Altoona, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Balsamic Roasted Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I was searching for a potato to have with filet Mignon for dinner with guests last night and came across these potatoes. I have to say, these were delicious. I almost cut the vinegar in half and then decided agains it since I like to see what the recipe tastes like first-I am glad that I didnt cut the balsamic. These potatoes were tasty, easy and a great change from the norm. The only thing I did differently is put them on the grill for the baking step intead of in the oven...they were fabulous. Will make these again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Fruit Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
We have been making this fruit dip since I was a kid, I am in my 40's now...lol. The bowl always gets licked clean. Great on all fruit but especially cantelope, watermelon and strawberries...I think I will go make some now. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unbelievable Grilled Garlic Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Made this with dinner last night and it was really tasty..only thing I will do differently next time is cook the bread under the broiler instead of wrapping it in foil and placing on the grill. The outside of the bread got too crunchy on the grill and the inside stayed too wet so under the broiler should make both crunchy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Lemon Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Hi gang, I was invited to a friends house last night to cook out on the grill with her, we made this chicken (used thighs instead of breasts) and it was amazing. We followed the marinade recipe exactly and it came out moist, tender and very flavorful. Everyone at dinner commented on how good the chicken tasted. This will be my new grilled chicken recipe forever. Grilled chicken usually comes out dry but this was delish!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I tried this and I was unsure how much I'd like it, but it was fantastic. I made a couple changes, just small. I wanted to add a little more protein and nutritional value than mayonnaise, so instead of making the lemon garlic mayonnaise I used a white bean hummus. Very easy to make, very yummy. I also used mozzarella instead of feta just because it was what I had on hand. I thought it was great, and my husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiberallyGillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
People, People, People. My greatgrandmother, grandmother, mother and now myself have been boiling Eagle Brand Condensed milk for a century and half. Some reviews said that the cans were exploding, easy resolution. 1. Do NOT open the can or puncture holes in it.in any way 2. Get a large pot of water boiling. 3. Once water is boiling, take off milk labels and put cans into water (I do 4 at a time as it will keep on the shelf for a few months) 4. Turn temperature down to simmering & allow to cook for 2 to 3 hours (the longer you cook it the darker/thicker it will be) No one in my family has ever turned he cans. 5. after cooking for alloted time, turn off heat and remove pan from the stove to allow to cool, & then just walk away, do NOT attempt to drain the water or remove the can or open the can at all. 6. You MUST allow the cans & water to cool, before opening the can up. This will prevent the exploding can dilemma for some of the reviewers! The milk can also be done on a campfire (which I have done at least a dozen times or more-allow it to cool in your cast iron dutch oven the same way you do in a pan on your stove top). It is an amazing treat at camp (the boyscouts love it). This comes out thick enough to spread & we have been eating on sliced apples for as long as I can remember-delish. Add a scoop to a pan with a little heavy cream & heat for an amazing caramel sauce...As far as the babysitting comments go...watching your food usually goes hand in hand with cooking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast in a Muffin

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
The first two times I made these according to the recipe and they were very good and gone in a flash (4.5 stars). The last time I made them, I made them for a campout and I made a few changes. I used only white flour (didnt have any whole wheat left), added a 1/2 cup of chopped ham and 3 small chopped sausage links (chopped in my small food processer) to the batter. I added only 1/2 the sugar called for in the batter as well. In the cream cheese topping, I added 1/2 cup of cheese and some minced onions along with the other ingredients listed....these breakfast muffins were the hit of the campout - I heated them up in foil on the campfire ( the camp cook was a little upset that they got eaten instead of her eggs that morning)...thanks for a great recipe that you can adjust to your taste. I will make these again and again for our campouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I always like to make the recipe the way it appears first just to see how it tastes and then go from there. I made it exactly as written and I agree that it is much too sweet. Next time I will halve the preserves, half the brown sugar and not add any white sugar. I will also halve the sugar in the cinnamon and sugar for on the chips as this added to the sweetness as well. All in all, it is a refreshing idea and I will make it again with less sweetness. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Octoberfest German Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This recipe is awesome! Not like a regular German Potato Salad but better! I did add two chopped hard-cooked eggs to the potatoes and onions before adding the dressing and I added 1/2 tsp dried mustard to the dressing. You have to whip the dressing a little with a whisk to make it creamy and then add it. It is a very good recipe...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinnamills232

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
These were delicious. They were just the right amount of spiciness for us. They were very juicy and flavorful. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiberallyGillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Rack of Lamb

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
delicious coating. can cut the salt. expect more then 20min (maybe 40min) cook time for medium well (slightly pink center)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
easy, dicing the rhubarb took some time but such a simple and delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. I did, as mentioned by other users, upped the spices, and switched the swiss cheese to cheddar but wow! It was so good. I will certainly be adding this to my dinner repertoire. In the future it's the sort of thing that I think if I had chicken breasts some other night of the week I might make two extra just to have them for this later on in the week. It really wasn't that big a deal though to toss two chicken breasts in the oven for half an hour, just a matter of time management.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiberallyGillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
only change is to use 2 teaspoons of bp. if you have a nonstick pan you dont need the oil. good for any size pancake and i like to add fruit-strawberries, blueberries, bananas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Beef Barley Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Our ALL-TIME favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
As soon as I saw this recipe I wanted to make it. After going to two stores I couldn't find canned pumpkin. (Apparently there is a pumpkin shortage this year.) So, I used a can of sweet potato pie filling. The final result was a delicious, flavorful, and healthy tasting cake! So yummy and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
such a great recipe! mine took longer to rise but that's because of the climate i live in. use ur best judgement. next time ill let these rise overnight and bake in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Sticky Monkey Brains

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
easy recipe. when i took them out of the oven and flipped them to serve i got some of the gooey stuff on my mitts and the counter. not sure how long i can wait before they stick to the pan but next time i'm waiting at least 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Hot Spiced Cider

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
so good! too bad i only had a 10 cup coffee pot. will try using a crockpot next time when guests are over. also, i used pumpkin pie spice, whole cloves and ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
great salad. will make again. maybe with nuts next time...walnuts or almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States