Altoona, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pumpkin Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Made this morning for surprise breakfast for hubby , turned out very good and fluffy, I didn't change anything in the recipe. Definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
i've done this twice now and have made a couple small changes. first i want to say this is much better done in a blender. i also doubled the parsley and chives as another suggested to cut the mayo taste a little. lastly although i'm sure it can be eaten in an hour it is much much better 2-3 days later if you have that time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Wow are these delicious, if I could give more stars I would!!! They're so moist and wonderful! I did add 1/2 tsp of vanilla because I love vanilla but this recipe is so perfect as is! I have been searching for a great banana muffin and now I can stop my search!!! Bonus: my house smells FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
A go to peanut butter frosting. I whipped this by hand with a whisk. I used natural PB and the skinny marj was at room temp. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I make this all the time, and use the leanest cut roast I can find. I season it with garlic powder, onion powder and pepper and brown it well, while it is browning, I mix up the soups and water in the slow cooker. I have added carrots about the last hour or so, even mushrooms or whatever else you like. I let it cook all day and when we get home from work, make up either mashed potatoes, or rice and veggies, and dinner is served. Have tried many other recipes, but this one is awesome, and will stick with this one only from now on, as my hubby and our oldest grandson have said as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Oswalt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Irish Potato Candy

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
tried & everyone loved it! i have a stand mixer so was super simple for me to make a double batch. i did as many reviews suggested & mixed to the 1 Tbsp cinnamon a half Tbsp cocoa & 2 tsp powdered sugar.i also did the chilling in btwn steps i mixed, then chilled for 60 min (because double batch)then formed with latex gloves on (made this step a breeze) then chilled again & coated by shaking 5 at a time in a gallon ziplock, chilled again, brushed off excess coating (i feel this is a must, otherwise the coating will choke you!! lol!!!)then stored in frig. soooo cute, they look just like little potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Egg White Omelet

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Very good and fast. I cut up the items we like in the omelet, and made up individual small containers with the veggies and or meat in them and all I had to do was make it, so it really cut down the prep time for this. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Oswalt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
The texture of these cookies is great... that being said, I have to say the almond extract should be left out entirely. I used the icing recipe here as well and the iced cookie had a VERY overpowering almond taste. Without the almond... very good, and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Coconut Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
EDIT: 5 STARS: I'm not a big fan of coconut, but I followed the recipe exactly and my husband ate them all in one day. Good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is the best "Ham & Potato Soup" recipe I've found in a long time. The only thing I did different, I used Red Potato's instead of Golden Yukon. This is a keeper. RW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Bland. I am still looking for the right combination of ingredients to bring this to life. I added a shot of bourbon and couple of ozs. of molasses. I am guessing that plain whit vinegar instead of apple cider and lessen chicken broth might make this more tangy. Maybe some red pepper flakes would help - but this recipe needs help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot and Sweet Potato Tzimmes

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I made this for friends for the high holidays, and they loved it. I lightly sprinkled brown sugar on top right before baking and grated nutmeg on top. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Campbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Pie I

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This couldn't be easier. The filling is decadent and creamy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Campbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Rolls II

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
given the fact that this was my first ever crack at using a bread machine,i follwed recipe to the letter..the dough was very sticky in the final stage of rising so i added another cup of flour and was much more elastic in the end.other than that this was very simple and delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I have been making these exactly this way for at least 10 years. Everytime I make them, they are always the first thing to go!! Everyone loves them and I always have several people ask me for the "recipe". They are always amazed at how simple they are to make. I would give 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Divine Chicken Divan

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lumberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Spaghetti

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
The combination didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Milkshake I

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I added a banana and 2 scoops of protein powder to get some much needed nutrition into my hubby. I dipped my finger into it to taste, and it was delish! I can't believe it was so simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Campbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Puff Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! Will make this all the time, only trouble I had was the shell sticking to the pan some. But it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

Kielbasa with Peppers and Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe! I usually avoid kielbasa because it always has a strong greasy taste to me, but this was delicious and my wife loved it also. This is definitley a keeper if you want a quick, easy dinner that is full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nelson0702

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States