Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Vegan Basic Vanilla Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
The first time I made it I accidentally swapped the water and oil measurements and when I was about to flip the pan, my dad bumped into me and half the cake fell on the floor. The dogs loved it! We all ended up standing around the counter, eating the other half with our hands like cave people. This recipe is DELICIOUS! I did sub the soy milk for soy creamer since that's all I had. Kudos to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dara Nicole Boyd-Galleguillos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littlestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cafe Style Grilled Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
We liked them. I bought filleted breasts at the store and marinated them in the sauce for a few hours. The chicken had a very nice flavor. I also bought Texas toast for the bread and it saved me some time. My son said he'd eat this every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
My family and me love love love this peach cobbler recipe. I make different peach cobblers and must say this one is the absolute best one.Making it today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

GA Peach Pound Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and each time it receives rave reviews. One of my all time favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlanaKadas

German Filled Hoernchen

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
These were just okay for me. I didn't have any white wine so I just doubled the amount of rum in the dough, but otherwise I followed the recipe as written. I used apricot and raspberry preserves for the filling. The dough smelled amazing, but seemed to be lacking in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlanaKadas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for! Only problem I had was that there was WAY too much cheese sauce for 8 oz of noodles. But, that's ok, cheesy broccoli for dinner! :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Unger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

The Best Potato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Delicious traditional potato salad with a slight twist. It's creamy and eggy and mustardy. Just delish! The ranch adds a little extra something without being overwhelming. Very very good!! I do not add the optional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made this just as directed and the flavor was good, a little bland. Needed lots of spicing up. I was disappointed in how thin the consistency was. I like a bit thicker stew. I'll have to tweak it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was pretty yummy soup. I added in some lentils and extra veggies, lots of freshly cracked black pepper and Himalayan pink salt. Great lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels

Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
If they serve biscuits in heaven, I'm pretty sure they use this recipe. I made exactly as written and they were AH-MAY-ZING! Crispy outsides, soft & flaky inside. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Mom's Peach Crisp

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Mmmm... delicious! I even used 1/2 the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Fresh and Simple Peach Salsa with Cinnamon Sugar Chips

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Tasty! I did feel like the salsa was a bit heavy on the citrus, but that's just my opinion. I used fresh red cherry tomatoes from my garden and instead of brushing the tortillas w/ butter (which I love), I just sprayed them w/ cooking spray to be a little healthier, and that worked out great. Nice and fresh...I would make this again, but adjust the acidity to suite my taste. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies

Crab Wonton Cups

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Although I did like the crunch the water chestnut added, I was not crazy about the filling. The combination of the mayonnaise and the swiss cheese made the filling greasy and heavy. I won't be making this again - I personally think the cream cheese/crab wonton fillings are much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Jalapeno Jelly

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Wonderful jelly! I did not strain the peppers, but followed the recipe otherwise. Set up beautifully and had a nice kick...Great w/ cream cheese on crackers. I will be using this recipe again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Roasted Balsamic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Disappointingly bland. I sprinkled my serving with grated Parmesan which added some much needed flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is a very yummy soup! I only used one can of the diced tomatoes w/green chilies (Ro-Tel) and I'm glad I did as it was plenty spicy for us. I also used Bill Echols' Taco Seasoning & Mexican tomato sauce as others had suggested. Topped with sour cream, cheese, tortilla chips, & avocado. It turned out great! A tip for the beer: try Negro Modelo (lager brewed in Mexico). I don't believe this recipe is meant to be made with Pabst Blue Ribbon & the like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrangeCat2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Leek Soup III

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This recipe was delicious. I used half the butter and half and half instead of cream. I used some kind of giant white onions (looked just like a leek, only a lot cheaper)instead of leeks. Added 3 cloves of chopped garlic during sauté. I also blended half of the soup to make it a little thicker and smooth. Very easy to make. Everyone, including kids, loved it. If you are using chicken broth, don't add any more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is a fantastic pork chop recipe! We loved it! Will absolutely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatsakitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Floyd

Blonde Brownies I

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
great recipe, easy to make and they taste wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly. I made them in a square pan for individual brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Floyd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States