk-Battered Calamari

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
great basic batter recipe. i use mrs dash seasonings instead of oregano. i've used skim milk also. always good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Cookies 'n' Cream Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
this is amazing fudge & foolproof regardless of reviews here... which i always read for all the gr8 help i get & saving myself many failures!!! i've made at least 15 batches of this & never a soft batch!!!! it has become one of the things my family insists doesn't get replaced when i do my Christmas baking for friends & family, something in our clan i'm famous for!!! i use holiday oreos & make sure to break by HAND & don't STIR in the cookies!!! JUST FOLLOW THE RECIPE!!!... then just press top cookies into fudge so u don't lose alot of them when cutting!!! those who reported soft fudge i'm sure when they do again they won't have a problem...might not have made quite hot enuff??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Libby's® Pumpkin Cranberry Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Made as is; however, I did not have pumpkin pie spice. Called sis and she said her bottle of pumpkin pie spice contained cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg. So I used 3 t. cinnamon, 1 1/4 t. ginger, and 3/4 t. of nutmeg. Turned out wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LisaH.

Cinnamon Cookies II

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
A lovely cookie that tastes like autumn! It made the house smell incredible. I didn't want a flat cookie so I added a half cup more flour and a bag of Hershey's Cinnamon Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Dressing Mix

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
To salty no taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Corn Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Tasted like old bacon grease. Texture was good...but taste was not forgivable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States