Allentown, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Guinness® Beef Stew

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Everyone loved this dish! I added a little more broth and Guinness beer to the slow cooker as others suggested. Plus quartered the potatoes instead of halved to cook faster. Cooked on high for 5 hrs as others suggested as well. Will make this again! Great alternative to the traditional St. Patrick's Day meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spring Veggie Bagel Sandwich

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Just as the submittrt states, "it's quick, easy, and healthy" - perfect for a light lunch! Like others, I toasted the bagel first. Since I didn't have radishes on hand I used thin sliced English cucumber instead. Perfect with a tall glass of iced tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Easy Authentic Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Very easy and very good! This takes very little effort for great results. Since my husband doesn't like overly spicy dishes, I opted out of the jalepeno and added mild chili peppers instead. I left his "as-is" and topped mine with a couple of sliced jalepeno from a can. Overall, very tasty and a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Steve's Roasted Chicken Soft Tacos

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Easy to prepare, very simple, and tastes great - perfect for a quick weeknight meal! Plus it's a great way to use up leftover chicken. For the seasoning, I used McCormick's Perfect Pinch Fiesta Citrus salt free seasoning blend along with a pinch of cayenne and a little fresh squeezed lime juice. Perfect served with shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes, a little sour cream, sliced avocado and sliced black olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Creamy Cottage Cheese Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Very simple - I never would have thought to add cottage cheese to scrambled eggs, but it really was good and a nice change from regular scrambled eggs. Definitely add the fresh chives. I served this with fresh tomato slices and whole grain toast. Great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Simple Sauteed Spinach

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Excellent! Very simple, not a lot of ingredients and takes no time at all to prepare yet has a ton of flavor and not to mention it's good for you too! You can easily adjust the recipe to suite your tastes. Overall, a nice side dish that will compliment any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
WOW...now this is Chicken Parmesan! And, while the set of instructions seems long, it really is easy to prepare and the result is nothing less than fabulous! Luckily I had some "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" from this site that I got out of the freezer and thawed for this dish. I used 6 thin sliced chicken breasts, cut back on the amount of bread crumbs and used Italian style bread crumbs vs. panko as that's what I had on hand. I did cut back on the oil since I used a non-stick pan. I opted for sliced mozzarella along with a 6 cheese Italian blend from Sargento. I love that this finishes in the oven - the chicken stays crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. My husband loved this dish, so this is how I'm going to prepare it from now on (definitely company worthy). This was perfect served with a side of angel hair pasta topped with the extra sauce, warm garlic bread and of course a nice glass of wine! Thanks Chef John for yet another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Garlic Penne Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Simple, straight forward, and easy to prepare! I cut the recipe in half and opted to use a couple hand fulls of grape tomatoes that I sliced in half. I kept the rest of the ingredients the same, except of the red pepper flakes which I added to taste. I added a little chopped fresh basil and some shredded Italian cheese blend. Overall, a nice side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Well, it doesn't get much easier than this! One skillet which makes this easy to prepare and easy to clean up - perfect for a quick, yet delicious weeknight meal! I used thin sliced chicken breasts and minced garlic vs. garlic salt. I also opted to add in some sauteed mushrooms along with the onions to get in some extra veggies. I used seasoned diced tomatoes, added a pinch of red pepper flakes and just eyeballed the rest of the ingredients to taste. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Garlic Spinach

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Excellent! Very simple, not a lot of ingredients and takes no time at all to prepare yet has a ton of flavor and not to mention it's good for you too! You can easily adjust the recipe to suite your tastes. Overall, a nice side dish that will please even the pickiest eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Puttanesca I

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Quick, easy, and full of flavor! And it just so happens it used things I commonly have in my pantry, minus the anchovies which I left out completely. You can easily adjust this to suit your tastes. I cut back on the oil and used Italian seasoned diced tomatoes and didn't bother draining them. I topped it with a little shredded Parmesan cheese before serving. Perfect with warm garlic bread and a glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Linguine with Clam Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Made it last night for a quick dinner. Excellent choice although I did "bam" it with some Old Bay. A great go to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gila Bend, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cauliflower Soup with Cheese

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Very good! I used chicken stock instead of water and next time I will make the cauliflower florets a bit smaller. I did microwave the florets versus steaming them as another reader did. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gila Bend, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Fajitas

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Very good, easy and fast. I like the spice combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Grilled Brie and Pear Sandwich

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
YUM! This is a wonderful way to take a classic like grilled cheese and give it a "gourmet" twist. I love pears and brie cheese so I had to give this a try and even my husband who was a bit skeptical gave it a thumbs up. Next time I might add a little proscuitto. Thanks for a great recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Sweet and Tangy Apple Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Made this for lunch today. I used 6 small pork chops and there was plenty of sauce to cover nicely when it was finished cooking. The pork chops were tender and flavorful. I think next time I will let the chops sit for a longer duration for more flavor. We loved the spice combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Really flavorful, I sub crushed rice cakes for the saltine crackers and gf bread crumbs for the regular but kept everything else the same. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Kelsey's Cheesy Bacon Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is a yummy recipe. My advice would be to use less BBQ sauce, it was over powering the dish. Used others suggestions of putting the cheese on the last 5-10 minutes of baking. I used real bacon bits instead of making the bacon. It made the recipe easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak

Sadie's Buttermilk Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Great recipe. As another reviewer stated, I normally would use recipes that have high ratings, but I said what da heck, I'm going to try this one and I don't regret it! The biscuits are nice and fluffy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Shak

Anniversary Chicken I

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I've been looking to try this recipe for a while now... And I did let me tell you its was wonderful,something a little different then the usual chicken recipes. A must try...I followed the recipe to the T except I added cheese at the end of baking time. It was oh... so yummy :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States