Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Vegan Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I was skeptical of vegan pancakes at first but to my surprise they were delicious! I did not add the salt and I used organic sugar since regular white sugar is not vegan (who wants bones in their sugar?!). Honestly, they tasted a lot like white cake to me but not overly sweet at all. I will definitely make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Great, easy meal! We made only one change. Instead of adding spices we just added taco seasoning mix then cooked as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawkeyes331

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Lasagna IV

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Loved this! Quick. Easy. Yummy. How can you go wrong with that? Was looking for something to do with leftover chicken. This fit the bill! Made it pretty much as written, except added some shredded carrots to the soup mixture for some extra nutrition. I'm thinking that I might add some mushrooms the next time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
You can get the same thing by purchasing a jar of Ragu or any of the other brand names of pasta sauce...then add some heavy cream to it. Less work for mother :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies

NO YOLKS® Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I believe that minimal and simple ingredients make the best chicken soup and this recipe fits the bill! You get flavorful broth with just a few vegetables and tons of chicken and noodles. I love the No Yolks noodles because they don't get mushy and have a great texture. This was a comforting and hearty soup and perfect on a snowy winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Sunshine Toast

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
While I was growing up I hated eggs. I thought of them as liquid chicken :( The only ones I could choke down were scrambled and they had to be really cooked...think egg jerky and covered in ketchup. As I got older I expanded my horizons...softer scrambled, deviled eggs, egg salad and omelets. Still could not bring myself to eat a soft cooked yoke. Older still I started to think that fried eggs looked appealing. This is my very first egg cooked with the softer yoke. I made it with Ezekiel bread. And I put a little hot sauce on it. Oh my goodness. Where have you been all my life? Excellent! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALLYANNIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is a great go to pancake recipe. I have made it following the recipe using milk and vinegar and also using buttermilk, both have wonderful result. I add 1t of vanilla to the batter prior to cooking and I always make a double or triple batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies

Lemon Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Very simple to get together, but, really tasty! Don't be hesitant to use the full amount of garlic powder in the recipe. I was afraid it would be overpowering, but, it turned out just perfect. I highly recommend you pound the chicken out to even thickness about 3/4"- 1" thick. It will cook more evenly and quicker while remaining moist and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Patty

Spinach Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Instead of the mayonnaise, I used the suggestion of garden vegetable cream cheese (8 oz.). I also used the suggestion of fiesta ranch packet. Draining the spinach is a MUST! Instead of the tablespoons of onion, I used one white small,diced onion. After spreading the mixture on each tortilla and rolling, I put them in a gallon ziplock bag and froze them for 2 hours. They are much easier to slice and it cuts down on time. Refrigerate after slicing. Taste great cold! They were devoured! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was a good recipe for round steak. I added mushrooms to this and the only thing I will do differently next time I make it is add a little more seasoning to it. Onion powder, garlic powder, maybe even a dash of steak sauce to give it a little tang. But I will keep this recipe in my slow cooker list for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Brigadeiro

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Very easy to make and delicious! We rolled ours in chocolate sprinkles, rainbow sprinkles and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Terrible. It needed flavors like, vanilla, cinnamon, etc. Super dense, even after following the tips from the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe was just okay. I doubled the onion and the garlic and I'm really happy I did because I think the meat and gravy would have been way too bland without it. The meat was a little dry but not terrible. The gravy really helped with the dry meat. I think there was a good amount of gravy for the amount of meat. I'd use this recipe again as a guide, but I'll make quite a few changes. I'll definitely add some rosemary, and maybe a few other spices, maybe 1/4 c or more red wine to deglaze the bottom of the pan which will help make more gravy, keep the onion and garlic doubled, and let it cook a little longer. The longer and lower it cooks, the more moist the meat will be. I'm pretty sure the meat was dry because it didn't cook quite long enough. My husband and sister really liked this recipe but they agreed it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patti

Monkey Bread I

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Love this! Super easy and sweet and sticky! I used a bundt pan and didn't have a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Swedish Sticky Chocolate Cake (Kladdkaka)

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was very easy and very tasty. Doesn't make much, but super quick for a few people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Valentine's Slice-and-Bake Cinnamon Heart Shortbread Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
EXCELLENT! These were easy to make and soooo yummy! Mine did get a little flat, but the flavors are spot on. I dipped 1/2 of each cookie in chocolate. I made my dough a few days in advance and just kept it in the freezer until I was ready, which worked out great. I removed the log from the freezer and let it set out while the oven was preheating. By then, it was perfect for cutting. The family is really loving these cookies...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Wonderful. My daughter's boyfriend can't have gluten so I made this for them to enjoy for Valentine's Day. It was a hit. So moist and fudgy. I used Ghiradelli dark 80% cacao chocolate and Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder and it had a wonderful depth of flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Hot Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Very good and moist but found I will cut back on the amount of raisins for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Chef John's Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I have been wanting to make this dish for awhile and so glad I did. I did add some onion to the beef and worstershire sauce, paprika and salt & pepper. Very Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States