Allentown, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Egg and Spinach Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Had a bag of fresh spinach no longer quite salad ready to use up, 6 wedges Laughing Cow cheese coming up to their expiration date, a hunk of cheddar to shred, and the leftover heel of a ham. Diced it all up, mixed it in with the eggs, onion, flour, and 1/4 cup butter, and viola. What a tasty way to clean out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Smashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Wonderful! I used it to top a shepherd's pie, smiles all around...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Chef John's Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Really good, but of course some changes...I topped with chipotle smashed potatoes and used a can of drained corn because that is what I had. My guy loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Curried Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I left out the cream soup but upped the dairy thickened with a bit if gf flour mix. Very good...oh, I upped the curry spice, added a few shakes of cayenne and a handful of crasins. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Swedish Pickled Cucumbers

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Good side dish, wakes up the taste buds for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Homemade Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Boy does this recipe bring back memories! I haven't had sloppy joes since I was a kid. Definitely a "retro" kinda meal that dare I say...tastes better than my Mom's! This was so easy and so good - perfect for Sunday football. I doubled the recipe using 96/4 ground beef, one red pepper and one green pepper, half ketchup and half Bennetts Original Chili Sauce along with a generous splash of white wine vinegar, and brown sugar to taste along with the rest of the ingredients. I highly recommend watching Chef John's video. It's only a few minutes long and was very helpful. You really do need to add the water and let it simmer down for at least 30 minutes - and don't be afraid to add the cayenne it really does make a difference but doesn't make it "hot". All I did was keep it warm in a crock pot during the game. I served these on slider rolls with chips and pickles to rave reveiws. Thanks Chef John for another awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Chef John's Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Boy does this recipe bring back memories! I haven't had sloppy joes since I was a kid. Definitely a "retro" kinda meal that dare I say...tastes better than my Mom's! This was so easy and so good - perfect for Sunday football. I doubled the recipe using 96/4 ground beef, one red pepper and one green pepper, half ketchup and half Bennetts Original Chili Sauce along with a generous splash of white wine vinegar, and brown sugar to taste along with the rest of the ingredients. I highly recommend watching Chef John's video. It's only a few minutes long and was very helpful. You really do need to add the water and let it simmer down for at least 30 minutes - and don't be afraid to add the cayenne it really does make a difference but doesn't make it "hot". All I did was keep it warm in a crock pot during the game. I served these on slider rolls with chips and pickles to rave reveiws. Thanks Chef John for another awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I really like it cold. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Butternut Squash Soup II

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Saved 1/2 time and energy by peeling the squash. NEVER AGAIN. First you need cotton gloves or dish towel to hold the slippery thing. But I didn't think of that...I'm a guy Secondly I practically peeled the top of my pinky finger off...a guy with a sharp tool. Yes add garlic, more onions, caramelize the onions, less carrot, I used a few shakes of Pensey's Florida Blend of tellicherry Indian black peppercorns cracked with hot chili peppers and their Tuscan Sunset herb blend but now I wish I tried curry powder and a little cardamon on 1/2 the batch. Not allowed to have any dairy right now so I cheated with the small amount of butter (in a serving) and held on to be able to avoid my two favorites next to my wife...Ms. Cream Cheese or Ms. Sour Cream. I'm not sure how that ended last time but my pillow and pajamas were a mess. We loved this soup on the Red Lunar eclipse and just in time for Sucote, the Fall harvest festival. Be imaginative with your spices. This recipe is a great place to play with spices or let your friends play individually at the table! ----by a Man with a cut- still cooking for my baby after 42nd year together. Hey back-off at least I can still type pretty well, and have most of my hair, teeth, and brain cells...but not all, maybe not most BUT MANY, TRUST ME MANY HAIRS AND CELLS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy the Kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA

Wiener Schnitzel

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Very good, I even made it with GF flour and used pork. I would have loved to make a mushroom gravy to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Asian Pork Burger

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Love'm, it is a refreshing twist on burgers. I can't wait to try them with fresh grated ginger. Thanks for the great new burger recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was awesome! Will definitely make again! I did put Panko bread crumbs on top as others suggested. I did use all the butter listed in the recipe and didn't find it too much. It was the sauce! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Walter's Chicken and Mac

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was so easy and very yummy! I did add the suggestions others mentioned. Used 1 can of cheddar cheese soup instead of cream of chicken/mushroom and used mild shredded cheddar cheese. I added chopped onions and chopped celery and sauteed them with olive oil with the canned sliced mushrooms. Used 1 tsp. of garlic powder, 1 tsp. onion powder, salt & pepper, and red pepper flakes. Also using 2 handfuls of Panko bread crumbs made a nice touch. My stepkids even liked this! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Loved it...not boring, not dry, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Marinated Chicken Bruschetta

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Very easy and tates fabulous! I pound my chicken down thin and poke it with a fork a few times before marinating. I do spice up the salad dressing a bit with fresh basil and romemary along with some minced garlic and a generous splash of white wine vinegar. I let this marinate for at least four hours. I never refrigerate the tomatoes and left off the dressing just using a little olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper. Once the chicken came off the grill I topped it with the tomato mixture, fresh basil and some shredded Parmesan and Romano cheese. Great served wtih "Warm Herb Garlic Bread" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Warm Herb Garlic Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious! And, while this bread is great all by itself, the addition of butter, garlic, herbs, and Parmesan cheese really take these over the top. Plus it's very easy and you have garlic bread in no time at all. Perfect accompaniment to any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Bacon and Tomato Fried Egg Sandwiches with Horseradish Mayo

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Wow - now this is an egg sandwich! My husband could live on these every morning and this was a nice way to change it up a bit. I opted for sourdough bread as that's what I had on hand. But no matter what type of bread you use it's bound to be good. I opted to use the "Basil-Mayo" variation which proved to be a nice compliment to the tomatoes. This made for a great breakfast, but honestly I would eat this any time of day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

French Toast Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Nice little recipe - and since I'm a fan of both pancakes and french toast, I had to give this a try. And, while I did up the amount of vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg overall these turned out really good. This is definitely a nice twist on two classic breakfast dishes. Great topped with butter and real maple syrup and served with some OJ and fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Bowl of Oatmeal Cookie

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Yummy and so easy to make for a quick and hearty breakfast! Definitely add the optional raisins and for a little crunch I added some chopped walnuts. I topped it off with a dollop of greek vanilla yogurt and a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Heinz® Classic Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious - I guess that's why the classics never die and this is definitely comfort food at it's best! The addition of some veggies was a nice touch. I did add just a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes to give it a little kick and I also added a little dijon mustard to the ketchup to up the flavor a little. Overall, perfect served with "Garlicky Potatoes" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States