Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Rich Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great flavor!... But so much work! That said...still better then having to fuss with the gravy on the big day...put it in my crock pot soon after I started my Bird...and only time I lifted the lid was to add a bit of fresh drippings when the bird was done. Hot, & ready to go, with out using up stove space or my time. I also did crockpot mashed potatoes, & between the 2, it gave me enough time to enjoy a glass of wine with my guests, instead of running around like a nut...in the home stretch! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
OMG...I have had and made many stuffings in my life, but this is truly Awesome! Thought it sounded good, was a bit worried it was kinda busy....too much going on and in....but I was wrong! Made it for Thanksgiving this year, and had RAVE REVIEWS! No one had ever had stuffing like this before, and all loved it! Savory/sweet yumminess! I also threw in a 1/2 bag of fresh cranberries...they turned.out to be little pops of heaven! Thanks for my new Thanksgiving tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wine Jelly

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Good recipe, I how ever also had a wine sauce, not jelly. Not sure what went wrong...maybe too high of alcohol content?!?? Just dont know..even tried fixing it per sure-gel directions from their web site...was afraid might end up with wine cement...but still just sauce. (All the better to dip my toast in! Ha!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

General Tsao's Chicken II

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great RECIPE! :-) I did not bread and deep fry the chicken, saving time and calories (non-stick, pan fried)... But was still great flavor from the sauce. I had never tried Chinese cooking before, but this was easy! (& Yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Easy Broccoli Bacon Salad

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Delicious! I used golden raisins and cut back the sugar to 1/4 cup and that was plenty sweet for us (I think I could've used even a bit less sugar and it would've been fine). I wasn't sure on using the raisins, but they tasted great in this salad. I made this earlier in the day and I suggest doing that so the flavors can blend a few hours in the fridge. I will be making this again for sure~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Very good!!!! I added some onion powder to it. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Emmi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Landisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Homemade Pie Crust

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I will never ever use another pie crust recipe again!!! I LOVE this one. It's so easy and quick! Thank you thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Emmi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Landisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I sautéed the onions in olive oil and butter, then added a lemon pepper seasoning to it while the onions where cooking. For the potatoes I stuck them in the microwave and cooked them for 10 minutes, then ran them through the food processor. Mixed mushroom soup, milk , lemon pepper, grated cheddar cheese and sour cream together. Mixed it in with the potatoes and baked it at 350 for about 30 minutes or so. It was yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Emmi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Landisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This will amaze you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Waltz - WL Events

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Awesome shrimp. Easy to do. Only thing I changed up was used lemon and lime juice. My wife loves this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTCH613

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Coleslaw Dressing

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Very good and creamy and easy to add to a bag of pre-shredded slaw. My husband ate four servings! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fgcosmi

Key Lime Cheesecake I

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This was fantastic! I started to go down the rabbit hole of reading the reviews and all the changes everyone made but then decided to stick to the recipe and is. I did make two small tweaks. I added some lemon juice and extra lime zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fgcosmi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels

Frozen Raspberry Margaritas

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I used black raspberries instead of red, but otherwise followed the recipe. Very tasty and refreshing on a hot Summer evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Butter Cream Frosting II

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is the BEST recipe for Butter Cream Frosting I have ever made. It tastes just like what I would buy at the store.........except I saved cost by making the birthday cake myself. The frosting is perfect. It is EASY! I also added some food coloring and decorated the cake. Perfect to decorate with as well. I think the baker might need some lessons on cake decorating...........but the FROSTING itself is wonderful. I will use it over and over again. Thank you. I did not tweak it at all. I think a recipe should always be tried first BEFORE one changes it. PERFECT just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Corn

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is the same recipe we have been making for years, just like Chi-Chi's if anyone remembers that restaurant. So tasty, never have any leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mango Lassi II

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
loved it! used plain whole milk Greek yogurt. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvinlif2k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

To-Die-For Stuffed Garlic Bread

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Very Good! This bread is VERY filling, so I think it would be great w/ just a salad for a light dinner or cut up small for appy's. I only used 1/2 of the seasoned salt and that was plenty, IMO, and I also cut back on the sour cream a bit b/c I didn't have the full 16oz. on hand. I really liked the idea of toasting the insides of the bread in butter and garlic...it tasted really good, lol. Nice flavors...I would make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina

Salami and Kalamata Primavera Salad

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
We LOVE pasta salad and this one is no exception! I did use green pepper in place of red b/c that's all I had, used more grated parm and eyeballed the dressing, but I'm sure I used more than 1 cup. Great combo of flavors...keeper~YUM! thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina

Quick and Simple Fairy Cakes

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
These def live up to their name of being quick and simple (they are also tasty!)...I halved the recipe and got 10 cupcakes out of this. I couldn't resist, so I added in some vanilla extract for flavor. The batter is pretty thick, but these bake up beautifully. A little dry, but I may have over-baked by a minute or 2 (they weren't done @ 12 minutes, so I baked them about 3-4 mins. more, but will check sooner next time). I frosted these w/ a vanilla buttercream...the family is happy, so that's good enough for me! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina

Crazy Auntie's Banana Cake

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Simple and very good! I opted to make this into cupcakes and got 13 out of the recipe, which was perfect. Frosted w/ chocolate frosting, but want to try a cream cheese frosting next time. Really good flavor, maybe a touch dry, but I may have over-baked them by a minute or 2 (baked them for 20 mins.)...should've checked them sooner. All in all, I would make these again, as the family liked them! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States